Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 21, 2013
I was surprised by how much I liked this book and when I say liked I really mean loved. I loved this book. It was so good and I just couldn't put it down. Looking at the cover I thought I was going to be reading something light and cheery, but that was definitely not the case. This book was deep and filled with so much emotion.

Several years ago Evie and Logan spent one passion filled week together that left a lasting impression on both. Neither has been able to get over what happened between them even though they both went their separate ways to live their lives. Now their paths have crossed again and both try to act like nothing serious occurred between them. The passion between Evie and Logan is apparent to everyone around them. Both continue to deny their feelings but before long neither are able to keep their hands and mouths off one another.

When Logan and Evie spent that one week together, it scared Logan to death. The passion and heat between them was explosive and brought out a side of Logan that he was afraid of. Evie just gave in too easily to his demands and his need to dominate her freaked him out. When Evie is accidentally hurt during one of their interludes, it's a wake up call to Logan. He sees himself becoming like his father who was abusive to him and his mother and he is terrified. So he makes the decision to walk away from Evie and all of the feelings and emotions she brings out in him.

Seeing Evie again brings back all of the feelings and emotions that Logan had long ago buried. Logan would like nothing more to be with Evie but he just doesn't do relationships. He keeps himself closed off from everyone and no one really knows the real Logan, not even his family.

I loved the relationship between these two. It was hot, explosive and in your face. Yet at the same time it was sweet and tender. The way that these two were able to grow and learn from one another was great to see. They both have such a strong bond and I love that Evie was patient and strong enough to stick with Logan and help him conquer his demons.

This was such an amazing book filled with so much love and passion. I definitely can't wait to read more from this author.
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 25, 2013
Ok, I admit it. I had high hopes for this story, but was left disappointed with this story. I've only read one other book (The Man She Loves to Hate (Harlequin Presents)) by Ms. Hunter and absolutely loved it. LOVED it! In my opinion, this one didn't measure up.

Ten+ years ago Evie had a scorching hot week-long affair with Logan but was left burned when he walked away. Today, she unexpectedly meets him again when she unwittingly accepts a marriage of convenience with her business partner in order to access his trust fund. She's been Max's business partner for several years and knew he had a half-brother named Logan, but never knew it was THE Logan. Now that they've been thrown together again, Evie isn't letting go. Evie and Max will just have to find another way to get the money they need for their growing business because Evie isn't letting Logan walk away this time.

Both Evie and Logan carried a lot of baggage and uncertainty over what happened between them the first time. They got hot and heavy real fast the first time. Their obstacle of being overly aggressive in their sexual encounters, bordering on BDSM, to be annoying. We never really SEE this, only are told how they like it hard, which tends to leave bruises. This freaks Logan out due to an abusive father.

While the writing was smooth, everything seemed glossed over. I felt like I was being TOLD everything instead of experiencing it myself.

The romance between Logan and Evie just didn't really jive with me. I guess it was believable, but it didn't resonate with me. Logan was so tortured and hot-n-cold about everything; whereas Evie felt like a lukewarm fish.

Would I read this story again? No
Would I recommend this story? No
Would I read this author again? Yes.
I've already reread the other book of hers I own to remind myself why I loved it and to see again that she can create wonderful stories. This one just wasn't for me. But, as you can see from all the other 5 star reviews I am the odd one out on this opinion.
22 comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2013
I received a recommendation for this book through an Amazon email and thought, what the heck, I'll try it. In looking at the cover, I thought this was a breezy little Harlequin romance - yellow balloons, a couple kissing... Not at all. This was a darker romance about two people who met over ten years ago and parted after a rather intense week of lovemaking that ended with the woman in the hospital. Apparently Logan and Angie (now known as Evie) were indulging in some rough and consensual role play. Logan freaks because he thinks he has hurt Angie and because what happened reminds him of his abusive father, he disappears from Angie's life. Well the two meet again - Evie works with Max and unbeknownst to Evie, Logan is Max's brother. So begins the story of a couple trying to find their way back to each other, dealing with emotional baggage along the way. Frankly, I liked the book. I love edgy love stories with flawed individuals. So if that's your thing, take a chance on The One That Got Away...
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2013
I was looking forward to reading this book. Sadly, the reality didn't meet my expectations. The back cover sounded promising. I like nothing more than a story about reunited lovers and I have found no one does them better than Harlequin.

I agree with the one reviewer who said this was a Blaze title. It totally was. This is the first book I've read in the KISS imprint and I'll give it another try, I was just disappointed with this one.

That being said, this book disappointed me. I was expecting a story with likeable characters whose relationship I could become invested in. That never happened. While I liked Evie OK and I liked Logan OK, I never cared about what happened to them. They had chemistry, but that was it. There was no reason for them to be together or not be together and there was no sexual tension which is one of the best parts. They just had a lot of sex, honestly. I should have known, the book started with sex it was bound to continue.

I found the writing to be weird, as well. I don't know if it is a language barrier or if this book were written for a foreign audience, but at times I found it hard to follow.

Overall, I would not recommend this book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2013
I have read three titles from the Harlequin Kiss line now, and each has been vastly different in tone and texture. My previous forays into the Kiss line were a bit more light hearted and more in line with what I thought this line would be like. The One That Got Away caught me by surprise. This is a darker read, with flawed but likable characters. It delves into the fears of a man whose childhood was marred by abuse, and examines his deepest fear - that he will be as violent, controlling, and selfish as his father. This fear has shaped his adult life, twisting his relationships and fueling his desperation to keep everyone at arm's length. Mix in a hopeless obsession that has festered for over ten years, and you have a story that makes you uneasy and steals your breath away in equal measure.

Evie has worked long and hard to make a successful business of MEP, the architectural firm she runs with her friend Max. When a huge opportunity looms for them, they both fret about raising enough working capital. Then Max drops a bombshell. He asks Evie to marry him so he can access his multimillion dollar trust fund. Shocked, she agrees, and they travel to Max's hometown to meet his family, and give Evie another shock. Max's older brother, Logan, is the man she spent a blissful week with 10 years ago, a week that ended in disaster. Both Evie and Logan have been haunted by their brief time together, but for different reasons. Evie's heart was broken when she didn't hear from him again, while Logan ran as fast and as far away from Evie and his obsession for her as he could. Evie represented everything that terrified him, and he didn't want to face that monster in the closet of his mind.

Now, older and ten years wiser, Evie wants to put that week from her past into perspective. Logan refuses to discuss it. With the support of Max and his mother, Evie slowly begins to understand the demons that stalk Logan. She confronts him, time and again, trying to make him understand that they are both different people than they were ten years ago. I admit that their relationship made me uncomfortable at several points,. Logan's fear of being like his father has made him try to repress his inner most desires, and when they batter at him, they terrify him. Evie and Logan's relationship is dark and intense, and at times, unhealthy. I began to wonder if I would be convinced that they could ever have a HEA. Fortunately, I was, and I became a bigger fan of Kelly Hunter's because of it.

My one quibble would be the lack of depth regarding Evie's background, and how her dysfunctional childhood affected her. We are given a brief sketch of her parents and their inability to commit, but there is no clear picture given.

Grade: A
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2013
Harlequin just introduced a new line, "Harlequin Kiss," and I'm not quite sure what to make of it. On the one hand, this was kinda like a Harlequin "Blaze" book--nice contemporary feel, story flows, easy to read.

On the other hand, this was kinda like a Harlequin "Presents" book (not my fave at all)--uber de uber alpha-hole male, over-the-top possessiveness, and of course, dude is a secret milli upon millionaire that can loan Evie, the heroine, and her business partner, Max, $10 million without having them sign any binding sexual contracts, making Evie say, "Arghghgh!", or ensuring that Evie and her Inner Goddess have a discussion before entering into any relationships. Though there may have been a few instances of lip biting. But I get ahead of myself...

Soooo, this book starts out with Logan and a mystery lady friend chugging down Gatorade after a particularly Cirque du Soleil-ish bedroom performance so they can balance their electrolytes, and you get the feeling that this relationship is ON FAHR!

And I'm okay with that. If I ruled Publishing Land, I would make all my peons include hotttt sexxxx in their first chapters at all times. It's like a job interview--always put your best foot or genitals forward. Not that I have ever flashed my genitals during a job interview. That I can remember.

Ennyway, Marty McFly it forward 11 years into the future, and we find Evie and Max, partners in a design/build business, contemplating marriage just so Max can get his hands on his trust fund two years early. They need the cash to bid on a super huge civic center project. So Max sends a pic to his family announcing the engagement...and he quite coincidentally has a brother named Logan. I won't keep you in suspense--yes, Logan is THAT Logan, and Evie is THAT mystery lady who chugged down Gatorade and probably a Power Bar or two with him.

Logan and Evie share some awkward moments after they see each other because Evie was going by another name at the time they met, and Logan has a different last name than Max--I know, right?! A coincidence? I think not.

You'd think that Evie and Max, being business partners and friends and all, would know important things about each other like...I dunno...IS THERE A POSSIBILITY THAT I F***ED YOUR BROTHER SEVEN WAYS TO SUNDAY, AND I EVEN MADE UP A NEW DAY OF THE WEEK SO I COULD F*** HIM THEN, TOO?! Is there?! Hunh?! Hunh?!

Logan is all, "I FORBID you to marry each other!" and "I will GIVE you the $10 million if you cut Evie out of the business!" and "I SERIOUSLY need to get laid because I am pretty damn grumpy for a gazilliontiaire!"

Max and Evie break the engagement because they're not foolin' anybody and maybe because Logan just banged the crap out of Evie in the shower minutes before while Max--HER FAKE FIANCE, 'MEMBER HIM, EVIE?--and his Moms were DOWNSTAIRS. That is some bad house guest mojo, right there.

Of course, Logan is a tortured soul, and he has SUCH DEPRAVED BASE NEEDS and is a HORRIBLE-NO GOOD-VERY BAD (hmmm, that could be a good book title) man, but he and Evie decide to let nature take its course (Translation: better buy stock in Gatorade, dude), and enter into a smokin' hot affair for as long as it lasts.

And then Max turns out to be gay...whaaaa? Just skip that part because the author did...and then Logan has his epiphany, and he and Evie get their HEA, and I am exhausted! There was a lot of stuff going on this book for it being a category romance, but I liked it okay.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2014
From the beginning to the end I was completely enthralled and on a roller coaster ride. I am still emotionally shaken by this Evie and Logan's story. I laughed and cried. Felt so many different emotions while reading this book. I am still in awe.
"Everyone makes mistakes, Evangeline. Mistakes that shatter your world and lose you everything you."
"He's the one,isn't he?' said Max. The one who ruined you for all me.'
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2013
Evangeline is happy with her life. She is part owner of a business along with her best friend, Max. She enjoys what she does and has settled into a happy life even if at times she still remembers the man she spent the best week of her life with. Through an unconventional set of events she encounters this man again. Their chemistry is as powerful as it was ten years ago, but Evie is not the same woman she was back then.

Logan is as handsome and sexy as ever and Evie can't help but be drawn to him. Logan wants no part of it. Although he has never forgotten 'Angie', he doesn't want to be in the position he found himself ten years ago - obsessed and out of control. Logan is a tortured soul. He has issues with control and Evie has always managed to make him forget about those. He tries to stay away from her but he fails. Like a moth to the flame he is drawn to her and keeps coming back.

They develop a friends with benefits long distance relationship, but every encounter brings them closer to falling in love. The only true obstacle is Logan's inability to open up emotionally and his fear that he will lose control of himself and end up hurting Evie.

I liked this story a lot. With complex characters and a darker edge to it, this title is different from what I have come to expect from Harlequin but I enjoyed it thoroughly regardless. I found myself wanting to know more about Logan's past and wanting to shelter him from all his conflicting emotions. Evie was a great characters to read and my favorite type of heroine - strong where it counted and vulnerable and yielding when it came to her emotions. I enjoyed their dialog not to mention their chemistry.

The writing was very good and the author kept me interested from start to finish. Kelly Hunter managed to bring a lot of emotion to the page. From doubt and hesitation to lust and tenderness, the story was packed full of emotional insights into the characters which helped me relate to them more. I liked that the author spanned their relationship over time because it added to my acceptance of them getting together in the end. Logan's development throughout the book was a treat to read and without that time span I don't think that their relationship would have felt as real to me as it did.

The secondary characters were interesting to get to know too. They added to the story in their own right and I am especially curious to read more about Max. Logan's mother was a key character to have since it is her history that reveals what's behind Logan's true conflict with himself.

The chemistry between these two was sizzling hot. Although Logan's conflicts about his lack of control that centered around what happened to them during that week they spent in bed were included, I can't help but feel that this was not dealt with deep enough on the page. Their sexual encounters were very enjoyable to read but the scenes were not what I was expecting. I wanted to know more about what led to the conflict that made Logan walk away so abruptly, but I only got an idea of what happened. I feel cheated in a way, but that's just me. This is romance and not erotica so I will overlook it. Oh, but I would have loved more in-depth scenes!

All in all, a great romantic read with interesting characters and a bit of angst to make it more of a darker read than expected.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2015
I enjoyed this book. At first I was nervous it was out of my comfort zone, but the author knows how to write so that her point gets across without over the top steamy-ness. It was great. I would definitely recommend and read more of her books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2013
Looking at the cover of this book you would never guess that it is actually quite dark and passionate. For a "short read" there is surprising depth of character (the hero specially) and the deep overwhelming passion that is the subject of this story is conveyed from the first page to the last. I loved the fact that the plot didn't follow the usual path of needless misunderstanding and lack of communication: all the characters say what is on their minds and the obstacles are sound, and are resolved in a believable way. The story made sense and the characters were smart and interesting, all of which made this book compelling. There is more emphasis on the Hero's demons than on what makes the heroine tick but that didn't detract much for me. I enjoyed this story and if it is an example of what Harlequin Kiss is going to be printing I'll definitely read more of this line!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.