Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 28, 2000
Book contains 46 pages on introductory propagation methods, followed by very specific information on propagating these plant types: 44 pages on trees, 54 pages on shrubs, 64 pages on perennials, 16 pages on annuals, 20 pages on cacti, 28 pages on bulbs, and 28 pages on vegetables and herbs. In the back are a glossary, an index, and north america hardiness map. Very complete.
If you can grow it, the instructions are listed in this book.
Book contains hundreds of small, but helpful photographs that demonstrate a process or identify some plant anatomy.
Solid information, well worth the money!
0Comment| 238 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2001
I bought this book for my husband, but I use it more than he does! This is one of the best plant books I have ever seen. The techniques are easy to understand and follow, the pictures are outstanding, and there are TONS of plants listed! This book will take you through the history of plant propagation, genetic ins and outs, and the techniques that you can use in your own garden. If you have a garden full of veggies, or a yard with trees, shrubs, and rose bushes, this book really is a must for you!
0Comment| 110 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book is a must for anyone interested in the propagation of just about any botanical-from herbs to vegetables to exotics. As an avid seed collector and gardener, this book has been indespensable and reigns as king of my botanical library!! Ideal for the professional and lay person, this book explodes with beautiful photographs. Even the half-hearted gardener will dream of seed starting after studying this tome. The only thing I found missing was a chart for seed identification-but overall, this book was superb!! Kudos to the American Horticultural society for such much-needed knowledge! Even Sir Joseph Banks would be proud of this one!!
0Comment| 67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2004
I was in search of a good informative book for seed starting and stumbled upon this one. What a find!!! They give detailed instructions for hundreds of plants (including hardy and tropicals) defining exactly what propagating technique(s) works best for each. Softwood cuttings, hardwood cuttings, dividing, grafting (far more methods than I have ever seen in one book) and the various methods of gathering and seed-starting, whether your species prefers cold-stratifying, soaking, scarification or if it prefers to be direct-sown. This book has techniques for reproducing just one or hundreds of plants. I could go on and on but it all boils down to this; If you have any interest in multiplying plants this book is a must!
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 1999
As a professional horticulturalist, gosh what a word, I spotted this delightful book in the Beaufort Public Library, kept it out too long because I did not want to take it back and it cost me a 75 cent fine...such a deal. Now I MUST buy my own, even though my birthday is less than a month away. It makes propagation a breeze. And what great graphics and photos. I'll be out gathering palmetto seeds soon. Ever wonder what to do with a sago palm seed? You won't believe what they need to sprout. Now I know why the plant is so expensive to buy. With this book you have the knowledge to start just about any plant you can think of.
11 comment| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2007
The previous printing of this book has a green background with 4 photos. The current printing has a cover similar to the "DK Books" edition sold in many national bookstores for quite a bit more money. Inside the cover, the books are identical.

The first 47 pages of this book are indispensible (a must read) unless you have mastered both sophomore and junior level (college) courses in plant propagation. These pages are an invaluable guide to gardeners everywhere. Discussed are the general forms of propagation, methods used, etc.

Following (pages 48 through 309) are 7 sections on thematic kinds of plants: Trees, Shrubs/Climbers, Perennials, Annuals/Biennials, Cacti/Succulents, Bulbous Plants, Vegetables. Each of these sections contains information on specific methods applicable to these types, and an "A through Z" guide to common Families or Genus (e.g., Guara) in that category, plus specific propagation methods (where applicable) to particular species.

The book rivals any collegic textbook I have seen, with the exception of books on the propagation of specific types of plants. Further, I believe this book is the best primer on propagation for the gardener, especially prior to reading a book on the propagation of plants with particular, exotic needs.
11 comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2007
This book is amazing but I strongly recommend that you buy Alan Toogood's "Plant Propagation" from a different publisher. The National Home and Gardening Club published this exact same book (with a different hardback cover) the same year the AHSociety published the above book. This book is currently selling on Amazon for just under $5 and is a much better buy.

Note: Amazon does not have a photo for Toogood's other book and most people probably overlook that and purchase the above text.
22 comments| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2003
Being new to propagation, I have found this book extremely useful and have successfully tried some of the techniques. My only complaint is that the book does not go into further details about how to care for the young, newly rooted plants. For example, how do I overwinter a newly rooted hydrangea? How long after it's rooted in the rooting medium can I safely transplant it? What do the terms "grow on" and "grow under cover" really mean? The book assumes you know little details like this already.
But really, considering the breadth of information the book is trying to cover, I'd say it does a good job of it. It is clear and easy to understand and the instructions are easy to follow. And, yes, it really does list every single kind of plant. I haven't looked one up yet that I couldn't find in this book!
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2001
Great single source reference on propagating plant- all types. Beautifully illustrated with step by step direction including photographic illustrations. Well written and authoritative.
The Grafting of plants is well covered with plenty of helpful hints divided by plant types.
I WOULD NOT GIVE THIS BOOK UP!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2002
This is an extremely informative book for the beginner or seasoned gardener who wants to propagate plants. It is full of pictures and diagrams and step-by-step instructions for any kind of plant you can think of. This book lets you know the best time of year to propagate and what techniques you can use: seeds, cuttings, layering, etc. A fun and informative feature are the photos of seeds to help the gardener with identification. I borrowed a copy from my local library and kept it for as long as I could. I happened to come across it online and hurried to purchase it. It is a book that will be used over and over again.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse