Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 3, 2006
If you are merely looking for an instructional book on the flute, than this is an excellent source for an aspiring student. I had given up playing the flute for 7 years before I decided to give it a try again, so I bought this book and I re-learned the basics in no-time. The finger charts are easy to follow and I liked how they taught you the minor notes first, instead of sticking to the simple "c" scale notes.

The reason why I am giving this four stars instead of five, however, is because the accompanying SOFTWARE IS NOT COMPLETE. Instead allowing you to use the entire package, the software only allows you play with the songs of the first half of the book. If you want help learning the songs in the second half of the book, you have to pay extra money. I do not think this is right, but then again, I was also tempted to buy the completed software just to help myself figure out how to play the later songs, so maybe they're onto something.

Suffice to say, this is a good instructional book to help you learn, or in my case, "re-learn" the flute, despite the desperate bid for money it makes with it's incomplete software.
0Comment|46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2003
This book was purchased solely on the basis that it was the one the band teacher at my daughter's school is using. However, being of a musical background myself, I can tell you with some authority that this book (and perhaps the whole series) is exactly what suited my 11-year-old's ability and enjoyment level. It is written in an easy to understand way and the companion CDs make learing a true pleasure. A very worthwhile purchase. Please take note, if you do not have any musical background yourself, this may be a bit difficult for you to teach your own child. I would not recommend this book for a "do-it-yourselfer". Thanks for listening.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2010
The SmartMusic software that comes with this book will not run on Windows Vista or Win 7 or 64 bit systems. see the information at the following link to get the updated software for newer systems.

[...]

If you are running Windows 2000/XP or Mac OSX 10.2, 10.3 or 10.4 you will need to install SmartMusic from the CD or DVD provided in the back of the book. There will also be a sticker with a unique code to enter as you follow the on-screen instructions.

For newer operating systems, such as Windows Vista, Windows 7 or Mac OSX 10.5 and later, you will need to download SmartMusic 11.

Download for Windows Vista or Windows 7.

Download for Mac OSX 10.5 and later.

After installing SmartMusic 11, create an account or log in using your email address and password. When prompted, click to enter your SmartMusic code, and enter the following:

Essential Elements 2000 for Band: EESTUDENTBAND
Essential Elements 2000 for Strings: EESTUDENTSTRINGS

You will then be able to access the first hundred titles in the Essential Elements book 1
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2003
The "Essential Elements 2000: A Comprehensive Band Method" is a great book for a young person who is learning an instrument for the first time. There is a fingering chart in the back of the book to make looking up fingerings quick and easy. The book starts off very basic with the parts of the instrument. The easiest notes to play and finger are presented first with exercises to practice them. This book comes with a play-along CD. This CD includes all solo exercises.
Hal Leonard also offers (though not through Amazon) band sets for band directors. They are simple arrangements of music that correlate with the book. They are great for the first concert.
There is an older version of this book called "Essential Elements: A Comprehensive Band Method". The book is purple and has many of the same features as this one, but the CDs have to purchased separately.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2010
I have a number of flute and piccolo guides to assist in learning various key fingerings. The Essential Elements Books for Flute (book 1, book 2, book 3) are all excellent guides! Book 1 comes along with a CD and a DVD. The CD has tutorials to help build your listening skills and it has a piano accompaniment to ensure those skills are "tight".

Book 2 comes along with a separate CD with the same purpose in mind, but you will have to order this as it is a separate fee for the two-disc CD set. Not expensive, but is a nuisance to find which vendor sells this double disc set.

Book 3 is for advance, skillful in key fingering techniques with rapid progression. (By the way, Book 2's double disc CD has the tracks which includes practices in Book 3.)

There is a load of helpful information in all three books to assist the learning in attaining confidence, capability and structure in flute playing.

I highly recommend The Essential Elements Books for Flute. It does not hurt to use these guides with the assistance of a one and one tutor. There's no way we can do without a professional flutist's (or any instrumentalist's in that matter) guidance.

Happy fluting!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2015
I used to play the flute in high school and was ecstatic that my daughter showed an interest in playing as well.

You would not believe my surprise at finding the same music primer that I used in high school. Looking through the book it is easy to see how it breaks down musical theory into practical application to give music students the basic tools to take their talents even further.

This book is great for beginners and can be easily understood by someone as young as 7-10.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2015
My kids and grandkids have used these books for band for years. They must be good instructional manuals or the schools wouldn't continue to use them. I was pleased to see that this book was available on Amazon!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2015
Seems to be a good book. Bought it because it's what my kid's band teacher said he would be using this year in school and I wanted her to use it over the summer in her private flute lessons. Much better than the books they used last year in band!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2014
Pros:
There are several snip-its of well known toons that make it fun to play
There is a nice fingering chart at the back of the book that is easy to read
Overall book quality (this is a soft cover book) is excellent and meant to last for years to come

Cons:
You cannot remove the fingering chart so you have to go from the beginning of the book to the rear of the book to find fingerings.
There is not a lot of beginning instruction on how to play or put the flute together; things I would expect at the beginning of a beginners book.

I have not listed to the CD yet, so I cannot rate on the quality of the CD.

Another good place to help with learning how to care for your flute, putting it together, and proper sound techniques is on "learnflutonline.com"; for those things that the beginner music books don't teach you, this is a great place to start with the instructional videos.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2015
This book was requested by my daughters flute teacher at school.
This series is the standard instruction book at our elementary school for all the different orchestra instruments .
My daughter is doing very well, learning to master the flute using this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse