Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon The Suffers Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$9.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon November 15, 2012
Format: PaperbackVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The story begins 25 years ago as the "Watcher" who likes to see the secret, private things that people did when they think they are alone is watching Harry in his dilapidated ranch. It is cold and Harry had to die according to the Watcher. He felt betrayed by Harry. He goes in and Harry wakes up so the Watcher is forced to stab Harry. He removes the body and sets the old house on fire.

It is now present day and someone who has been harassing Rachel Parker has painted in red "Leave town or die, you f___g whore" on her freshly painted white barn. Rachel hadn't been home in ten years or so when she returned to Westbury in northeastern Pennsylvania. She suspects it is her brother-in-law who might be doing it. He is married to her younger sister Sarah and they have two little girls. Troy is a drunk and a very mean one!

Rachel gets a call from her sister Sarah to come pick up Sarah and her daughters as Troy is drunk and going after Sarah. Rachel also calls 911 on her way giving them Sarah's address. Mike O'Connell, Westbury's chief of police, is surprised to find Rachel holding Troy in an arm bar! Sarah is on the floor knocked out and the girls hiding.

Without giving away anymore, this is a fascinating and suspenseful story that will keep the reader guessing as to what person is the Watcher and why they want Rachel out of the way or worse! The romance is also nicely done and not over-the-top.
0Comment52 of 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 6, 2012
Format: PaperbackVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Normally, my wife and I have a very different taste in reading material--not so when it comes to author Melinda Leigh's first three novels. Although I pre-ordered "She Can Tell," due to hit the book store shelves in December 2012, I canceled that order in favor of an Advanced Reader's Copy offered under the amazon.com Vine Program. When it arrived my wife got to it first and loved it.

While my wife categorizes "She Can Tell" as a murder mystery with an undercurrent of romance, like "She Can Run" and "Midnight Exposure," I would classify it as a strong suspense thriller that contains some romantic erotica.

Regardless of how this author's work is labeled, her writing skills are first rate. She grabs the reader from the onset with vivid and mesmerizing action creating twists and turns that grips readers and keeps them guessing.

During the quick start that occurred twenty-five years in the past, Harry Boyle becomes the unsuspecting first victim of a familiar person who becomes a mysterious serial killer introduced to the reader as "the watcher."

Fast forwarding to the present, Sarah Mitchell is on a panic stricken telephone call with her sister, Rachel Parker pleading with her to rescue her at home with her two little girls from her drunken violent abusive husband, Troy who is about to beat her mercilessly.

Rachel a protective, self-reliant, petite yet tough equestrian intervenes regardless of threats and peril.

Following Troy's arrest for domestic violence, powerhouse tough, competent and workaholic Police Chief Mike O'Connell's job is threatened by Troy's father, Vince Mitchell a wealthy and powerful businessman and Westbury Pennsylvanian town councilman who uses his influence to bring pressure on Mike to release his son.

Neither Rachel nor Mike want any kind of romantic relationship and fight attractive urges to maintain their independence and concentration on their jobs while the cunning "Watcher" and other dangerous characters and forces seek to destroy Rachel and Mike in the process.

This was a captivating, engaging and thoroughly entertaining read that I categorically recommend it to those who like a mesmerizing suspense thriller with a bit of spice!

Enjoy!
1414 comments36 of 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2012
Format: PaperbackVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Rachael Parker is trying to rebuild her life after a serious accident ended her riding career. She has returned to the family farm she inherited in the Poconos and is trying to make a business of training horses, but someone doesn't want her on the farm. Her sister Sarah is also having problems. Her husband, Troy, is drinking too much and has become abusive.

Police Chief Mike O'Connell becomes involved with the sisters' problems when he answers a domestic violence call and meets Rachael who tried to protect her sister. Mike is drawn to Rachael from the first moment, but she's prickly and he's still blaming himself for failing to stop a serial killed from almost killing a friend's fiancé.

The setting in the book is interesting, but I would have liked to see more of the horse farm operation. The Poconos are beautiful mountains. I think the author could have used them to increase the ambiance of the story.

I wasn't impressed with the characters. Both Rachael and Mike are agonizing about their pasts. It gets old after awhile, particularly since it seems to occupy a good portion of their thoughts.

The plot was much to easy to figure out. The Watcher is supposed to add an eerie element to the story, but very quickly we figure out who he is and why he wants to kill Rachael. Because it's so easy to figure out, I thought the novel went on too long with not much new happening.

I didn't read the first book, "She Can Run," but I don't think it's necessary to understand the present events. The author brings them up constantly. At some point, you just want to tell Mike to get over it.

If you like romantic thrillers, you may enjoy this book, but I can't recommend it highly.
22 comments25 of 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 17, 2012
Format: PaperbackVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Rachel Parker returns to her childhood farm after a serious accident has left her unable to continue her riding career. What she does not realize (she thinks of it as a nightmare) is that as a child she witnessed a killer as he was disposing of his victim's body. Now, 25 years later, Rachel is trying to teach riding lessons and take care of her younger sister who is a victim of domestic abuse. The killer, known as "the watcher" tries to scare Rachel away by vandalizing her farm. Thus enters Police Chief Mike O'Connell who is determined to protect Rachel and falls in love with her while doing it. The characters in the book are developed well and the best part is you really don't know who "the watcher" is until the very end of the book. Mix in a little hot romance and this a great book.
11 comment18 of 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2013
I appreciate the talent and work an author puts in to bring me entertainment, however I can't sugarcoat or mislead. It was a major effort to force myself to finish because I felt like something interesting was bound to happen. There was a 'mystery' to solve but about midway in it was pretty easy to figure. I felt like the book couldn't decide whether to be a mystery or a romance and usually combining the two makes a decent book. This time it felt like a giant cavern. The characters were not great. The lead female Rachel was not likable and the requisite 'cop' savior was boring. I think the best way to sum the book up is to think of it as a typical Lifetime movie - a really boring one.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 11, 2012
Format: PaperbackVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Rachel Parker is a beautiful high-spirited woman who left home to get away from her dysfunctional family. She is very attractive and independent until an unthinkable accident occurs.

After a riding accident ends Rachael's career and almost take her life she is forced to return home to Pennsylvania and try and rebuild her grandfather's horse farm. Unfortunately, not everyone is happy to see her return and the "Watcher" wants to see that she is not around long. There are acts of vandalism that are not accidents, as well as property damage, fires and almost losing her life in a freak type accident that very few people would know about.

Rachael along with the help of the Police Chief are realizing that these are definitely life threatening incidents to silence and hopefully kill her.. Rachel has kept some secrets stored inside her memory from when she is a little girl and is now wondering if these were true or just fantasy. Someone wants to take Rachel's life so no body will find out the truth.

During the investigation process Chief of Police Officer Mike O'Connell seems to be taking more then an interest in solving the crime but he is becoming emotionally and physically involved with Rachel and cannot seem to separate work from his feelings towards her. He has never felt this way before and is willing to leave the force to find the killer and also to protect Rachel, as he is growing more involved with her each day.

If you enjoy mystery, suspense and some hot passion all in one then this is the book for you. I had never even heard of Melinda Leigh before, but take it from me once you get hooked on this book you want be able to put it down and will be wanting to read more and more of her books. She is a great new writer and one not to miss
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2015
The story begins 25 years ago. The "Watcher" watches people with evil intent--when they think they are unobserved--undress and more.

Then we cut to the present day and someone has been harassing Rachel Parker. She wakes to find her white barn has a graffiti message painted in red "Leave town or die, you f.....g whore."

We learn that Rachel inherited her grandfather's property and returned to live there in to her home town in Westbury in Pennsylvania while she heals from a bad horseriding injury.

Rachel is trying to teach riding lessons and take care of her younger sister who is a victim of domestic abuse. Things escalate when someone leave dead animals for her to find, vandalizes her farm and a dead body is found.

Police Chief Mike O'Connell is determined to protect Rachel but as things go from bad to worse with added pressure of protesters at the Hidden Lake and bodies turning up. The Chief is asked to hand in his badge by the Mayor because he has a conflict of interest. He has fallen for Rachel even though he swore to himself that he would steer clear of any relationships after his first wife dumped him.

I didn't know who "the watcher" was until the very end of the book. Mix in a little hot romance and this a great book. The characters in the book are well developed and interesting.
O
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2012
Another great suspenseful novel full of multiple story lines that all converge together with a great supporting cast in a small northeastern Pennsylvania town.

Rachel Parker has returned home 7 years after running away. She has come back to try and turn her grandfather's farm into a horse training and breading business after her career ended after being thrown from a horse. Not long after arriving bad things start happening on the ranch. An attempted break in and threatening messages painted on her barn. She just assumes they are from her brother in law who has turned into a mean abusive drunk. She is also suffering from guilt for just leaving town after her mother's funeral which in her eyes forced her sister to marry young to get away from their father. After getting a call from her sister to come and get her and her kids and rescue them from him she ends up having to fight for her life after finding her sister beaten and unconscious. She is rescued by the Police Chief Mike O'Connell. They are both blindsided by their attraction but carry a lot of baggage that prevents either from acting on it at first.

Mike still carries guilt for not catching a serial killer that had lived right under is nose. This guilt has has turned into an insane need to protect his town, and there are many weird things going on in town. When his growing feelings for Rachel turns into a conflict of interest and bring him under the radar of some corrupt city council members , one of which who wants to get him fired, he has to decide what's more important.

There are multiple mysteries going on at the same time that all converge by the end of the book. The author does a great job of keeping your interest in all of these and wondering what is really going on. There was also a greater sense of camaraderie with the town in this one. Lots of great secondary characters and we get to see how Jack and Elizabeth from the first book are doing. I am looking forward to many more books from this author.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: PaperbackVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Melinda Leigh, the author of this easy to read suspenseful book sold more than a hundred thousand copies of her debut novel "She Can Run." This is her second book. Readers who enjoy mixing genres, crime tales with romance, will enjoy it. The book tells about several brutal acts and an attraction between a short, early thirty year old, beautiful woman and a tall, early forty year old, rugged, handsome cop.

Some twenty five years ago, when Rachel Parker was young, an unidentified angry man killed Harry. Now, after being gone from her family farm for some time, Rachel returns to work her Pennsylvania farm alone. She is hiding something that occurred to her in the past. Someone begins to vandalize her property and leaves threatening messages, ordering her to leave. She is also attacked. She has no idea who is doing these things or why.

Making matters worse is her younger sister's husband, Troy, a drunk who has begun to beat her and throw her down stairs. Troy says that his wife tripped down the stairs because she is clumsy. His father is a member of the local counsel and is able to control the town mayor who controls the police. Thus it is difficult if not impossible to stop Troy from mistreating his wife. Troy hates Rachel because he feels that she is interfering in his marriage. Rachel feels guilty that she somehow caused her sister to marry this brutal man.

Police Chief Mike O'Connell investigates the vandalism in Rachel's farm. Both Rachel and Mike feel an immediate intense attraction for each other. Mike wants to help Rachel but she is high-spirited and self-reliant and wants no help. Troy certainly hates Rachel, but is he involved in the vandalism and attacks against her? Or are these events somehow connected to what occurred twenty-five years ago? Or are they related to the secret that Rachel refuses to reveal?
22 comments5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 30, 2012
Format: PaperbackVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
She Can Tell is a page-turner. (However, I'm puzzled as to how this title applies to the story.) I read it every second I had available. I didn't jump to the back to see "who done it." It was fast paced enough that I couldn't spare the time to do that. I was too busy seeing what would happen next. It was artfully done so though I had my suspicions, I didn't figure out everything before I got to it. This author is very good at her craft. I could have done without the earthier moments in the book that really did not advance the plot. And I could have done with way fewer of the hero's and heroine's thought processes about how "hot" the other one was. Some of them were just corny and some of them really didn't jive with the characters' personalities. But none of that detracted from the momentum of the story about an injured horse trainer who is being stalked and the police chief who tries to protect her while they figure it all out. Outstanding story! I will look for this author again.
11 comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.