Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon St Lucia Bose SoundLink AE All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars21
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$13.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 5, 2013
If ever there was a book that put the time we live in into perspective it is The Book of Times. Between a compendium of facts about how long it takes to do the mundane tasks of life to the wonder of time itself, the book pulls together an amazing amount of information about time. It's a very fun read that demonstrates the author's ability to take us through a thorough study of the subject without any sense of the time passing. You can't put this book down.
0Comment13 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2013
I loved this book! It's packed with wonderful information, and makes you think about where time goes -- and to reflect about how to spend your time. The content is amazingly rich and in-depth, but it's also quite fun.

For example, do you know how long love last? How long a hug should last? Or how long it took Michelangelo to paint the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel? The Book of Times is as enjoyable as it is informative. Highly recommended!
0Comment8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2013
I loved this book. It is a deceptively casual waltz through a remarkable range of statistics reflecting how time is used and spent. In the end, we are left with something more profound: a portrait, or at least a snapshot, of how people today live their lives. --Robert Levine (author, "A Geography of Time"), [...]
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2013
From the mundane to the profound, The Book of Times contains a dizzying montage of facts, figures, quizzes and asides about the one asset which, famously, nobody can buy more of.

Alderman is a crisp, engaging writer -- and golly has she done her research. With journalistic rigor (the sleeve bio notes that she wrote for the New York Times and Real Simple), a wry sense of humor, and a seemingly endless supply of curiosity, the author, finally, helps define what it means to be human.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book! (Devoured it in a single day, but forgot to measure how long it took me to do so... so no doubt will have to read it again!)

Very highly recommended -- whether you're a wonk or a philosopher, or, like me, a bit of both.
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2013
The Book of Times is fun to read, great for browsing, and informative to boot!
Not only have I enjoyed it, but I will give it to friends -- it's a great present for the person who has everything.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2013
Wonderful compendium of time-related facts. Perfect to help put your own view of time in perspective. Plan to keep it desk-side at work to help spur creativity. Sixteen year old son saw it lying on the table and is next in line to read.
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2013
Fascinating facts I never knew or ever thought about! Great book for conversation starters and to make you sound really smart at parties!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2013
Tempus fugit,time flies and Ms. Alderman explains how it does so. She exposes few surprising facts like: how long sex last on avarage, how much time do we spend daydreaming, how long does love last and how long does it take to get over that love. It is fun, well written and after reading it, one will never view time the same way. Highly recommend for people at any time of their lives!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2013
Amazing book for nerds like me who LOVE non-fiction and facts. This book is a quick read, fun, educational, insightful, just wish there was more from this author.

Please buy and I am positive you won't be dissatisfied. Recommend this book to all like minded persons and spread the word of this talented individual.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2013
This publication falls into the Trivia category; it is a fun book to while away the time with when some light reading material is needed. The Book of Times picks out from many different sources information about how we spend out time, what we spend it upon, and how long the event might last. The many topics are each introduced by a question such as "How long do common ailments last? and "How long does an orgasm last?"

From the many sections that held my inquisitive nature, the following examples are of particular note: The Home section ("Knowing the timeline of your beloved home and the stuff inside it can help you avoid unpleasant surprises and plan for the inevitable ravages of time." pg.81), including an invaluable list about food expiration (pg. 94-97); the Longevity section ("Humans can survive for just 2 to 3 minutes without air, but with training it's possible to hold your breath for 11 minutes." pg. 311); and the Body section ("The cornea is the only part of the eye that has the ability to constantly renew itself...If our corneas were not so able, we might go blind at an early age." pg 121).

At the end of book is a test about what you might/might not know that you should take before reading, and then again after. My own pre-score was 7 0f 30; my post was 28 of 30.

One suggestion I have for the book's layout is that an index is needed, or at least a list of the many questions that are asked and their page locations; otherwise, I found "The Book of Times" highly informative and entertaining. Often have I turned to it while watching television in between commercials, or while standing in long lines such as the DMV.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse