Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Shop Women's Clothing Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
12
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$32.01+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon September 30, 2012
This was a gift for a relative, who does a lot of DIY on his property. He told me that though he had expected more text, it was very interesting just to see what has been done using concrete. The book has houses, business buildings, museums, roads, apartment buildings, and Hoover Dam.

The photographs are excellent, and the text with each one is informative. Some of the structures were designed by well known architects, some lesser known. A few of the pages are not numbered when the photos take both pages. The index lists projects by name, with page numbers, and architects by name, with page numbers, which means you can search either way. Photographic credits are at the end of the index.

The book is 11.75" by 10.25". It is 237 pages without the index. The paper is heavy and glossy.

I had flipped through it before I gave it to him, and enjoyed it. I imagine that anyone using concrete would get ideas from the book. However, it is not a text book.

I recommend it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2013
I bought this book for my father (a man who attends an annual "Concrete Banquet") and it could not have been more perfect.
Gorgeous photography! Great coffee table book for concrete aficionados and the rest of us!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2013
Concrete is an incredibly beautiful book. The photographs are stunning and on top of the line pages. The information is well written and interesting. Even the cover is beautiful. My brother is an architect in construction and he LOVED it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2013
Nice photos, good coffee table book. Cover is pretty cool looking, too! The book is divided into structures based on design elements- light, form, etc. Only thing I would have liked is better printing on the photos, they could have been a little better quality. Other than that, a nice photo based book for anyone interested in concrete architecture.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2012
Being a concrete artisan I thoroughly enjoyed to display and brief descriptions of various concrete architecturally inspired buildings. Could have stood for a bit more info on construction aspects of the buildings.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2012
Phaidon Press are known for elegant and distinctive art and architecture books but this one is good even by its own high standards. The book has a simple premise - rather than acres of text, it assembles a single gorgeous image of each of 150 or so buildings and constructions - given at least a page or many even big double page spreads - each with a clear, concise caption. (In fact the only extensive text occurs in the author's introduction and the accompanying essay by Wabi-Sabi author Leonard Koren, both of which exhort the reader to rethink concrete as a material of beauty rather than stark utility.)

The sense of luxury as you turn the pages is palpable - the paper is beautiful, the images are beautiful. Even the cover is beautiful, with an amazing printed-in effect of the wooden mould-made lines in in-situ-cast concrete. And the juxtapositions made by the book's designer are in many cases completely stunning: Westminster Jubilee line station opposite an amazing Japanese print centre that looks almost like an oil rig high above the city; Canary Wharf Jubilee line station opposite Auguste Perret's intense, meditatory concrete church. The real joy of the book is discovering many unusual buildings. Of course the usual suspects are here too - South Bank, Fallingwater, the Pantheon, Trellick Tower, Guggenheim, Villa Savoye, Sydney Opera House. (Though I'm not totally sure that whole building is concrete.) But the most fun are the ones I've never heard of before - Rem Koolhass's "Casa da Musica", Louis Kahn's Bangladesh Parliament, Max Berg's Breslau Centennial Hall: all stunning unforgettable constructions now that I know them.

Cooling towers, train stations, fire stations, flak towers, dams, housing estates, oh yes, of course. But also sculptures, Biennale pavilions, chapels, libraries, swimming pools, and luxury clifftop villas: concrete ennobles them all, and this is the book to prove it. Grand spaces are spanned, beautiful organic shapes echoed, and imaginative leaps are made. (It's intriguing how often concrete has been chosen as a material for spiritual or contemplative buildings, with stunning creations here by Le Corbusier, BNKR, Fonseca, Schultes and Frank, Kurokawa, Trahan Architects, Bohm and others.) The best thing about this book is the way it sends you off to explore new avenues of thought: truly inspirational.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2014
The cover was in good shape, the text was legible, I cannot hold amazon responsible for content. Thanks amazon for making me waste my time writing this review just so you will stop emailing me about it. I feel that the star system is sufficient for rating a book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2014
This book has beautiful inspiring photos from all around the world and is a reminder of the versatility of concrete forms.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2015
Excellent review of the possibilities of concrete as a building materieal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2016
Thanks !!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.