Customer Discussions > Amazon.com Music Essentials forum

Classical Essentials

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-4 of 4 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Sep 16, 2008 11:53:21 PM PDT
I was a lousy student way back then - and missed out on the basics of classical music.Regretted it ever since.

What about an 'Introduction to Classical Music'? Not just in book form but in Audio form. A - very brief - introduction of the essential composers, one at a time, with samples of what made them different, great and 'essential'?

I couldn't possibly be the only one wondering about this.....

In reply to an earlier post on May 16, 2009 9:05:56 AM PDT
I'm an avocational writer on classical music and am with you 100%. I'm going to search for an entry point and see if I can submit an introduction to classical music. I then would like to prepare a primer on Georg Philipp Telemann, my favorite baroque composer. He's also an admirable artist from a philosophical perspective. He could point the way to a rebirth of classical music in our time - for special reasons that I'd like to introduce.

Regards, Frank Manheim

Posted on Jul 14, 2009 1:33:17 PM PDT
Lucio says:
Baroque music is truly the most complete and sophisticated classical music genre. Unfortunately, it has been underrated and forgotten with a very few honourable exceptions: J.S. Bach (Undoubtely the best composer that has ever existed), Vivaldi's "The Four Seasons", Handel's "Water Music" and a few others. When you analyze the thousands of great composers from all the different countries (Italy, Germany, Austria, France, England, Poland, Spain, Latin America, etc.) where great music was being written and played, that all these gems are ignored and substituted in peoples minds by Roccoco and Romantic music, very little of which is really good music.