Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Children of the New World: A Novel of the Algerian War (Women Writing the Middle East)
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars10
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 27, 2015
More than a half-century after it was published, when its extraordinary author was only 26 years-old, this novel is as urgent and as timely as if it were written yesterday. Portraying the Algerian resistance to the French occupiers from a woman's perspective and from the ground up, this novel shines a harsh light on both the past and present sources of the Arab conflict with the West. Particularly in light of the Algerian roots of the Charlie Hebdo attackers in Paris.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2014
Very interesting book. Sometimes incoherent, but overall an enlightening experience. This book gives great insight into what it was like to live in Algeria during the revolution there. The cultural aspects are also quite fascinating. It's not a "quick, fun read," but it does make you think as it challenges your perceptions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2007
Assia Djebar's third novel is a transition to a work that served the Algerian nationalist cause but retained her romantic tone. The Afterward by Clarisse Zimra including interview with Djebar is invaluable.

Ruth Roded
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2014
I honestly found the storyline confusing and difficult to follow. This is probably because Djebar's method of characterisation is so different from that used in modern English literature - a combination of the elliptical and straightforwardly descriptive; and that combines with unfamiliar names and a general lack of dialogue, and frequently action, to demand a lot of the English reader. Indeed, the novel is shot through with the spirit of "tell don't show".

Where this novel works is not so much in its form as a novel, but rather in its vignettes and incidents which reveal the characters' inner lives and motivations. The "tell don't show" format works well, and speaks directly to the reader unfamiliar with the society of 1947 Algeria.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2016
Fantastic book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2015
Excellent!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2015
Great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2010
Much of the language in this novel beautiful, but other parts of the book failed to hold my attention.

I appreciated the handy chart of characters at the beginning of the book, showing how they relate to one another. I found that I referenced this often. But shouldn't the text of the novel itself do a sufficient job of explaining the relationships of characters to one another?

I felt as if I was taking a peak into someone else's world, and as quickly as I was invited in, I was cast out again, without any real resolution or deeper understanding.

The most redeeming qualities of this novel were style of the language and the emphasis put on the struggles and burdens on women in Algeria in the mid 1900s.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2010
a very poignant view into the lives of Algerians during the war of independence. very good translation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2014
Very confusing for someone who is unfamiliar with Algerian colonization. I had to read it for class. I would not recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.