Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Practical Management Science, Revised (with CD-ROM, Decision Making Tools and Stat Tools Suite, and Microsoft Project)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 28, 2008
As an instructor who uses this book to teach MBA students, I consider this as a valuable resource.

However, I am concerned that too many examples have been put together, without much intuition and insights in what justifies the models used for the simulation and how to effectively design the simulation.

As a result, student learns how to produce results for certain cases, but they don't know how to adjust it if assumptions change.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2013
I had spent $40 purchasing this book from another seller b/c it was stated "CD-ROM attached", but it wasn't. Then I spent $15 returning that book and kinda gave up and brought from this seller simply b/c it was the lowest price. And it was such a pleasant surprise when I opened the parcel and found out a book in almost perfect condition and most importantly it was CD-ROM attached, I know that it's not a guarantee that all used books are with attachment, but I'll try to buy all the books I need from this seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2010
Clear writing, step by step explainations of problem solving with Excel, especially various types of sensitivity analysis using:

One way data tables
Two way data tables
Solver
Solver Table add-on

You get a couple dozen classic examples of transportation costs, product blending, forecasting, queueing, workflow. In many examples, you see how to examine the problem using a combination of data tables, solver, and solver table to get the maximum out of an analysis.

The examples are very simple, direct, and the spreadsheets are shown in complete detail. But that's not to say it's a lightweight book, it's over 900 pages. And it is quite readable. A person with mediocre spreadsheet and math skills could walk through this book and pick up skills you'd only expect in a professional engineer.

This book is an essential complement to texts like Chopra that mostly give equations, some obtuse examples and garbled questions, then tell you "Good luck storming the castle boys!"

And if the CD is missing, the Solver Table can be downloaded [...]
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2014
Both the authors are highly accomplished. I met one of them in person and he's a two time Jeopardy winner and complete genius and math whiz. This book is loaded with cases and sophisticated models covering a broad range of business problems. If your understanding of probability, statistics, and spreadsheets is sub-par you'll have to bone up on those first before you read this book.

One of the commenters stated that the students might struggle if assumptions change and the models' intuition is not described fully well. I think most of the examples are described pretty well and for some that could use more explanation it is left up to each professor to expound upon the models. It's pretty hard to explain every single nuance in a model in a textbook format. That's where lectures in-person come in to fill the gap. Also this is not an easy subject. You'll have to work hard to grasp the major techniques taught.

Also if you're looking for hardcore network flow algorithms and solutions to logistics problems from a mathematical or computer science approach this isn't the right book. This book is mainly for business students and industrial engineers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2013
If you're serious about using quantitative analysis to solve business problems, do yourself a favor: buy this book and spend time with the models in this book. You'll set yourself apart from your colleagues with your structured approach to dealing with business issues. I have done MBA at a top tier school and I wish I had a modeling course that taught what I'm learning in this book. Note that this is not an Excel how-to book. But if you work through the exercises and examples (pick first the ones most relevant to your work), you'll be one of those people who can truly harness the power of Excel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2010
Great book that teaches how to use Excel and add-on functions for business modeling and risk management under uncertainty!

Has step by step examples. Lots of examples and work-it-out problems on the resource CD that comes with it.

Highly recommended for all MBA and business students!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2011
I couldn't find any used one with CD, so this is somewhat expensive than my expectation.
This book is valuable if you want learn skills about Excel, especially for simulation or optimization in different situations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2013
The book was very clear and the examples were very helpful and allowed me to have a full understanding of the material
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2016
powerful with great tools to use in day to day duties
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2012
I love this book. I expected the CD inside of this book but it's not there.
Please check if sellers offer CD-included book.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.