Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Easy French Step-by-Step
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Billy Talent Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$14.05+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 28, 2009
As a French tutor and French native, I love this book. It teaches all aspects of the French language: Conversation, Grammar, Vocabulary and includes excellent Exercises (with answers in the back).
I recommend it highly to everyone, both beginners and those wanting to perfect his or her skills.
55 comments| 204 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2010
I love this book. It is easy to read and it is easy to carry. I use it as a reference book because I have never taken French before. Sometimes when I am unable to understand, the authors' explanations are simple and easy to read. I really like the book. I also have the Spanish one, and I like it too.
11 comment| 84 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2011
Hello. I have had this book for a few months now. I would like to say that it has been a big help. First of all, I'm a junior in high school who's taking French and desperately needed a study guide. Well this was it. What I love about this is all the exercises that it comes with. Every chapter has around 12 sections of exercises where you get to practice what you have acquired the few pages before. Thanks to this book (and summer tutoring), I have learned enough French that I was able to skip second year of French at my school.

Some important notes:
If you don't know anything about the French language, you'll find this book a hard one (Even though it's a Step-by-Step self study guide). For one thing, there is not a book in the world that can ever teach you the pronunciation needed. As for me, I had my French teacher give me a whole summer of French tutoring for free. That really helped with correct enunciation. I would recommend to the absolute beginner (especially those who are monolingual) to get in contact with mentor to help explain the difficult part of prounounciation. As you may or may not know, 80% of French words have mute endings that might or might not get pronounced depending on the next syllable. You really want someone to guide you if you're a beginner. Also, before you dive into this book, understand these few concepts:

(First List)
- Verbal Aspects
- Verbal Tenses
- Verbal Moods (especially the subjunctive)
- Direct Objects
- Indirect Objects
- Antecedent
- Relative clauses
- Verb Valency

If you have a curious mind (like the one I do) Google and learn the following:

(Second List)
- Why does French have grammatical gender?
- Why does every adjective have to agree in number and in gender with the main noun?

You see, by learning the things in the first list, I was better able to grasp the difficult aspects required to speak any language (Pun intended). Believe it or not, verbs are like rocket-science. They are really hard to understand unless you practice them everyday. This book doesn't cover the items in the first list very well. I recommend you look them up before beginning this book.

The second list, you curious minded folks, is not actually going to help you learn any French nor make this book a better read. (Yes, you read that right.) Instead, this list (the 2nd one) will help keep you from getting discouraged of learning French. By knowing and acknowledging the fundamental principles driving Romantic languages, you'll understand why French, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian and many other languages have abstract nouns with sex (chairs have boobies? doors are chicks now?) that we, English speaking folk, find so foreign yet so enticing. (Yes, in French, the chair you are sitting on is female and the door as well. Treat them nice!)

To conclude, I recommend this book. Who wouldn't, n'est pas? [neh-pAH]
11 comment| 175 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2012
Folks, don't believe the Rosetta Stone's out there! The truth is, NOBODY really "learns" language naturally except for children. It is possible to learn French just by spending $15 dollars on this book and another $10 on a French-English dictionary- I suggest a pocket Collins French School Dictionary on-the-go. The best way to learn any language properly is through GRAMMAR. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but you cannot learn any language without hard work.

This book actually teaches you French through reading, writing, and speaking. You need to actually WORK HARD though to learn.

Strengths:
-Lots of original exercise in the book to constantly practice what you learned
-Explains grammar in easy in fun ways
-You truly do learn step by step, and apply what you learn to new rules one step at a time
-Your brain won't explode with too much information since you can effortlessly do at least a chapter a week, which means 16 chapters in 16 weeks. So 16 weeks and French is yours! Or if you want you can do 2-3 chapters a week, so 4-8 weeks and French is yours.

Weaknesses:
-You need to use a French-English dictionary to support the learning materials in this book when you forget words
-You cannot learn any language "Fast" as the title of the book says, unless you call 4-16 weeks "fast." The time it takes for you to learn French will depend on how good you are with language and how much time you are willing to spend.

Still, I think this book is worth the buy.
44 comments| 93 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2010
A great book to get you started with French. Learn the vocabulary and grammar and then go for some reading practice, eg. with A B C Petits Contes (French Edition) and Nouveaux Contes de Fées pour les Petits Enfants: Fairy Tales in French (French Edition).
22 comments| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2010
This is a great book! Yes, you will learn French up to an intermediate level if you complete the book. It builds upon itself with each lesson and new chapter. I just don't understand the negative reviews. You need to give the book a chance. Each Chapter has constant reviewed words in it and difference breaks for vocabullary study. I highly recommend it!

