Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 20, 2006
Basic, easy to read introduction to the state governemnt and politics. Provides a solid foundation to understanding the current state of politics and how we arrived at this point. Information is providing in interesting and relevant fashion, and is up-to-date with current politics (updated post-recall campaign).
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2013
I too found it cheaper as a download, it's,a required textbook for my Political Science 1 class but I can say that it is a pretty easy read and the best part is that I don't have to lug another book around.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2015
I needed this book for my Political Science class. Easy to read book and its way cheaper here on Amazon than my school's bookstore. Its a great book to read whether its for class or for knowledge
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2011
Having not grown up in California I was always a little in the dark as to how things operated in this State. However, when I picked this book up as part of a Political Science class I found myself much better off.

The book is short, which is really a good thing. Yeah, the author could have droned on about the minute detail of every aspect of California's government and political system, but she didn't. Rather, she laid out, in a concise fashion, an explanation of the governmental and political system in California that gives a person enough knowledge to understand what is going on around them and to make well informed decisions at the ballot box.

I would suggest this book for anyone who wants to be able to spend just a couple hours to understand the California system. This is also a great reference book to keep in the house.

You won't be disappointed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2014
The information in this book is too brief for my Political Science class. I ended up answering my California Government exam only from my class notes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2012
Good text for Poly Sci 1 in CA. And, a good professor helps too. This text is CURRANT and quick and to the point.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2014
the book arrived on time, excellent quality. perfect for intro to political science
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2010
This book attempts to cover a very broad area in very few pages. As a result, it only hits the high spots of the high spots. The author, whose political experience is as a California Community College trustee, has written a book that is well suited as a text for an introductory survey class but is not very useful for a reader who is interested in the details of state government.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2015
Sorry for the bad review earlier. I posted the bad for the wrong book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2014
OMG OMG I LOOOOVE my teacher. 10/10 would read. Don't fail me Klein.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse