Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals Outdoors Gift Guide on Tikes

Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$18.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on February 6, 2008
As a kid, I loved Superman Jr. and Batman Jr. ("sons" of Superman and Batman, duh!), the titular heroes of the stories. Written by Bob Haney (with the best stories drawn by Dick Dillin), the Super Sons sporadically appeared in World's Finest comics (starting in 1973 and running sporadically until '76). They were obviously a misguided attempt to bring "relevance" (a big 70s term) to the Superman/Batman universe -- without getting as hard-core or political as the now-classic Denny O'Neil/Neal Adams Green Lantern/Green Arrow comics.

Even though the Super Sons exist completely outside normal continuity, DC refused to declare that their adventures were "imaginary stories"; a distinction I've always found hilarious -- as opposed to the "real" adventures of the superhero in question?! In fact, Haney/Dillin always make a point of obscuring the sons' mothers' identities, which leads to a number of stories where the kids get in arguments with their parents, with the moms' faces always turned from the viewer or engulfed in shadow!

The stories in this book usually involve the junior heroes riding around out West, Easy Rider-style, on a souped-up chopper or dune buggy, defying their parents' wishes that they just settle down to "normal" lives. They tend to follow a similar pattern: the boys get in a "generation-gap" argument with their dad and storm off together. They fall into some misadventure, jump to a number of conclusions, make some dumb mistakes, and are eventually bailed out of trouble by their stronger, wiser dads. (In fact, they make a big point that Superman Jr.'s powers are only half those of his dad's, seeing as how he has a mortal mother.) It's pretty clear what the editorial tone of these stories are: give kids room to rebel -- a little -- but make sure they understand who's boss in the end.

In my favorite story of the collection, "The Shocking Switch of the Super-Sons," Bruce Jr. and Clark Jr. swap dads for a time, and then all four visit an encounter camp to "discover" themselves! The dialogue throughout all the stories is a hilarious pastiche of hipster/black dialect: Clark Jr. and Bruce Jr. never go more than a panel without proclaiming something "crazy" or "far out," or calling each other "baby," not to mention any nearby females "chicks" or "dolls." It's classic stuff.

The collection sort of comes out of left-field; I wonder what compels DC to release it now? I can't imagine that there's a huge audience for the book, outside of those with an ironic sense of nostalgia like myself. The book is nicely produced, with a beautiful Nick Cardy cover (was he was one of the all-time great cover artists, or what?!), and the addition of a couple of oddball Super Sons stories from the 80s & 90s (including one written by Bob Haney shortly before his death), as well as a cover gallery. But the one thing the book really needs is a foreword or introduction. The stories are just too weird to escape comment!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon April 22, 2008
In 1972, Bob Haney created a What If series for World's Finest, The Super-sons. In the future, DC comios would have their Otherworlds series of books. But in the sixties and the seventies, DC had Imaginary stories. In the 1970's, comics were simpler..There were no multi issue storylines nor crossover books

The idea of the Super sons roots had a basis in DC's comics Hawk and the Dove comic series. The idea of two brothers who had two methods in fighting crime. Here is also a generation gap of Fathers and sons. Standard fathers (Superman & Batman) vs their teenage sons who did it their way.

One cute thing about all these stories is you never saw the wives of Superman and Batman. Does it change anything, not really!

These chestnuts of the 70's which are all collected here is the good thing for fans who like syories bunched together. The bad thing about these stories is it is like popcorn.... once you read one, you read them all

This book is a collector showcase of a 70's kitch. For fans of Superman and Batman, this is a footnote in DC comics history. To most, its just another 1970 reprint collection on a nice stock all in one book.

I enjoyed having all the Super sons stories in one book. However, there are many other series DC comics could have reprinted and still haven't. The problem is this is what DC comics does, it does not reprint the weird or different..I wish some of the 1960'-70's titles would be collected. I want the Jerry Lewis and Bob Hope collections!

Bennet Pomerantz AUDIOWORLD
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 6, 2014
This book is only for those who want a fun way of wasting their time. The book is collection of elseworld stories about Clark Kent, Jr. and Bruce Wayne, Jr. travelling across america in search of "action" and "wild" adventures. While the stories are pretty dated with their lingo and most you could just replace the characters with their fathers, seriously, most of these stories could have been regular Batman and Superman stories, there's some fun to the stories being outdated and some are actually pretty good, like one about BMJ and SMJ partaking in an experiment on a tribe to see if man was born evil or good, with each hero helping the scientist that shares their opinion on the matter. If you're looking for a great, timeless story about the sons of Superman and Batman who are trying to break away from their protective fathers and set up their own identities in the super world, this book is not for you. If you want a dumb, fun collection of stories about the "hip" and "groovy" sons of Superman and Batman travelling across America on a motorcycle righting wrongs in the "hippest" way possible, this is the book for you.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on January 5, 2008
I remember loving these issues as a kid. The thought of Batman and Superman having kids and the kids not being perfect certainly hit home to a fat, shy teenager trying to fit in. I was excited about the chance to read them again. While the stories are still good, the dated dialog (nothing is more painful then adults trying to write hip) is tough to get past. I also would have liked an introduction or something that talked about why and how these stories were thought up. Some background would have been nice. Instead we just get the stories.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2014
DC could have done so much more with these characters. It was an interesting concept. Apparently half the company disliked it so it did not have much backing. Would have been better with a better writer. O'neil would have been great or any of the old Marvel writers at the time such as Wein, Conway, Englehart, etc.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2015
This is the whole series of the Super Sons it is a great book .I like this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on February 15, 2008
This is good entertainment. It is older material written when stories were completed in a single monthly. This makes it easy to pickup and read a story and go on. No history, no real connection to the DC Universe.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on July 8, 2013
Not as great as I remembered as a kid when it first came out.. Plus the copy I bought was not it the greatest shape..
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on January 14, 2008
This collection of related stories hails mostly from World's Finest from the 1970s. The advertisement I saw for this collection said it included a reprint of the destroyed, banned and elusive Elseworlds 80-Page Giant #1. That got me all excited and I ordered a copy. However, that's not the case; only one very short story is reprinted from the Elseworlds Giant. The shallow "generation gap" 70's stories are pretty much, if you've read one you've read them all and make for very repetitive reading. I feel pretty ripped off. This one Stinks!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
DC Greatest Imaginary Stories, Vol. 2: Batman & Robin
DC Greatest Imaginary Stories, Vol. 2: Batman & Robin by Bill Finger (Paperback - June 1, 2010)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.