Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon St Lucia easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars29
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$14.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Any good children's book worth its salt, will have excellent illustrations. This one does.

Second criteria for a children's book is that you, the adult, won't mind reading it over and over again.

Marla Frazee's whimsical illustrations are wonderfully captivating. It is that children's book that you and your little listener can look at over and over for a long time. Add to that, the story line is sweet and clever- Two dogs from the same litter live together, doing everything together until one day a squirrel wreaks havoc and both Boot and Shoe begin to chase that squirrel all over the yard. When the chase was over, Boot finds himself on the front porch and Shoe finds himself on the back porch. They search for each other on their respective porches and finally give up hope of ever seeing one another again. Until...

My two year old and three year old grandchildren loved reading this book with me, hunting for Boot and Shoe, tracing the squirrel chase all over the page.

If you love the Mr. Putter books by Cynthia Rylant, you will want to add this book to your collection.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2015
Boot and Shoe are as close as a pair of dogs can be (sleeping in the same bed, eating from the same dish) except for one thing. By day, Boot is a back porch kind of dog and Shoe is a front porch kind of dog, and that’s just the way they like it. Passing their time on their respective porches, the dog brothers have pretty good lives.

Enter the squirrel, a troublemaker who turns things upside down for the two confused pooches. When their daily routine is thrown into chaos, how will Boot and Shoe make things right again?

Caldecott Honor winner Marla Frazee has written and illustrated an adorable romp that perfectly captures the comedy of Boot and Shoe’s topsy-turvy situation. Her spare drawings are at once simple, expressive, and giggle-inducing—younger readers will eat them up!

40 pages. Recommended.

(This review originally appeared on abookandahug.com)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2014
After reading it to a few 1st grade classes, I had to buy the book for myself. The kids loved the humor and was touched by the heart of two dogs who loved each other. My students also loved hearing one word they thought they would never hear read in any library and it was used correctly. I might need more than 2 copies in each library to keep up with the demand. I lost count of how many students asked me where I got the book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 7, 2012
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Boot and Shoe are brothers. They live in the same house where they eat out of the same bowl, pee on the same tree and sleep in the same bed. But that's where the similarities end because, you see, Boot is a back porch kind of dog while Shoe is a front porch kind of dog.

And that's fine.

Until a pesky squirrel comes and turns everything upside down in Boot and Shoe (2012) by Marla Frazee.

When a squirrel turns around these two doggy friends, it makes for a long night as Boot and Shoe each stand vigil (on opposite sides of the house) waiting for the other to return. It makes for a long day and a longer night until one shared tree restores order.

Illustrated in Frazee's signature style, the breezy artwork compliments the quick pace of the story. The small color palette makes the illustrations stand out. With large spreads and smaller scenes throughout the layout remains interesting.

Just a little bit serious and quite silly Boot and Shoe is an endearing read about loyal friends. Although the story is broken into smaller pieces on each page there is still a lot of humor to found, making this book ideal to read aloud and certain to stand up to repeat readings.

Possible Pairings: Boy + Boy by Ame Dyckman and Dan Yaccarino, Bad Apple: A Tale of Friendship by Edward Hemingway, Forsythia & Me by Vincent X. Kirsch, The Monsters' Monster by Patrick McDonnell, Hooray for Amanda and Her Alligator by Mo Willems
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2013
I bought this book as a gift for my adult sister. It felt like it was us. With a sweet inscription it was the perfect gift. The story is cute and the illustrations are adorable.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2015
Great and cute kids book. I bought this book after my son checked it out at the library. He seems to really love the story of Boot and Shoe. He reads this everyday.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 3, 2012
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Boot and Shoe are two adorable fuzzy terriers with button noses. They are brothers and best friends. They do everything together, except during the daytime Boot hangs out on the back porch and Shoe hangs out on the front porch. Life is "exactly perfect" for them. Until one day a rascally little squirrel gets all up in the terriers' business and turns their perfect world upside down. After a raucous chase, Boot ends up on the front porch and Shoe lands on the back porch. They spend a long, painful night searching for each other. Frazee's pencil and watercolor illustrations add humor and drama to the puppies' predicament. To enhance your enjoyment of "Boot and Shoe", read aloud with a little one, laugh out loud, repeat.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
"Boot and Shoe were born into the same litter and now they live in the same house." And so the story begins. The art is engaging (although I thought these were two cats!). The story has a nice rhythm to it which young children will enjoy. "...Boots spends his days on the back porch, because he's a back porch kind of dog. And Shoe spends his days on the front porch because he's a front porch kind of dog. This is exactly perfect for both of them." Then a squirrel comes along and messes up the whole shebang. Boots and Shoe can't find each other, even though they're both at home. What a puzzler!

I don't want to spoil it for you, so enough said. Enjoy with your favorite child!
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2015
This is one of the best children's books ever, especially for dog lovers. Parents enjoy the story as much as the children.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2013
This is a wonderful children's book - It is entertaining for both children and adults. The pictures and text are funny.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.