Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Roy Lichtenstein: A Retrospective
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars10
5 star
80%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
20%
1 star
0%
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 2, 2012
The catalog for the current Lichtenstein retrospective now in Chicago and which will later travel to Washington, London and Paris, this book is a complete survey of the American Pop artist's career, from his very early abstract paintings (late 1950's) to his last nudes (1996-97). A separate section of the book is devoted to his works on paper, which give good insight into Lichtenstein's working method.

The book is divided into several interesting essays, especially on the artist's link with modernism, on the influence of Picasso on his art, whether before 1961, or after, that year being pivotal in Lichtenstein's career as being the year when he adopted his signature pop style (scenes picked from popular comics, everyday objects, ben-day dots...), or on the different phases of his art (his late nudes and the influence of Matisse, for example).

The illustrations are numerous and large (sometimes double-page) and the book ends with a very comprehensive chronology detailing the main developments in the artist's career.

On the whole, this book is a good update to the landmark book by Diane Waldman, which was published some 15 years ago on the occasion of the first large Lichtenstein retrospective at the Guggenheim museum in NYC and which is now out of print.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2013
This book is what i needed! it has some of the best pictures of each art piece from Lichtenstein! The book, that has been divided in two parts (text 'how en when' about Lichtensteins work and life) and a collection of his art each placed on a separate page. I think its a great book, although i think a few art pieces aren't there!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2013
book arrived on time, but binding is horrible. first copy we were sent had pages loose in the middle of the book. Returned it (Amazon was very helpful) but they sent us another. this one did not have loose pages, but if you are not careful, the pages will fall out. Binding is not well done on this (expensive) book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2013
The book was the best of the books I have seen on Lichenstein. He worked diligently on his education and his style. I personnally loved his nude painting. The paintings were very very contemporary and projected an innocence, freedom and sometimes emotions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2012
The book has a diverse collection of his work compared to other books. I saw the exhibit and the layout and color of the prints in the book are excellent.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2013
I bought three copies of this book as gifts. I made three people very happy. They loved the book and told me so.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2013
Having seen the show in person, I think the reproductions are excellent and the writing thoughtful. If you are interested in Lichtenstein, this is a must to own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2013
nicely done heavy paper good color large size a great find for the individual intrested in modern art and columbus
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2014
great book .Packaging was not up to par
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2012
How many times can you say Plagiarist ?
This new book is really boring, and old-school.

The ongoing re-interpretation of Lichtenstein's work is getting tired...
Style over substance at its finest.
An endless repetition of Dots, Primary Colors, and Heavy Black Outlines.

The REAL ARTISTS were the ones Lichtenstein copied and
refused to acknowledge, or compensate.

David Barsalou MFA
Deconstructing Roy Lichtenstein
66 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.