If you are dedicated to learning French, use a notebook, and use Google Translate(or another source) for checking your pronouncation.... you will be a pro. I also recommend using your notebook to write regular sentences and conversation that you use and hear every day and then practice translating them and speaking them in French. Challenge yourself.... ask yourself questions in French. YOU WILL LEARN FRENCH AND BE ABLE TO PARTICIPATE IN CONVERSATION. You have to try to succeed. It really is not that hard. Good luck.
33 comments| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2013
I really stress the word WRITTEN fluency in recommending this book and NOT for VERBAL fluency. You will have to get Cd's like Pimsleur in order to grasp the basic PHONETICS of French. Easy French, an oxymoron if I ever heard one, was a great buy. I am pretty methodical and went through the chapters one by one and will be finishing the final chapter soon. I got it in February of 2013. It is now the end of August and I can chat with my French friend on Whatsapp! I still make a lot of mistakes and she corrects me all the time, but she was shocked at how much I learned from just one book. So that should tell you something.

However, I still have a hard time understanding French verbally. I have now finished Pimsleur French 1: sample size that was around 55$. With the knowledge I received from Easy French, coupled with a sample of Pimsleur really increased my verbal fluency. When I was depending on what I learned from Easy French, I would still struggle with phonetic French. Because of the great increase in my understanding of verbal French from the Pimsleur sample, I will buy the whole pack. But you have to understand that you have to couple Pimsleur with Easy French. There is NO WAY I would have breezed through the Pimsleur sample without having done the Easy French exercises first .Together they make a great combo!

If you have a talent to pick up languages by ear, then I recommend you go through the Pimsleur French first and Easy French second. If you are like me, in which I do not pick up a language by ear and I am more fluent in the written language even in English and just learn better through grammar exercises, then do the Easy French first, complete it and then go to Pimsleur.

I have always had french classes in my youth and somehow I retained a lot of the basic grammar, which helped in the easy way I swept through the first couple of chapters in Easy French. A big chunk of the chapters are dedicated to the present tense conjugations and a lot of introductions to many verbs and their conjugations. When they titled this book: STEP BY STEP, they really meant it. Which is great for beginners. I used IPHONE translator when I needed to know better pronunciations/meanings.

The later chapters then give you the conjugations of the two past tenses, then future, conditional, past conditional, and finally the subjunctive. The in-between chapters deal with negatives, question set ups, reflexive verbs, use of prepositions etc. Each chapter ends with a list of nouns/adjectives and a small article written in the tense you just learned in that chapter, as well as follow-up exercises for your comprehension.

If you have no idea where to start in order to start the process of learning the ever so difficult French language then look no further than Easy French Step-by Step for Written Fluency. Follow it up with Pimsleur French 1, 2, and 3 for Verbal Fluency. For further written fluency, The Ultimate French Review and Practice is a great way to keep increasing your knowledge. I also bought this and I already love it. It has an interactive CD where it has a diagnostic test, more exercises and verbal comprehension.

Click on the links to direct you the additional material I bought and recommend with Easy French: French, Conversational: Learn to Speak and Understand French with Pimsleur Language Programs
The Ultimate French Review and Practice
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2010
I purchased this book to review and reinforce what I already know about beginner-level French. I think "mastering" the basics (I use the term loosely) is key to building a solid foundation in French grammar--much like practicing scales on piano even if you're a virtuoso. The explanations and examples are clear, and the exercises are fun to do.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2014
This is not a book for the beginner, but for someone who studied French years ago in school and now wants to a refresher. The title says plainly that this is a grammar book, not a "Learning French" book; vocabulary is a distant second.

But learning the grammar of a foreign language requires numerous examples of each rule in order to truly comprehend the rule, and abundant repetitious exercises for the student to internalize each rule. This book does not have a sufficient amount of either for someone just learning French.

So, it is not a bad book, it is just not a book for a beginner learning French on his or her own.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2013
As a beginning, self-learner (at 43) I'm happy to have chosen this as part of my self-study. I companion it with "Exercises in French Phonics" by Francis W. Nachtmann - Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, also found here on Amazon. I find the two books together to be very complimentary for someone who does not have the classroom setting ~ teacher included ~ to guide accordingly. Though, I'm sure they would be great together even for someone who does have the classroom/teacher advantage.

Either way, I've found this book to be extremely helpful in my advancement through the French language. Of the many French books I have purchased to date to assist me on my quest, I find "Easy French Step-by-Step" to be highly useful as a first tool in learning the language.

It's a very thorough book...complete with key vocabulary lists to memorize and regular Exercises to test your knowledge.

I highly recommend this book.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse