Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Classroom Management for Middle and High School Teachers (7th Edition)
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 6, 1998
I use this book as the text for one of my classes at Vanderbilt University. The students always love it. It is one of the most practical textbooks that I have seen. This book contains everything beginning teachers need to make a smooth and effective start on their journey as a teacher.
0Comment|65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2003
In his video series "The Effective Teacher" Part II: The First Days of School, Harry Wong cites the work of Carolyn Evertson and how he implements her research in the classroom: Wong says "Now, why do I assign seats? Now, you may know the name Carolyn Evertson. She is arguably the leading authority on classroom management. She did her work at the Univ. of Texas, Austin campus, many years ago. They wrote a book called Classroom Management for Elementary Teachers and a book called Classroom Management for High School and Junior High School Teachers. They went out and they looked at thousands and thousands of very effective teachers, and they went out and they looked at thousands and thousands of very ineffective teachers, and this is what they discovered. They discovered that effective teachers assign seats on the first day of school..." He shows a graphic of the covers of the two books. This is one of the books he refers to. Harry Wong is the author of the book The First Days of School. Anyone who liked The First Days of School, therefore, might be interested to read this resource that Harry Wong found to be useful.
0Comment|49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2006
This book is a practical resource for new secondary teachers. The authors discuss classroom set-up, student resources, and behavior problems. There are many ideas ready for application in your own classroom and no boring or unnecessary narratives that most classroom management books have.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2007
I found this book to help a lot in preparing a behavior management plan. This was an area I felt school was weak in my studies at Georgia State. State has a great program, but this was an area I needed more help at. This book is filled with great examples of how other teachers have handled problem situations. Was worth the money.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2008
I found this book to be an excellent reference for newer secondary teachers. The book covered not only policies, procedures, rules, etc. that are found in most classroom management books, they also covered important issues such as: constructive communication with students and parents, how-to make cooperative learning a reality in the classroom, and planning and conducting of instruction. I would recommend this book highly. Another book that I bought for secondary level was just a rehash of elementary level classroom management and most of it was fluff - this book is substantive.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2007
This book is written in a common sense manner. The authors take the reader from the planning stage to implementing then they show you how to maintain management in the classroom so that the teacher will have a successful year. The authors also included nice case studies and checklists to better prepare you for the upcoming school year. I definitely recommend this book to all teachers or education majors.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2011
This book is a good introduction to the complex task of classroom management for middle and high school teachers and new teachers. My online education class used it as the course textbook. It addresses many of the situations teachers are expected to deal with today with research and practical examples.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2012
this is 1 of 2 books that was actually semi-useful and decent throughout my teacher licensure program. while a chunk of it was purely common sense, it did provide some useful and insightful information and tactics on classroom management
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2007
This book contains a lot of information that is particularly useful for new teachers. It also provides useful examples of how to best set up and maintain your classroom and students. Great book.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2013
This book was extremely comprehensible. It also includes other helpful websites that one can go to for further information. It is almost identical to classroom management for elementary school teachers, but with a very slight difference in management for middle and high school students.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse