Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Strategic Management: Concepts and Cases (12th Edition)
Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 13, 2013
This book appeared the same as the hardcover, but I found out the hard way that it does not include the company case studies that are included in the hardcover book. This was very disappointing since those cases are required for my class. The Kindle version does include these case studies. Amazon or the publisher needs to disclose this information in their produce description. Had I know the paperback didn't include all of the information, I would have purchased it in one of the other formats.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2014
Students need to be aware that this textbook has the same ISBN as "Strategic Management: A Competitive Advantage Approach: Concepts and Cases," but does not include the cases at the back of the book. The books also look identical except for two words in the subtitle. I ended up spending another $100 to rent the e-book mid-semester because of not noticing that. In short, students should double-check with their institutions to make sure they have the correct title (not just the right ISBN) before purchasing this product.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2003
This is a good, step-by-step book for strategic management.
It lays out the steps very well, but it could use a bit more information.
The financial ratios section could use more information, and the case studies are often unequal in the types of information that they carry. This makes it difficult to do competitor comparisons.
How do you rank a company's workers policy when only one case has information on it and the other does not? You cannot simply discount such information when it could be an important competitve factor.
Essentially, this is a good book for teaching you a process, but it could use some work on giving you more details.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2013
The book purchased did not have cases at the end of the book, which was required in my class. The cover is exactly the same as I needed, the only difference being the title, which only reads, "concepts." If your class needs the title, "Concepts and Cases," this is not the right textbook for you. If you only need concepts, this book will work great!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2013
This review is specifically in regard to the Kindle edition, not the quality of the content.

I can't believe this was released. It constantly, every couple minutes, freezes or crashes my Kindle for PC. No problem of the sort with any other Kindle releases.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2013
The title of this book is mislabeled and does not have the cases at the end of the book. I need this for class!!!!
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2001
This book was the text for my strategic management class, and it was one of my favorite textbooks. The authors of this book tried to explain the concepts of strategic management. The case studies were very interesting, and the book gave insight into successes and failures of some companies. It may be wordy, but it's packed with useful information and analysis.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2002
It is a helpfull book, especially for anyone who deal with the strategy formulation. This book provide some valuable tools for analyzing the organization's environment, both external and internal, which is something special with this book that make it different with the other.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2013
And the worst part, is that does not have the appendix with all the STUDY CASES, I had to borrow to my classmates their books to make copies in order to complete my assignments. Terrible and annoying situations for me
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2013
Would be much more useful if they constructed in out of more durable materials, or had a hard-cover version available. The book was self-destructing from about week 3 onward. As a text, it's OK. As a reference book, make sure you get a couple of copies. Content was OK but seemed on the light side. It would be a decent reminder, checklist and memory-jogger if it were designed to last more than a term.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse