Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars13
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$11.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 30, 2012
This is another great addition to the Sweet Tooth series. The story continues upon where the last book left off but a large portion of the book is a flashback in time to fill in a little of the back story about the mysterious illness and the hybrid children which are the subject of the earlier books. The flashback starts to answer some of the question that the author, Lemire, has to start answering to keep the attention of readers as the main story has begun to repeat somewhat. The end is in sight with this series and it will be fun to watch it unfold. If you liked the prior Sweet Tooth books then you will like this one as it continues to do what the other books did so well and the art style is still consistently beautiful but haunting.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2016
While the trip to 1911 is close to "Orientalism as applied to First Peoples" and Lemire obviously moves the landscape and cultural touch-towns to Canada, which he feels more comfortable, the back story was still interesting enough to keep me engaged with the series. The complications at the sanctuary where obviously and overly sign-posted for the reader, but it did allow for more development into the actions and mind of Jeppard. Gus's development here is beautiful and Lemire's strength for writing family dynamics comes into play. That said, if I had an "apocalyptic trope" counter, it would be ticked far too high. Lemire's strengths come through here though, and pick up on the experimentations with art and perspective that Lemire began in the prior volume. Compelling in the main, but not entirely ground-breaking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2013
I'm not usually a big fan of the graphic novel genre, but these combine the conventions of a graphic novel with those of film and literature and marry the three together quite well. The Sweet Tooth series is full of all kinds of surprising twists and turns that make them a compelling read that's hard to put down.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2012
Another volume Sweet Tooth is here and it's excellent like the rest of the series up to this point! If you've been reading up to this point I'm sure you'll enjoy it. The cause for the disease that's killed off the humans and left the hybrids is revealed and that's exciting. Similar to Y: The Last Man, the cause of the disease and why some are immune are interesting, but not the main focus. The characters still are, and in my opinion that's what has made this series great. Lemire is still writing great characters that tug at your heart strings and make you want to cheer them on at other points. Also, his work art is still the sketchy, raw style he usually utilizes (that I'm a huge fan of) and you can tell it's developing from volume to volume. The beginning was a little too wordy where Lemire provides several scripts from The Taxidermist's notebook to get an interesting glimpse at the character. But the text feels over abundant and feels like it disrupts the normal flow that Sweet Tooth has, slowing it down. While a nice touch, I believe it could have been edited down a bit. While not my favorite volume, Sweet Tooth vol 5 is awesome and I can't wait to see how Lemire wraps up Sweet Tooth in vol. 6!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon November 18, 2012
The first half of the book takes the story back to 1911 where a wealthy young Englishman goes in search of his brother-in-law who has disappeared after going to Alaska to spread the word of god to the native Eskimos. But what he finds in the snowy wasteland is the beginning of the end for humanity... Meanwhile back in the main storyline, Gus and Jepperd find out the real story behind the Evergreen Project.

The biggest problem I had with the book is in the first half of the book where it's revealed how the plague that wiped out most of humanity started and where it came from. I won't tell you what it turns out to be but it's really disappointing. I read it and thought - that's it? I was expecting something a bit more complex, a bit more innovative maybe, but not what it turns out to be. It was so disappointing it diminishes the entire series for me. Whereas once I was excited about the storyline and what Jeff Lemire might do with it, now I've seen more of the whole picture, I'm far less excited.

As for the rest of the storyline, it feels strangely gridlocked. For those who read Book 4, the focus remains in the dam. The one character in the book who tries moving the main plot forward gets pushed out of the story and instead the book focuses on all the secondary characters you don't care about who are now inexplicably dictating the series' direction.

Lemire announced earlier this year that the series ends on issue #40 which, as I write in November 2012, is the next issue to be published, so there's going to be a Book 6 and that's it. Reading Book 5, it feels like Lemire has totally run out of ideas. Both storylines in this book are badly written, poorly characterised, and plotted in a slapdash way. And the art by Matt Kindt is just horrible, the less said about this guy's work, the better.

The storyline with Gus and Jepperd is just as bad - the main storyline, of Gus following his dad's Bible to the location that reveals who he is, etc. goes nowhere in this book, sidetracked entirely by a pointless side story.

On a more general note, now that the series is wrapping up I can look back on the 5 books and say that Gus aka Sweet Tooth is a pretty poor main character. He's perpetually startled-looking, standing around reacting to things while his guardian Jepperd saves him from all manner of threats. He's probably the least involving main character of a comic book series ever created and I like and care about him less and less with each book. Lemire seems to sense Gus' passivity as he addresses it in this book but even so it's a token gesture that doesn't make up for 5 books of Gus more or less being a pawn pushed around by all the other characters.

Lemire's had a prolific year, "Unnatural Habitats" being his 5th book published in 2012 after DC's New 52 series' "Animal Man" and "Frankenstein", the Top Shelf-published "The Underwater Welder" and Book 4 of Sweet Tooth, "Endangered Species" - so maybe because he's stretched thin on so many projects, that's why the book feels so rushed and poorly put together, but still, for a penultimate volume this is weak stuff. Instead of ramping up the excitement and intrigue for a big finale Lemire manages to deflate the series with some uninspired plotting and feeble storytelling choices. "Unnatural Habitats" is a let-down for fans of the series and I have lowered expectations for the final book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2013
I picked up an issue of Sweet Tooth because I liked the cover artwork. Started reading it, bought it, and just had to get the story from the begining. the story line is sci fi, (hmmm...), and the characters are written well,you want to know how their lives unravel. the mystery surrounding the origin of the main character is a good part of the story for me. not all comics are of the lives and battles of superhero's. If you want scifi, suspense, mystery, like the good vs evil story line and appreaciate art, this is a really good series. some of the main characters are children and there are violent people in the story doing violent things, so I dont think i would have let my young son read this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2012
Years from now Sweet Tooth will be seen as one of the best comics of this era. This volume helps solidify its place thanks to the craft of Jeff Lemire. Highly enjoyable.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2013
Such a great series, so gripping and intense. You should get this if you like alternative comics, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2016
Sweet Tooth is such an amazing story. I definitely recommend checking it out if you haven't already.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2014
The back story we have all been waiting for!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.