Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Grocery Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer seeso seeso seeso  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl ReadyRide Bikes from Diamondback



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 28, 2012
Most likely you have already read professional reviews of this item, so I will not repeat the list of features. Here are bits of info that I didn't find in reviews when I was shopping, and had hoped someone would post, along with a few surprises I found:
1- Once you turn off the annoying start up tone, it takes less than a second to be ready, a big plus
2- There is a zoom/focus ring. It is electronic, I would have preferred a mechanical one but it works well. Zoom or focus selectable by a switch
3- The sweep panorama mode works well with the exception of the fact that it has a fixed width. If you don't sweep far enough within the allotted time, e.g. because you don't want too wide a panorama, the rest of the image will be filled with a grey filler. I hope a firmware update will fix this as it looks hideous.
4- Macro photos are not the greatest.
5- Ability to select the mode automatically works well.
6- When powered on, the extending lens struggles if lens cover is still on. Would have been nice if it were removed automatically (too spoiled, I know)
7- The included charger is an in-camera charger. It can power the camera for use and also while connected to a PC. To charge an extra battery, you'll need to buy a separate standalone charger. While connected to a PC, the camera charges the battery through the USB port.
8- Great camera. Amazon and Beach Camera are outstanding.
9- The bundle from Beach Camera is great (Make sure to get the one with the 16GB card)
I like the camera and will definitely keep it for years to come.
11 comment|67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2012
We bought this camera for our 40th anniversry celebration trip to Honolulu. At first I was leary of the 30X magnification, knowing it is very difficult to get crystal clear pictures when magnifying an image 30X; but I soon learned that Sony's image stabalization technique was very proficient. I was taking pictures from our 20th floor room lenai, of the Waikiki Marriot Beach Resort. I took pictures of people surfing who were almost invisible with the naked eye, and the pictures came out so clear that we could tell what surfers were wearing, what colors their boards' were, and how badly they would wipe out. We took pictures of boats and ships sailing by and could even clearly see the passengers on these cruise boats. I could not believe how sharp and clear the pictures came out even when on full magnification--I was more than a little impressed. Then we went to Wiamea Falls and I took about two hundred pictures of flowers and plants--I didn't have to do anything, just point and shoot and the camera did the rest. You can see the little flecks of pollen on the flowers and the fine details are so clear it looks like pictures taken from a photography magazine. Our next stop was the Honolulu Zoo where we got pictures of lions, and tigers, but no bears. I used the movie mode and could not believe the quality of the image--just like watching a HD show on a HDTV. We also went to the Aquarium and took many pictures of the marine life. Again, it was amazing how clear and crisp the pictures came out--even when taking them though the glass aquarium tanks. When we got home I started cropping pictures, because in many of them when you looked close you could see other marine life that went unnoticed when viewing the full picture. We have roughly 1200 pictures that we will now choose the best and most representative of our trip. Other people I have shown some of the pictures cannot believe that I took them--they look professionally done. Thank you Sony for this great product--I look forward to years of more picture perfect pictures. If there is a way for me to send you some of our pictures as a testament to my statements I would be more than happy to share.
Randall B Miller
review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2012
Bought this camera to replace an old Kodak. I didn't want to go to a DSLR and have to deal with lenses so I thought this would be a good step up from my point and shoot. I attend a LOT of concerts, and a lot of times, security gives you a hard time with what they call "professional" cameras that have removable lenses. So I did a lot of research on this camera and the other cameras out there that are comparable to this one. I decided to go with the Sony due to the fact that it had such a high megapixel (18.2) and long zoom (30x, but it actually zooms to 60x). Used this camera at 2 concerts already and got absolutely amazing pictures! Even in the low light concert setting. The tracking focus keeps my pictures from being blurry. Just attended the Kenny Chesney/Tim McGraw concert at the Georgia Dome and had lower level seats, and out of the 280 pics I took, only 4 ended up a little blurry. The rest were crystal clear and the zoom on this camera is absolutely amazing!! I also shoot lots of video at concerts and the videos I took with this camera are just unbelievable. Great sound quality. And I also like the fact that you can take pictures while shooting video. I have also taken pictures of flowers and our pets in the back yard, and the clarity of those pictures in bright sunlight equals that of the DSLR's that my friends own. I would HIGHLY recommend this camera to anyone who is thinking about purchasing it!!
33 comments|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2012
This camera deserves a rating of 5 but was disappointed when I started using that the camera would automatically change the mode when taking a picture. When I checked the Sony website it was a known problem and also just purchased was not offering any good packages to have it repaired. This was disappointing I was now being asked to foot the entire bill to send the camera with no stipulated timeframe for repair, they indicated it may take months. I am now stuck with a brand new camera with a fault.
22 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2013
For the mark-up in price to get the kit that comes with the camera is a waste of money. What you really get is a bunch of cheap trinkets. Buy the camera by itself and then buy one of the better kits for $39, where you actual get a good case and a real tri-pod. The camera is everything they same it is, the rest is a joke! Wouldn't recomend this package to anyone.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2013
My sister-in-law had this camera with her on a recent visit and the pictures she took were amazing. It does not have swappable lenses but you'd never know it with how great the digital zoom is on this beauty. Extremely light weight. Lots of pictures per charge. Very fast to power up. Lots of build in features that I still haven't gotten to them all. Very easy to view and delete pictures on the camera itself so as to not fill up the memory card with images you don't want to keep. I have loved the ease of using my iPhone but it's picture quality, although pretty good, doesn't hold a candle to this puppy. Highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2013
To take pictures was never this easy. With this camera you can get great images, so you can print them as big as you want, getting wonderful prints that framed, look like very expensive paintings. Images are very clear, panoramic images are even better, and it is very simple to use. Anyone who enjoys photography can make a great purchase with this camera.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2012
I ordered this camera from overseas and I received it within a week! That is super service!
The camera itself is fantastic, it does all that an amateur photographer wants from a camera.
The kit is super as well, because you get all that you need for your camera at once and you do not have to shop for extra items. The only thing that I would have liked to get in the kit is a separate charger; so that one can still use the camera even if the battery is charging. I had to get a charger separately. My suggestion would be to include the charger in the kit and to keep the price in the same range, I would eliminate the lens cleaning stuff.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2013
Overall, it is a nice camera with some cool features, but I sometimes like to look through the viewfinder when I take pictures. With this camera, it is all distorted and doesn't serve any purpose at all.

It takes great pictures using the zoom feature, but it does NOT take good night shots or fireworks shots. I specifically bought this camera to take pictures while we were on vacation and especially for watching the Macy's fireworks in NYC. I used the fireworks setting and was extremely disappointed.

Some of the features are very confusing. It's not really user friendly for the novice photographer.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2013
I am not a professional photographer....I'm a grandmother who wanted a good camera to get great photos of my 1&1/2 year old grandson when he was in motion since I was tired of blurry pics of him in motion. and I wanted far zoom and good pixel count. So after much confusing research (I don't understand a majority of the technical jargon related to cameras) I settled on this one. The deal that came with this camera was outstanding. The camera itself: I've always been a point and shoot camera gal so this camera was a little intimidating at first but didn't take much time to get used to. The settings took a bit longer to get used to and I'm still figuring some out. as far as the photos....unbelievable. I'm so impressed. I just got back from a vacation to Austin Tx and took the camera with me to "test it out". I got some amazing shots from far, far away with awesome detail and video tape of the famous bats leaving the Congress bridge at dusk (famous sightseeing event in Austin nightly). I could not be any happier with my choice. I did order a separate batter charger to always have the other battery that came with the package deal charged and am going to purchase a shoulder strap for carrying since the neck strap included in the package was uncomfortable for me. My daughter (who lives in Austin) is a future film director and used the camera and was blown away. So if you are an average person who just wants a good camera for a decent price this is the one for you.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.