Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Recess Monkey Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 10, 2014
I rarely really find a textbook that is worth the cost associated but this pile is a rare case even by those standards. I've had database classes before and have a fair understanding of the syntax and processes involved, but this book left me searching the internet for almost every topic that it was supposed to cover. The author rambles and uses poorly composed examples in a terribly conceived format. I really hated this book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2014
This book is, quite simply, TERRIBLE. The Chapter Review questions are horrendous. There is no other way to describe them. They are just BAD. The case studies and projects associated with the texts are even worse. They are THE EXACT SAME THING, but with different data. It is of ZERO help to ANYONE.

As far as my qualifications, I've been working with databases for 15 years. This book was a required read for a course. The examples given in the text have no relevance. The same can be said of the projects. Actually, let's just go ahead and say the whole book is irrelevant.

I would not recommend this book to my worst enemy.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2013
Book was missing pages 132-180 !!! And 181-228 repeated twice ! Daughter didnt uncover until halfway through the class. Does one need to inspect every single page when you purchase a book?

Guess ill have to find out how returns work several weeks after purchase
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2014
This was a required book for class.
It has lot's of typos, incorrect references and is maddening to read in Kindle format.
The main issue I have is the placement and reference of figures. (The author should actually try using it this way)
As I said, I have the Kindle version and often times you are reading a lesson (let's say in chapter 4) and it references a figure from earlier in the book (ie: figure 2-1 in chapter 2)...this requires scrolling back through the pages to find the figure, then scrolling forward to the text.
Ideally, it would be nice to have a hyperlink to the figure that when selected (ie: double-clicked) would open up the image and allow it to be moved into a position where the reader could view the text and the image.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2014
THIS BOOK IS BADLY WRITTEN!!!!!

What happen to explain the concepts teach the concepts ....keep it simple
Its just plain bad, not an easy read, and makes a mediocre if not maybe even simple thing to understand convoluted. Its almost like the goal is stretch this out for a semester and make it as convoluted as possible. Introducing topic and then attempting to correlate an example chapters back. Like attempting to explain Normal Forms a convoluted mess, why not cut the MS Access and teach the concepts. This book is completely designed to attempt to stretch out subject matter over the course of the semester and handcuff the students to using MS Access all of which take away and complicate learning the concepts!!! In addition, poorly organized, poorly written!!!

Here is an example (its like this all over the book) imagine reading a chapter of this....

SALESPERSON. What would be the key of this table? It would be just CommissionPeriod,
but because SALES_COMMISSION is ID-dependent this is not a complete key. In fact, without the needed reference to SALESPERSON included, CommissionPeriod by itself cannot
be the primary key because this table would likely have duplicate rows. (This would happen if
two occurrences of a specific CommissionPeriod had the same TotalCommissionSales in the
same BudgetCategory, which could happen because this table records data for more than one
SALESPERSON.) Thus, for an ID-dependent weak entity it is necessary to add the primary
key of the parent entity to the weak entity’s table, and this added attribute becomes part of
that table’s key. In Figure 5-8, note that SALES_COMMISSION has the correct composite
primary key (SalespersonNumber, CommissionPeriod).

I got lost in all the babble....
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2013
I got this book because it was the designated companion book for a graduate course I had for data modeling. It does present all the key concepts but I just don't like the book as a graduate level course companion book. It covers the basics but falls short of really getting into larger and more advanced enterprise data modeling concepts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2013
This is a good book but it wasnt the easiest to understand especially when you are trying to do it with microsoft access.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2013
This was a book used in one of my classes. The book is an "easy read" perhaps a good bed time reading book if you want to learn about databases. I guess I blame the professor more than anyone... it was a technical class with technical exams and hw and this book just didn't cut it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2013
Kroenke rather clearly demonstrates databases functions to the reader by providing good explanations and good examples. However, the Workbench sections where the student actually gets to build a database are far too long and complicated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2013
Many typos during confusing parts which only helps to make things more confusing. If it weren't for these it would be alright but for a textbook I expect professionalism.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.