Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Baume & Mercier Men's 8688 Classima Executives Automatic Silver Dial Watch
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Billy Talent Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 10, 2011
I have had this exact same model for over a year and a half and have had ZERO trouble with it. Baume, does NOT by any means, make a cheap and shoddy product, contrary to what other Amazon users suggest. The look is fantastic with the exposed balance wheel and it is a very elegant piece that people who knows watches notice. The movement is top quality as Baume is owned by the Richmont group who also owns Cartier, IWC, Piaget, A. Lange & Sohne, and Panerai. These are not crappy watches, but a great piece with a great portfolio behind it
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2014
The Classima 8688 is a classic watch with fantastic movement. It is an eye-catching piece that will get noticed because of its visible balance. The hands are a nice shade of blue that contrasts nicely against the white face of the watch. The automatic movement is smooth and mesmerizing. The piece comes with a sharp brown alligator strap. Once set, the watch maintains accuracy

The only slight negative is the watch does not provide the date, which would've been useful.

Overall, you will not be disappointed by this purchase. Macy's tried to sell this watch at a 50% premium to what it is going for at Amazon. Additionally, at some other online retailers, it was sold at a 100% premium!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2015
This watch is out of order in 10 month.
I can see a free screw under window.
Look at a picture.
review image
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2014
Having been a loyal Baume et Mercier watchowner since circa 1999, I have had the privilege of being familiar with this high quality brand. In addition, I am up on movements as well as other high end timepiece attributes. This Classima is very aesthetically pleasing, has a nice weight, and possesses the unique features one seeks at this particular price point. The apertures, blued-hands, deployment clasp with leather strap are all synergistically elegant and functional. The only two minor drawbacks I could assess were the following: no screw down crown(a bit difficult to hand wind) and its movement was slightly louder than anticipated. All in all truly well done.
review image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2015
I have to admit, I was very skeptical when I ordered this watch in11/2014. The price was excellent, but I worried bout quality. I wanted to wait awhile until to post my review since I do not wear it everyday (although one could without a problem). It arrived with all of its paperwork (except that the warranty card is not signed by the shop) and it is an exceptional, wonderful, authentic B&M timepiece! The clasp is great, one of the reasons I purchased it. The watch is really elegant. The hands are deep blue and appear 'bluer" in the proper lighting, and that is another nice detail. I chose this model without the date since it is not an everyday watch for me, it would be annoying having to keep updating the date. You will enjoy this timepiece.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2011
I have many Swiss Watches and wanted an understated but elegant watch. This is very accurate for a automatic watch. Some watches have movements that are unseen, some with movements that are seen on the back of the watch only and some are seen on the front of the watch which are very busy and cover the complete front. This watch has a movement that is seen but does not overwhelm the front of the watch. A great everyday watch and dress watch.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2015
This is a beautiful timepiece. There's no mistake about it. The movement is mesmerizing, the feel on the wrist is superb. The accuracy; however, is to be desired. I have an Ebel Sportwave (battery powered, Swiss movement) and a Citizen EcoDrive (light powered, Quartz movement.) I started looking into this watch 10 days ago and at the same time decided to check the accuracy of the watches I owned. After ten days the Ebel gained half a second or so, the EcoDrive gained a second. In the 12hrs I've owned the Baume & Mercier, it's lost 15 seconds.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2015
Easily the best watch I've ever owned. It's classic without being flashy. The little window affords the appropriate amount of viewing for the inner-workings of the movement without being overwhelming. The alligator skin band and double deployant clasp really speak to the overall quality of the watch, which is phenomenal. The pictures don't do it justice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2014
The first time in the United States to Amazon, products are genuine price is good, very happy to buy their favorite watch, will often patronage
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2015
Beautiful watch at a fantastic price on Amazon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.