Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon St Lucia easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$168.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 25, 2014
Im currently taking Personality Psychology. While this book is good it could have been written in a more concise and direct way for students. The first test i took i noticed the difficulty with actually grasping the concepts. Being that most psychology courses are a repeat of information and different perspectives and scientific explanations of theories, I felt the authors could have been a bit more direct and to the point. In my opinion they took a very conversational position rather than a textbook application of the scientific data collected overtime. Im used to a textbook giving more vocabulary and to the point explanations of the theories. Although I could deduce the meanings of the major theories that have stood the test of time through multiple replications of the data collected, it is likely because I already have a basis for the information from other Psychology courses and textbooks.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2014
This was a black and white version of the textbook. I understand that some of the regulations for international editions are different, but the seller never mentioned that the book was in B&W. The graphs were virtually useless since you couldn't differentiate anything. I would not have purchased the book had I known that it was printed in b&w, a detail that seemed intentionally omitted. I gave it a star because Amazon requires some star system: if I could, I would not have given it any stars.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2015
Authors present an informative and nuetral point of view on the topics. Breaks down some key terms and background. Interesting read. The chapter on Freud gives a very informative section on what he actually meant before his ideas were bastardised.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2014
It shipped quickly. The book was like brand new. It seemed like it has never been used. The price was extremely good compared to everywhere else i looked. I loved the service. I found absolutely nothing wrong with this transaction.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2012
People, as we all know, are different in more ways than one. This books, as many others, give a fresh outlook as to what goes on within our personal lives and surroundings to make us say, this, and act as we do on a daily basis.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2014
Interesting though I do not have another text to compare this one to. Just needed it for class, and so glad I could find the kindle edition...much cheaper than the text itself.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2014
Good textbook. Interesting, easy to read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2014
It's been a really good book
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2014
The authors did a good job of trying to cover as much ground as they can regarding the different perspectives of personality, and cited tons of research to give the reader a good understanding of progresses being made in each field. However, it fails as a textbook because it is extremely difficult to be able to extract the important/core information of the text. There are no guidelines as to what students should focus on in order to get a good overview of the field, nor emphasis on any parts of the text to say "This is really important - you should definitely know this!". It reads more like a non-fiction book than a textbook. Would probably this recommend to those who simply want to be informed about the research that is going on in the field of personality psychology, but would certainly not recommend this for students - avoid buying this unless you are extremely positive that your professor is going to test you on content straight out of the book.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2014
thanks
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse