Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Physics
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$233.66+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 18, 2011
I'm a professor who has used this book for 3 years. Overall, it is a very good algebra-based book specially made for pre-med students. They have gone to great lengths to include medical applications, and the content of the book is based on what the MCAT requires. For the most part, the chapters are about the right length and the explanations are clear. The number of homework problems has been accumulating over the last 8 editions, so there are now almost a ridiculous number of problems to choose from (>200 in some chapters!) ranging from trivial to challenging. This book covers a huge amount of material, more than you could possibly cover in a year, and is in danger of bloating. I have found very few errors and only a few points which I would disagree with, which is pretty good considering the size of the book. There is an attempt to introduce some current research areas like cosmology and particle physics in the last chapter, but otherwise they stick very closely to MCAT topics. Also, the WileyPLUS system offers solid online homework grading and some nice study materials.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2011
As a high school physics teacher, I think this book is fantastic. I would not recommend it for an introductory HS class (but maybe for college) but it is a great for AP physics. The explanations are very clear and there are a lot of sample problems. There are also a lot of ties to medical applications. The problems at the back also have a great range from real easy to killer hard.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2011
This book totally rocks if you're taking an algebra-based physics course at the community college or four-year university level. It's also great if you're studying for the MCAT. The problems at the end of each chapter are decent, but that's where this review gets a four star rating rather than five: Some of the problems are too convoluted and long. Why should physics problems have to be huge paragraphs in length, especially when it becomes very difficult to draw a diagram from the wording? I actually had to write to the author about a few of the problems, and he was courteous enough to write me back. The end result of our little exchange was that the problems under discussion will be revised in time for the next edition! Gotta love it!

Overall though, I had the absolute worst professor ever for General Physics I, but I still pulled through with an A by constantly referring to this book.
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2013
The textbook is good as a reference. The kindle version is not very well formatted. The equations and the in-text equations are incredibly hard to read. I wish they had put some effort into formatting this textbook more. Buy Halliday and Resnick on the kindle instead.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2014
This book gives extremely helpful and clear examples.

My physics instructor was kind but rambled on and continually mixed up terms and variables. Thank God for this book. It easily clarified everything my instructor couldn't.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2014
Don't bother with this book. Even the explanations were hard to understand. Yes, I passed the physics class associated with this book, but only because of youtube videos explaining how to work the problems.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2014
I gave this book two stars because its not easy to read. It shows a lot of problems which is a plus but sometimes the basic concept is forgotten and the problems get complex. It looks nice and presents images well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2015
It is a great book for general physics, its price was very reasonable, and it arrived just on time.
Thank you so much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2011
The book arrived promptly and was in great condition except I later learned that it is missing the answers to odd problems and the index, which are listed in the table of contents and supposed to be at the end of the book. These sections are present in other hard copy books of the same edition and everything. The pages don't appear to have been ripped out so I think the book was defective. Be careful.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2015
Made physics a TON easier, especially since my professor was hard to understand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$243.43

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.