Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Look Park Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEM
Profile for skywatcher > Reviews

Browse

skywatcher's Profile

Customer Reviews: 10
Top Reviewer Ranking: 7,172,963
Helpful Votes: 25


Community Features
Review Discussion Boards
Top Reviewers

Guidelines: Learn more about the ins and outs of Your Profile.

Reviews Written by
skywatcher RSS Feed (San Carlos, CA)

Show:  
Page: 1
pixel
Vixen Flip Mirror Diagonal
Vixen Flip Mirror Diagonal
Price: $82.95
6 used & new from $71.49

4.0 out of 5 stars nice for the money, April 7, 2016
This is a fine flip mirror. Got it to replace a Meade 247, which has a tiny unobstructed view. This one is much better -- the rear port is almost entirely unobstructed to the T-mount inner aperture (around 38mm). I couldn't find that dimension anywhere so post it here. The view through the top port is limited by the size of the mirror, which appears to be around the equivalent of 30x27mm.
However, there is one issue with this unit. Unlike the Meade, there is no facility to rotate a T-ring independently. When I attach a Canon T-ring to the rear port, the camera is at a crazy angle relative to the eyepiece. Sometimes if I rotate the flip mirror to get the framing I want, the other port in a position where I can't look through the eyepiece. To solve this you need to find some rotating T-to-T-mount device (I think Baader makes one) which will extend the back focus needed and add expense.


The John Fahey Handbook - Vol. 1
The John Fahey Handbook - Vol. 1
by Claudio Guerrieri
Edition: Paperback
4 used & new from $39.95

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential reading for Fahey fans, September 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A wonderful resource...if you are a Fahey fan, this will supply essential background on the man.
I'm looking forward to Volume Two.


Messograf Caliper Pen
Messograf Caliper Pen
Offered by JP AWESOME
Price: $22.70
140 used & new from $22.20

1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't last, June 19, 2013
Initially, this was a cool and useful tool. And a conversation starter. But:
1. If you slide the clip all the way off, there is a tiny spring clip which falls out and gets lost easily.
2. After about a year - before the first refill had expired - the button activation for the pen jammed.
Summary: It's not worth it at even a fraction of the price.


Remember
Remember

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing debut!, March 15, 2010
This review is from: Remember (MP3 Music)
This is an amazing debut album! Fans of John Fahey, Jack Rose and American Primitive will love this - and recognize the influences and homages - but it certainly isn't limited to guitar purists! It mixes virtuoso fingerstyle guitar, with tasteful backing and support on some of the tracks. This is something rarely done well, but the blend of instrumentation on this album is flawless.


Malco TSFC Turbo Shear Fiber Cement Cutting Shear Attachment
Malco TSFC Turbo Shear Fiber Cement Cutting Shear Attachment

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good for Nichiha siding, June 14, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I couldn't get a clean cut in 1/2" Nichiha siding - the back side was mashed to a pulp. Returning the tool.
Comment Comment (1) | Permalink | Most recent comment: Sep 20, 2010 9:16 PM PDT


ULTRA LIFE, 10 year, smoke alarm battery, U9VL-X
ULTRA LIFE, 10 year, smoke alarm battery, U9VL-X
Offered by MYBATTERYSUPPLIER
Price: $8.72
14 used & new from $7.99

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lasts 3 years, January 6, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bought a few of these in 2004, two have started giving out, three years later.
Comment Comment (1) | Permalink | Most recent comment: Oct 10, 2009 5:53 PM PDT


Smartparts SP15MW 15-Inch Digital Picture Frame with Walnut Frame
Smartparts SP15MW 15-Inch Digital Picture Frame with Walnut Frame

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not perfect, December 30, 2007
The quality of the display (no bad pixels) and frame is high, and the sound quality from the built-in speakers is also surprisingly good. Unlike some of the other reviewers, I had no problems playing pictures from an SD card (even 10MP pictures from a DSLR).

However:
1. I could not get the USB link to work with a Mac, even running Windows. I downloaded the OptiPix software from optipixpro.com, and installed it on W2K on the Mac, but it could not see the device either. There is no Mac OS support.
2. It did not recognize that some pictures had been rotated using MacOS Preview. Both Preview and the frame claim to be EXIF compliant; clearly, one is not, and if I had to bet, my money's on the frame getting it wrong. Exporting the pictures from iPhoto worked around the problem.
3. Some of the provided picture transitions are so slow as to be distracting; one or more are buggy and leave incorrectly lit pixels on the next frame display (minor annoyance).
4. The support info on the manufacturer's web site is scant.
Overall, pretty good, but the software could use some work.


Geek Silicon Valley: The Inside Guide To Palo Alto, Stanford, Menlo Park, Mountain View, Santa Clara, Sunnyvale, San Jose, San Francisco
Geek Silicon Valley: The Inside Guide To Palo Alto, Stanford, Menlo Park, Mountain View, Santa Clara, Sunnyvale, San Jose, San Francisco
by Ashlee Vance
Edition: Paperback
Price: $14.30
64 used & new from $3.98

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Packed full of good stuff, November 15, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great little book. Part historical overview, part travel guide, it's written in the breezy, easy-going style of Vance's columns in The Register, the best of the online IT rags (except that the book has been carefully proofread, unlike a typical Register story). In less than 250 pages Vance has covered almost all of the important historic events and personalities behind Silicon Valley, and provided a great set of tips of places for visiting, dining and drinking. There's even a good list of books and web sites for further reading.

I've lived in the Valley for nearly 15 years, and yet learned a fair amount from this book, including several places to visit that were new to me. There were only a few curious omissions: e.g., Halted gets a mention, but Fry's does not; neither does Buck's in Woodside; and surely Frank Drake should be mentioned in the section on the SETI Institute? - but otherwise the text is remarkably accurate, despite having condensed many complex histories, each worthy of a book in its own right, into paragraphs or pages. Vance clearly did his homework. My only historical quibble is with his description of the demise of SGI. I thought it was mainly done in by cheap graphics chips from Nvidia and the like; Itanic was just the icing on the cake.

The book mentions his web site and claims additional information can be found there, but so far there isn't anything new. Hopefully that will change over time. Another concern is that quite a bit of the information in the book will date fast; I hope Vance and his publisher refreshes the text (or the website, or both) regularly.

If you live in the Valley, visit the Valley, or you just want to know what the heck the place is about, this book is for you. And if you're a geek too, it's a must-read.


Bluetooth Cell Dock Accessory for SD7500 Series Telephones
Bluetooth Cell Dock Accessory for SD7500 Series Telephones
2 used & new from $5.00

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poorly executed, October 28, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've had one of these for more than 6 months, to connect a Moto PEBL into our phone system.
It works very poorly. Making outgoing calls is fine, but every once in a while when an call comes in we pick up using a handset but can hear nothing and neither can the caller.
It cannot be used to charge the PEBL.
Another problem is that it interferes badly with our 802.11b WiFi system (it effectlvely disables a wireless music streaming device in the same room). We've unplugged it; I wish I had returned it.


Motorola SD7504 5.8GHZ Digital Sytem Wireless Camera for SD7500
Motorola SD7504 5.8GHZ Digital Sytem Wireless Camera for SD7500
2 used & new from $37.99

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice idea, flawed execution, October 28, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
We bought two of these to monitor the kids while sleeping.
One was dead on arrival, and, after a lengthy call with Motorola support, was exchanged.
The other lasted six months before suffering the same fate -- you can connect once, but subsequent connections are refused until the camera is disconnected and the battery removed and replaced.
There also seems to be a bug -- sometimes when we connect, the camera emits noises, even though the phone is monitoring, and not sending, audio. We wondered why our younger one was waking up a few minutes after we turned the camera on, until one of us was in the room when it happened.
This particularly phone system is ingenious in conception, but all of the different units have serious bugs of some sort. Moto should have done more testing before releasing it.


Page: 1