Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Start French with the Michel Thomas Method
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it CaseLangVeirs Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars19
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$14.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 18, 2014
This hour long intro session is a whirlwind of language learning, and provides what is missing in many language classes--the instant gratification of making a few sentences on your own, and discussion of the similarities in languages that can help you figure out what is going on.

I normally listen to language lessons while commuting in my car, but this hour long lesson is much too intense to do anything else. The hour does hover on information overload, and I had to break it up into 3 twenty minute sessions and will probably need to repeat these a few times. However, MIchel Thomas is so engaging that I look forward to repeating the lesson (and already bought the Total French series). I can't say I ever looked forward to repeating a Pimsleur session (sorry Pimsleur, I love you but Excitement is not your middle name).

You won't be fluent at the end of an hour, but you will understand more words than the standard one hour lesson of hello, goodbye, thank you, excuse me, and please. This method does not focus on pronunciation. For practicing pronunciation, I like Pimsleur method. To get used to 'real life' French in 'real time' speeds, look on the internet for free videos called 'French in Action', created by Pierre Capretz.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2012
This is pretty much a repeat of CD1 and parts of CD2 of Total French. So if you already know for sure you wanna purchase the more advance titles of the series, you can skip Start French.

Now about the contents. Michel Thomas gives a 1 hr intro of his teaching style. There are two students in the classroom, and we are the third listener. He introduces us to common words and gives us a taste of the French grammar. He mixes up the sentences, using a variety of words, and we have the opportunity to pause the audio and try 'think it out' how to say the sentences. It's surprisingly easy to remember the phrases after a lot of repetition.

Very impressive of how much French you can learn in 1 hr. Definitely better than a classroom/lecture environment.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2012
This is immersion French. Really appreciate the way the author just jumps right in with French words and gives the student a sense of being confident that you can do it. Needs to be repeated several times to get the ease the students on the CD have. Will look for next level by this teacher for more depth.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2013
Michel's method makes learning easy.
The cd's bring you into his discussion group where you are taught everything from common phrases to complex conjugations. The intro tape leverages the French words you may know, "Comme si comme sa" and builds them into sentences that you can easily create-building your confidence immediately.
His teaching style insists there is no memorization and he provides thoughtful connections to support your quick learning; "the verb to go is 'aller' this is where the English work alley comes from."
You become part of the classroom experience with 2 other students; one that appears to be catching on quite well and the other that seems to require more support.
There are a few things to prepare for:
1. You need to be alone with no distractions-my daily commute worked well for me
2.You need to be able to "pause" your cd. He will ask you to translate a phrase and you need to pause to work through it. The tape does not grant you time to think.
3. Follow the process, don't rewind and go back. Michele will frequently press for you to remember items from previous tracks, keeping your learnings top of mind.
Heading to France in a month, I feel confident that I will be able to communicate and feel comfortable on my first trip to Paris!
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2016
Held off on buying this for over a year because we were using Rosetta stone for home schooling. I am so mad at myself for not getting this sooner. My kids were able to start basic sentences and were excited about learning after just using this starter CD. It requires just listening, no writing or books. Even I learned s few things about pronunciation a syntax and I have studied French for years and my husband is a native French speaker.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2015
This is just a very short introduction to the Michel Thomas method. I'd suggest you just go for the Total French program that includes these Start French lessons. It's an excellent system that will have you speaking French faster than you thought possible.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2015
I borrowed a copy of Michel Tomas (MT) French before I bought it. I have used different systems over the years to refresh and relearn French. I learn French in high school, and lived in France for a short while some decades ago. What I like most about MT is how he sets the lessons. He has a couple of students as tools for teaching. One is better than the other. He will drill the information as if you had a private tutor. I am a scientist, and enjoy learning languages in general. MT lessons include more than just learning sentence construction and vocabulary. The lessons include information about the origins of French and why French and English shared so much vocabulary. I am fluent in English and Spanish, so the language lessons blended in the French lessons have been entertaining and educational for me. I recommend MT method, and recommend you start a few months before you travel to a French speaking country. Best wishes learning or relearning French.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2013
Easy way to learn French! I love this method, it makes learning French fun...I want to be able to have the basics for a trip to France & this is a great way to learn French:)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2013
Great fun and easy to use. Was amazed and how quickly I was able to construct short simple sentences. Great technique and method.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2015
Michel Tomas's language lessons have been the most effective way to master sentence structure and begin speaking right away.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse