Automotive Deals HPCC Shop Women's Clothing Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
14
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$29.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 11, 2014
This is a really good book for doctoral students to understand and prepare for their academic life. It covers many important aspects of being a faculty member in universities,such as getting published,applying for jobs,doing research,applying for research grants. Very useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2005
I was a little disappointed with the depth of the coverage given to the job-search process (probably because that's my main focus right now), but I still think that this book will come in very handy in the future. If you are a psychology major thinking about grad school, a psychology graduate student, or a psychology professor at the beginning of their career, this book has a lot of useful information. There are some missing data spots, but no book is perfect of course.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2013
The text is a good introduction for doctoral students, especially those interested in entering the world of academia later in their career. Understanding the ins and outs of how departments assess candidates in addition to "pearls of wisdom" for navigating the program and mentorship are valuable for the first-year to know going in regardless of their institution.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2006
This book is a must have for anyone in or considering a career in academia as a psychologist. It offers wonderful perspectives for what you should and should not do at all stages of your academic career. As a psychology grad student, I am recommending it to all of my peers. I could not be happier with this book. It is a wonderful source of professional guidance and inspiration.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2014
I bought this book for my wife, and she refers to it all of the time. She says it is very easy to use and is quite helpful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2009
The Compleat Academic: A Career Guide, holds a substantial amalgam of knowledge from experienced scholars to health practitioners. It is the sole source of reference that an adherent student of higher education must have in order to considerably prepare for future career as an academic, researcher, or clinician. It grants considerable details on how to be successful in academia, starting from pursuing a research-academic career immediately after completion of a doctoral degree or chase a post-doctoral position, to simply sustaining a profession in a research-focused university. I raise my chapeau to the authors and collaborators in compiling these untold secrets pertaining to throughout and following post-graduate degree.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2011
The content of this book is excellent and knowledge well understood by the author.
But the 1-star is for lack of appropriate Kindle set-up of this book: There is NO Table of Contents for navigation! This makes navigating this book awful, especially if you like to jump chapters. You have to flip pages constantly or use the slider to GUESS the beginning of a chapter. And the useless "screen count" never helps with this.
The fact that I paid MORE then the paperback version was the ultimate insult. I want my money back OR an updated version WITH a functional table of contents please!!
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2016
Just what i needed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2015
Very pragmatic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2013
Probably great for some. I bought it as a gift and my daughter has not got the time to read it. An audio version may have been better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse