Automotive Deals Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro STEM

Price:$19.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 11, 2012
This is a 14 inch compass, or at least that is what I was sent. By pushing it to the limits I am able to draw a 13 inch circle, but just barely. I would have given it 5 stars if the rod had actually been 16 inches. It seems like a good product and a good value for the price. It's just not as long as it says it is, and therefore limiting for what I wanted to do with it. You can draw 12 or 12.5 inch circles with ease with this and without losing stability. Above that is questionable.
33 comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2013
Awesome design, but cheaply produced. The bar is completely round making the clamp (which is cheap plastic) easily rotate around making it hard to use. Tightening the clamp too hard strips the screw out of the plastic.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2013
I have been making some round lazy susans and this tool works great for layout. Works well up to 24" diameter circles. It is much prefered to bow type compasses for these larger layouts. Only knock on this tool is that you can get the tip out of line with the pencil since the slide is round. Overall, great tool.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2013
There aren't any fiberglass parts on this tool, which is actually a good thing in my opinion. The rod portion (which I assumed would be fiberglass) was actually an aluminum tube, which both the other parts can be disconnected from. My favorite feature is the ability to take the rod out and replace it with another length of rod, so I can use this for really any size circle.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Great tool. Easy to use. The smallest circle it lets you do is 5 3/4" diameter - the mechanism keeps the tip and pencil from getting much closer than just under 3" apart. It is very light weight. Any normal pencil can be used. I would have liked some type of a cover for the tip (or even a cheap plastic case) so it could be thrown into a toolbox without worry of damage.

The packaging is that terrible clamshell slice your finger to bits plastic stuff. That packaging should be outlawed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2012
First--rod is not fiberglass it aluminum
Second--rod is not 16 inches. If you need anything larger than a 13 inch radius this will not work. I know the discription says 16".
I will keep it but whats discribed is not what you will get.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2011
Bostitch does it again. I'm an ironworker and professional fabricator. This is a grat product for a very modest price. It is built solid so you don't have to worry about damage to much. The pencil holder allows you to use many other marking utensils instead of just a pencil. All in all a great product.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2013
I needed to draw a 24" circle. This tool accomplished the task. It will accept different diameter pencils, etc.. Not a heavy duty tool for every day use, but perfect for once in a while use.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2013
The concept of this compass is good. The aluminum barrel is rigid and moving and locking the metal pin in place is quick and easy. BUT, build quality is very poor. The metal pin is poorly molded into the plastic slide and it wobbles all over. It is impossible to scribe out a true circle with this thing.

Pass this up and go for a nice all metal compass instead.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2013
This is a excellent tool. I love to draw it's extremely difficult to make perfect large 360 degree circles. This tool makes it easy to do so. The pencil can easily be replaced with a pen or marker. This tool would be helpful for woodworkers not just artist. I highly recommend it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.