Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 10, 2008
This is easily the most engaging OB textbook on the market, with clear writing and lots of production value in terms of quotes, sidebar tangents, connections to books and media, diagrams, etc. It is also noteworthy because the authors structured the chapters into an overarching model that is repeatedly reinforced, which helps prevent the chapters from feeling like a series of disjointed ideas, a common problem in OB courses.

My only criticism is that several topics that are common to most other OB books are oddly absent, or glossed over, in this textbook. There is little content on the theory of the organization or the history of OB, careers, work identity, emotions (which are just wrapped up in the book's coverage of satisfaction), diversity, or organizational change/development. These topics may not have fit in the book's overarching model, but instructors who want to talk about these topics, like I do, will need to find supplmental readings.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2016
good book that teaches you to be organized in the business sense. BTW if a professor is REQUIRING you to have the most recent edition don't do it buy the older one. I retook this class and still had my older edition and i bought the newer one. . . the ONLY difference is a little real life story on each of the chapter pages (like a paragraph or 2 long) and pictures are laid out differently. Other than that its the same.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2013
The textbook is straightforward and, if you've had any sort of organizational behavior course, you won't have any surprises. The chapters give real-world examples of various topics and at the end of the chapter, there is a synopsis of the topics covered.

The biggest flaw in the book is that there is only a glossary/definition of terms section. Although these tell you the page where the definition was originally given, there are a limited number of words. Without a true index, I can't find, directly, which chapters discuss a specific item.

I'm also not a huge fan of loose-leaf textbooks, especially when they cost upwards of $100, but I need this for an MBA course and the alternative is a digital copy, which I loathe more.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2015
I rented this book for a Management class at Eastern Washington University. The book was useful for the class. This particular book that I received was definitely used but not anything more than mild wear. The 4 star rating is more for the quality of the rental rather than the content in the book because I'm guessing most of the purchases/rentals are going to be requited for a class.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2013
This book was the required text for an organizational behavior class. Great book. The material was clearly laid out with text,charts, and summaries. Loved that it had examples from real companies. It was interesting reading to the point that I read the whole book-including the few chapters which were not covered by the class. I wish all of my text books were like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2013
(I will preface this by saying Colquitt is currently my professor). The good news is if you don't have the pleasure of sitting in one of his classes, his book is right on target with his lectures! Colquitt does a great job both in the classroom and in this book of making this topic more interesting and engaging (especially for the number crunching business folks out there). It's probably one of the best and easiest textbooks I've ever had to read... and actually do read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2012
This book offers a well-written, accessible, and engaging format to learning organizational behavior -- for undergraduate and graduate students alike. While some books sacrifice clarity for density, the authors here did a great job keeping the audience in mind by relating OB principles to popular culture and to readers. Self assessments facilitate readers to apply the lessons to their past experiences, which reinforces the main point that effective OB practices lead to greater productivity and better companies.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2013
The book I received was in pretty much perfect, brand new condition. However, I was extremely annoyed to discover that this is the International Edition of the book. Nowhere in the listing is there any mention of the word "international." I searched pretty thoroughly. The only hint of it is that yellow circle on the book's cover, which is definitely not readable from the tiny image on the listing, even enlarged. Very misleading listing. I thought selling international editions was against Amazon's policy anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2013
At first, this subject seemed uninteresting. The authors managed to make the material interesting and functional at the same time. All of the movie references are great examples of the topics. Also, throughout the book, additional readings are suggested along with some excerpts which I found very helpful. The book has a great rhythm to it and is easy to read. The authors did a great job of linking all of the concepts and theories together. The concepts are very clearly explained and in some cases over explained. One thing I didn't like about the book was the amount of words that were highlighted as "key terms". I felt that some of them were common english and didn't need an explicit definition. The overuse of bolded, key terms detracted from the importance of the new terms, concepts, and ideas. All in all, its one of the better textbooks I have read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2014
Needed the newer edition of this book for class and found out that this edition was the SAME exact book. Thanks!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse