Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Off to College Essentials Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
15
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$182.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 4, 2011
If you are needing this book for a course, but want to spend less money, you can buy the author's more recent book, "Essentials of MATLAB Programming" (November 7, 2008), which is almost exactly the same as this one, but without the last four chapters, and revised to cover MATLAB version 7.5. On my brief comparison of the two texts, even the exercises look to be the same. So, if your class doesn't use the last four chapters, I would point this out to your professor to see if you can use the other, less expensive, book.

The missing chapters in the latter, "Essentials", book are: Chapter 8: Input/Output Functions, Chapter 9: Handle Graphics, Chapter 10: Graphical User Interfaces, and Chapter 11: The MATLAB compiler. If you do decide to get the "Essentials" book, make sure to get the latest one, which was released November 7, 2008, and is copyright 2009. Amazon will only let me directly link to a previous edition of it at the moment, so I've decided not to link to it, to avoid any confusion.

Update: The author in 2012 has an even more recent release with more applicability to Engineers, called "MATLAB Programming with Applications for Engineers". It contains basically the same material as the Essentials book, but with additional emphasis on Engineering mathematics, for instance, Differential Equations. It also contains his material on Handle Graphics and at least an appendix with Input/Output Functions, however, still no Graphical User Interface or MATLAB compiler material (which may be fine for your particular course).
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2000
The book is a good start to MATLAB students but there is a lot of errors in the text. Despite the author's appeal asking everybody to show him the errors, I think it would be better to rewrite the book, mainly because his work could be more useful if he insert a specific chapter about I/O operations, which is, in my opinion, the most dificult thing to do in MATLAB. Examples of I/O operations with several data formats would be useful too.
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2002
I am not a full time computer programmer. In spite of my limited programming experience, I was able to follow the lessons in this book. The information is presented in a logical sequence and fully explained and illustrated. As the title suggests, this book is for engineers who need answers for their own use and is not intended to show you how to make fancy illustrations for presentations.
There are two shortcomings that bothered me. One is the lack of a table at the end of each chapter listing the other commands and functions that do almost the same thing as the ones covered in the chapter. This would increase this book's usefulness as a reference. The other problem is the end of each chapter having an illustration of some interesting engineering project or concept. One claimed that Matlab could be used to drastically improve the fuel efficiency of motor vehicles. The other was a half baked political statement to the effect that you would be better off giving irrevocable control of your life over to a group of people who have a history of looking after their own interests first and others second. Of course this suggestion was worded in an appealing style.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2009
The book is expensive for paperback but it is very helpful for my matlab class. If you have the previous version already, don't bother with this one its almost the same except some homework problems are switched (just find a friend and write down the problem). B+
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2013
this is very good book for me, either for class or reference. I strong recommend to anyone to have one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2000
This is a great text. Easy to read and many good examples illustrated in the book allow you to quickly pick up MATLAB, especially the GUI section. It's very clear and up-to-date. Unlike some other texts just tell you the inefficient Matlab 4.x code for the GUI programing.
*I am a undergraduate engineering student by the way.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2005
This is a great book for learning Matlab. It starts from very, very basic stuff, and picks up at a steady pace, teaching u tons of things with ease. This is the official book of my College Course "Computer Programming for Mechanical Engineers", and I'm doing great in it with the help of this book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2013
Explanations are OK but you need to understand basic programming logic to get the most out of this text book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2014
The quality is fine but abit poor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2015
GREAT PRODUCT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse