Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon King easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$11.66+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 13, 2013
An interesting mecha series mixed with a little bit of space opera. Not a lot of action in the first volume, and some of characters feel a little flat, especially the main character. I'm interested in seeing if Nihei develops them any further. The art is gorgeous and as usual for Nihei, absolutely filled with mindbogglingly huge structures, inhuman bizarre monsters, and relatively lifeless un-distinct faces.

The quality of the Book itself is great, the cover is not cluttered and the printing and binding is acceptable. Though the book itself is slightly smaller in dimensions than many of my other Manga, though it's not dramatic enough to really be a con.
0Comment5 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2013
I've been a Tsutomu Nihei fan since Blame! and have been collecting whatever I can from him. Knights of Sidonia (Sidonia no Kishi) has its own flow despite a few similarities to Blame! and it's well worth buying if you're a fan of Nihei's cyber-punk style.

On a side note, I am praying omnibus editions of Blame! will be made in the near future because the price of some single volumes are INSANE!!
22 comments3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2015
The story isn't engaging and it is confusing to follow. I found myself
scratching my head and wondering at what exactly was going on.
I bought this manga, and Knights of Sidonia, volume 2 together.

While as the initial concept was indeed interesting, it is nothing unheard
of, and nor was the story's execution done well- at least, as far as I can tell
from reading this one volume.

I shall read volume 2 this week, and update my review of this volume if need be.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2014
I began this manga after watching the first season of the anime and I must say that it is great! Moments in the manga that I wish were in the anime are funny, sad, and emotional. Highly recommended
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2014
Knights of Sidonia is an interesting start with volume 1. An intriguing world set up and fairly detailed art make for an enjoyable read. Definitely interested in reading more about the horrifying alien race and the last set of humans.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2014
Started off a bit slow but got interesting once Izana was introduced. Has nice robot action however its best art is with the humans. Nihei does great characters that are easy to become attached to. I can't wait to see more.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2014
i decided to try this on the kindle. i wasn't sure if i'd like a manga on the kindle and i've decided i'd prefer manga in paperbound form better. the times when pictures extend across the gutter are when the kindle shows its shortcomings the most.

regarding the story, i love the concept. the execution left a little bit to desired, there was a bit too much left to assumption or for the reader to infer or outright guess what was going on.

regarding the art, it's great and translates well onto the kindle (aside from previously mentioned gripes).

i'll re-buy this in paperbound and continue the series in paperbound.

a REAL treat is watching the series anime. search it out, probably the best anime i've seen in years
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2014
This is one of the best story-driven mangas on the market. The style of art, creative storytelling, and engrossing narrative full of rich character development are very likely to suck in any reader of manga. The manner in which h the author draws in readers with a strong emotional investment in the characters, some of which are only around for a chapter or two. You will find yourself getting used to one set of characters and suddenly and unexpectedly have one ripped from you, creating a vacuum of feeling that will make you wonder why you bothered to begin to attach yourself. This is an absolute treasure and I would recommend 10/10.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2015
Nice to see the anime follows the manga - though the drawing seems a little chaotic at times.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2015
Excellent HQ. Exciting, with very nice graphics! However, the TV series is coolest.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.