Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Nothing But Thieves All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Amethyst Jewelry Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 16, 2011
A long time ago, an organization called the Dutch East India Company controlled much of the global spice trade. One of their most prized items of trade was Nutmeg. It was so valuable in fact, that if one were to steal a nutmeg from a storage facility or even freshly plucked... the penalty was death. Thanks to persevering horticulturists, nutmeg and other closely guarded spices were freed from their tropical island locations and found their way onto the tongues of those who weren't royalty or at least rubbed elbows with them.

Why the heck do you care? Because the good folks at Kellogg's decided to liberally sprinkle the stuff all over Cracklin' Oat Bran after first adding brown sugar, cinnamon, coconut and vanilla. Nutmeg is a traditional add-in for oatmeal with some cinnamon so it's easy to see why they gave it a shot. The result however is a classic "greater than the sum of its parts." The mix of ingredients is perfect. Don't get thrown by the Bran right in the product name... YES there's 6g of fiber in every 2 ounces or so but there's also lots of sugar and palm oil. While it's not technically health food, the balance does work. The only way I could describe the taste would be an oatmeal cookie mixed with a nature valley granola bar mixed with a macaroon and sprinkled with magic... but better.

I don't even bother to put milk on this. It's the only cereal I eat dry but it's just too good to get all soggy.
33 comments39 of 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2011
Crackin' Oat Bran is a cereal of legendary status. It can cure the most distressing problems with a single morsel. The taste is like no other food known to man; as a result of eating this cereal, you will not have taste for other foods.

It stays crunchy in milk.
11 comment32 of 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2013
This cereal is loved by freakin' everybody. Like, seriously. I once found the lost city of El Dorado--turns out it was Cracklin' Oats. I would recommend trying it in soup. Also great for pool parties.
0Comment15 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2011
This is the best cereal money can buy.
if you can get it for $3 a box, that's a great deal.
Any less is a steal. Don't bother buying unless its less than $4 a box.
0Comment13 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2013
This cereal is almost too good. Look it up on the internet where you'll find it referred to as "Cracklin Crack Bran" because it's so friggin tasty you can't stop eating it.
Despite it's looks, it's not really good for you from a calories per serving perspective. The boxes are quite small, so you'll want at least 1 or 2 cases (10 to 20 boxes) of the stuff for the first week. Don't forget to put aside additional money for an entire new wardrobe as well. :)
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2012
I love this cereal, and it is so expensive at the grocery store...usually between $5 & $6 a box. This was a great deal from Amazon, and it should last me a while. One thing I noticed was that the expiration dates are all far enough away that I'll actually get to eat it all before it gets stale.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2014
When you look for oat bran cereal, it's not because oat bran is the most delicious thing in the world. It's because it's healthy. Well, the folks at Kellogg's will pull a fast one on you if you don't pay attention to the details.

This is one of the most delicious cereals I've had, but when you break down the calories and the ingredients, it's not as healthy as you want it to be. I don't have the exact numbers on hand, but one standard serving (which tends to be less than the amount that people actually eat) is ~200 calories. Not to mention that they add all this fancy stuff like vanilla, coconut, nutmeg, cinnamon, and brown sugar (which is not bad for you, but just goes to show that there is a lot going on with this cereal. It's not as plain as you'd think)

If you are not trying to lose weight, and don't mind maintaining or gaining a bit of weight, then I highly recommend this cereal. Otherwise, I would do a search on "Nature's Path" cereal, which has a line of cereals that are also very delicious but very low on the calories (those avg. ~100 calories for the same size serving as this one)
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2012
This cereal has been a family favorite since it was first invented. Unfortunately it's a little more expensive than most cereals so that's why it merits 4 rather than 5 stars, but it's also much tastier than most cereals, and there's a lot of good fiber in it -- you can eat a smaller bowl of this and feel full.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2013
I have tried every cereal on the shelf, this is my favorite, ordered online because not everyone handles it. Would not be able to eat breakfast every morning without Cracklin Oat Bran. The others are too plain.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2012
This is a favorite cereal for my family. It doesn't last very long around here! We eat it with milk or just by the handful. Great for breakfast or just a snack. We can't get enough of it!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.