Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Communication Networks
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 30, 2005
I am using this textbook for a Masters-level course in network communications.

This book covers each topic quite well, but I found it difficult to use for out-of-order reading. Particularly when using algebraic notation, the meanings of the variables are not defined in each and every example, meaning that you have to manually go back through the book to find out where in the book the values were first defined. For this reason, where mathematical formulas are involved (which is quite often), it's difficult to locate a topic and read up just on that topic without a lot of frustration. It would be much easier to use if the variable definitions were repeated in each example.

So, perhaps it is good for a cover-to-cover read for someone who is able to take in and understand information thoroughly on the first pass, but it's not good as a reference book or for people who follow a different method of learning.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2014
Over 10 years ago, Dr. Leon-Garcia wrote the epitimal tome on computer networks, and it is still mandatory reading at the graduate level. The material within is starting to show its age. Most of it's very historical, what the modern comm systems are based on. If he ever writes a next edition, I hope he adds something about modern wifi.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2011
This was for my communications networks class. We went through a majority of the book (ch 1-8). I feel like it's already getting outdated (c)2004. But it gives a good introductory explanation of a huge variety of topics. I like the topic so reading the book was actually enjoyable unlike other engineering textbooks. It's not that long winded.
The homework problems included are pretty hard and sometimes the wording was confusing. A couple times we had to look up things on the internet. And the solution manuals were sort of ambiguous on the method to solve the problems. The appendix has some good formulas.
There's also a pdf ebook out there too. That makes things convenient.

Chapters:
1 Communication Networks and Services
2 Applications and Layered Architectures
3 Digital Transmission Fundamentals
4 Circuit-Switching Networks
5 Peer-to-Peer Protocols and Data Link Layer
6 Medium Access Control Protocols and Local Area Networks
7 Packet-Switching Networks
8 TCP/IP
9 ATM Networks
10 Advanced Network Architectures
11 Security Protocols
12 Multimedia Information
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2013
The book is easy to follow and understand. There are plenty of examples and problems to better understand the material.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2015
It was just perfect and good conditions
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2014
Really nice book. Immaculate condition!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2016
great product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2012
A book talks about networking.
It is good for those of you who want to understand how networks work.
It gives a comprehensive view of protocols.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2013
although it is a second hand book
it is really good for using
price is reasonable
book is nice quanlity
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2014
For school/classes. Great prices for books I needed for school.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse