Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 1, 2010
This anthology has almost everything that an English major could desire to read of British literature from the 18th to 20th century. I think the editors at Norton did a very good job of choosing what to include in this volume. Everything you'd expect to see is here (Wordsworth, Tennyson, Wilde, Shelley, etc.) and some additional lesser-known works round out this anthology. It is an indispensable resource for passionate undergrads and grad students.

The typeface is small, the pages are translucently thin, and the book is very heavy. These are all drawbacks to this text, but I believe it's worth it for the tremendous amount and variety of material it contains.

If you plan to keep this book for a long time (and not just use it for one semester), I highly recommend getting the hardcover edition. Considering how heavy and fat the book is, the paperback is very flimsy. Also, if this is a required text for one class and you're pretty sure you'll never need it again afterward, don't buy it. Much of the material in this book is public domain and can be found online for free.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2015
I highly recommend any Norton Anthology. Each book has excellent examples of literature both famous and not. Sometimes pictures are included which heightens the experience. The book came on time and in wonderful condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2012
Criticize the Norton if you dare. For value in teaching (and studying) a survey course, there just isn't anything better. And I think their passages from longer works are generally right on the money.

The thing I have realized after a lifetime of reading is that these are the passages that stick after you have read everything else. But to make them stick, you really have to have read everything else. Otherwise, it's overwhelming. Still, in a single volume, Norton is peerless.

The only problem is that, without the context of the larger work, the passages sometimes don't make sense. Still, this is it. The required reading, in condensed form.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2011
If you want to be introduced to British literature from 1750 to 1930, this is the book for you! All of the major writers are covered, with their best work featured.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2012
The Norton Anthology is a fine addition to anyone who needs a perspective on English literature. I purchased a soft cover Eighth Edition (used) at a great price. It has everything the a general reader and lover of English lit could want and more.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2012
Great over view of English literature from the Romantics to now. It contains many well-known and often-reference texts. If you are looking for in-depth discussion of any one author, then this is not the book for you. It will give you a solid, base understanding of literature movements and the key figures in them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2012
This is a textbook I kept after college. I had to purchase it for a literature class and ended reading unassigned works because there are so many works packed into one book. This is the perfect book for class and I was able to stick tabs on the pages without them tearing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2011
The book arrived sooner than the estimated date which was awesome because my summer class had just started and I needed it fast. The condition of the book was as described. Just what I needed!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2015
arrived much quicker than expected. for the price, the quality is great; understandably some markings on some pages and some signs of wear, seeing as the books are paper-backed. Overall a good experience!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2013
I would recommend this book to anyone pursuing an English major and anyone interested in Literature. This is an excellent book arrived in perfect condition and the stories are very fascinating. The price was very reasonable thank you Leslie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse