Automotive Deals Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Look Park Fire TV Stick Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 10, 2012
The book does not have clear examples for the mathematical concepts it discusses so if you like learning math in sequences(taught in all math textbooks) then you're going to have trouble with this book. The math concepts are all one giant word problem. The text itself is lengthy and dull. Completely useless book, I learned the concepts by looking them up online...an entire chapter reduced to a one page publication. The power point slides provided by the publishers website are useless and the website itself is useless. Don't waste your money or your students money on this overpriced trash.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2012
Book is written with someone who has been using calculus in the not too distant past. Formulas need more explanations, need to show more progressive steps for those of us who have had calculus, but several years ago. Overall written text is clean and understandable. Biggest issues is the lack of explanation with math formulas.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2009
This was the required text for my Managerial Economics course in my MBA program, which I have just completed. It covers the necessary information, but it is bland, sterile, and over-simplified. The examples and problems do not offer enough explanation or detail to learn many of the calculations. Problems are often explained in prose instead of clearly notated in mathematical forms. Instructions for operations to be performed on spreadsheets assume an expert knowledge of Excel rather than a reasonable proficiency level one would expect. The refresher of statistics was grossly inadequate and lacked test values needed to complete many of the chapter exercises (others were provided). I had to return to my undergraduate statistics text to look up the required test values. Requiring this text for a Managerial Economics course assures students of having to select an additional text, possibly multiple texts, to supplement the learning process. I am reviewing other textbooks now to learn what this text was incapable of teaching.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 12, 2010
The writing style of this textbook can be best described as oblique and vaucous. Perhaps the author's main goal was to write a textbook with as few concrete statements as possible so he does not expose himself to criticism. You will read many pages of this textbook and wonder if you have read anything substantive at all.

Sometimes, the author never bothers to explain even the most important concepts in Microeconomics. For example, the author simply states that MR=MC yet never explains why or how. I had to do my own analysis using calculus on PQ vs Q and VC vs Q graphs to make my own conclusion and understanding. But many students don't have the time, the inclination, or the knowhow to do so.

The graphs are very poorly labeled and seems out of place from the text. For example, the graph on page 225 begs a better description and label. The Y axis simply states "Cost/Unit" and I was left guessing whether that is the Average Cost or not.

The problems at the end of each chapters are good but are totally out of place with the textual explanation. The majority of the problems ask questions that the chapter had hardly, if at all, covered. You will scratch your head on many occassions trying to solve problems on concepts the chapter had hardly crossed, let alone explained in mathematical detail that the problems require.

It seems the problems were written by a different person than the author and neither bothered to check whether the problems were aligned with the concepts explained in the chapter. Moreover, there are only around 15 problems at the end of each chapter. I think most microeconomic textbooks would offer more.

It almost seems like the author did his own microeconomic analysis and figured writing this textbook was worth only X amount of his time. This textbook, in my opinion, is incomplete and half-baked and we microeconomics students deserve better.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2014
The book was used for a masters level economics course. Content is poorly written and disjointed. It tries to cover macro micro and general economic topics in one book. Literally everyone hated the book after our end of session peer review. Only part of book that was mildly fun was marginal costs analysis and time series modelling. I would not recommend this book at all.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2011
As another reviewer said, the book explains nothing. The authors must assume that you know about Managerial Economics first. The examples sometimes force you to go back to previous chapters to figure out the problem. I teach the subject, and this is an abysmal attempt to explain the nuances of an already confusing subject.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2012
I am at a loss to use proper English to describe how bad this textbook is. Very evident from reading Chapter 2 on Marginal Analysis that these 2 authors are extremely bright academics, but has a teaching birth defect. They don't know how to communicate effectively with students and that is very bad in trying to write a technical textbook. They think they are still writing for an academic journal. The breadth and depth of the material is excellent, but what good does it do if they cannot pass on their wonderful knowledge to the next generation.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2014
I love renting books from Amazon. GI bill stipend doesn't cover the cost of buying Graduate books full price. This rental program is great. I wish the index was a little bigger in this book but otherwise I find the book easy to understand terms and situations in managerial economics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2015
Though the book is listed as new, the book does not include the registration key to access additional materials online (e.g. study guides, flash cards, etc) The book is reasonably priced and in excellent condition otherwise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2013
needed this book for class...well i needed the newest edition but that was reallllly expensive so i just got this one instead and all the material seems the same as what we are learning in class so i assume its pretty close to the newest edition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$187.06

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.