Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Thrustmaster Ferrari F1 Wheel Add-On for PS3/PS4/PC/Xbox One
Safety Month BOTMKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Adele The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 28, 2012
Needless to say, this is an expensive "add-on" but still well worth it if you play Formula1 a lot and have some some spare change lying around. The firmware in the wheel has to be updated in order for the housing to recognize the wheel. The download worked exactly as described and the wheel functions normally. Far and away, the most significant feature of this wheel is the fact that the paddle shifters rotate with the wheel like every other wheel on the market (with the exception of the T500RS). I also discovered a feature not frequently talked about but true to actual F1 wheels ..... you can actually upshift and downshift with either paddle. If you configure the game to upshift with the right paddle and downshift with the left (customary) you can downshift with the right and upshift with the left by pushing the paddles forward instead of pulling them towards you. It may not sound like much but it can free one hand while you answer the phone or take a sip of coffee and still being able to up and down shift when needed with the remaining hand. The large rotary dials in the center section are non-functional and are visual esthetics only. The push buttons, toggle switches and two rotary thumb-wheels provide all the functions normally programmed by any game. Some people have complained about the buttons being hard to access while driving but this is a subjective perspective. It feels difficult at first, especially if you are switching from a wheel with the buttons closer, but after a couple days of racing, they fall into place accordingly. Same can be said for the D-Pads .... they are smaller and stiffer and feel different, but they just require getting used to them, that's all. Also, and very importantly, the GT wheel and the F1 Ferrari wheel can be switched out with each other in about 30 seconds once you've done it once. The wheel comfort isn't as good as the GT wheel but nothing to be concerned about.

UPDATE .... one of the toggle switches failed within 6 months. It wasn't like it failed to the point where it wasn't operational, it shorted out somehow in a way that affected nine other buttons on the wheel. When I contacted Thrustmaster they made me provide a video uploaded to their server with the unit connected to their online control panel in order to prove to them that it was indeed defective. Then I had to pay shipping cost to return it to their service facility in Montreal. Apparently, it wasn't a simple matter of replacing the toggle switch as they sent me a complete new wheel about 2.5 weeks later. Still I'm removing one star for the defect and difficulty that I had in getting the issue resolved.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2011
The wheel is made completely out of plastic. For 200 dollars you expect better materials. All center gages are fake. The five supposed buttons around the center ferrari gage are stikers. Over all don't buy. A waste of money, the original wheel attached to the t500 is of better quality. Hope this helps.
55 comments|80 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2012
I bought this wheel because the shifter in my regular TM T500RS was shifting two gears at the time. The process to get this fixed was painfully long with many e-mail exchanges. It took me at least a month and one half to get the original TM T500RS wheel's shifter fixed. So, in the mean time I bought the F1 adder so that I could continue playing. The bad thing is that after six or seven months of owning this F1 adder it too developed a shifting problem. The shifting mechanism has lost its "click" when I shift gears and it sometimes misses shifts. Very frustrating! Because of the numerous problems I have encountered with TM customer services department and the apparent products' sub-par quality, or in some cases, poor design of some key components, I have decided to throw these toys in the trash and I will be buying other brands that may not perform as well when playing but at least they will last a reasonable lenght of time! Read more reviews under the TM T500RS wheel to see othe problems with TM.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2012
Why would this be a collector piece if the dials are not real and it really serves no purpose other than having the little Ferarri horse on it? Stupid if you ask me. Parts of it are metal, but it is still a plastic piece of junk. I certainly would expect more for the money they want for it. At least my porsche wheel is real like the real thing.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2014
This was a huge disappointment. the rotary selectors at the top left and right are pretty cool but the fake multiple position switches are just embarrassing (Red, purple, black, white, orange)! They are the quality of a kids toy at the dollar-store. They are just molded raised bumps in the plastic with no definition and cheap stickers for the numbers. The middle logo thingy is also functionless and cheap looking. The buttons aren't the quality ones found on the F458 wheel and the switches at the bottom are very home made looking and feeling. I would have been embarrassed to be the guy who presented this to the F1 team as pictures show on the net. The hand position is good though, and it is fun for formula car racing but the wheel motor could use some sort of adjustment for the PS3 as you can't always turn enough. This wheel though is HUGELY overpriced for the total lack of quality you get! I will still keep it though.... So, if you are a F1 fan you still would like to have it...
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2014
This is a great rim for those who really enjoy Formula 1 racing or really racing any other open wheelers. Can't quiet explain how but it does make it a little more exciting and thrilling. Really makes a difference in the immersion level going from a round wheel to this when using the appropriate cars, but the rim isn't perfect, and here's why.

- Buttons could be better, can't explain it but they just don't feel "right".
- Be nice if the 5 switched (don't know what the proper term is) actually worked.
- The paddle shifters actually have too loud of a click for my preference.
- Would be nice to have a different grip on this rim, it's just really smooth rubber that makes ur hands sweat like crazy, much prefer the grip texture on the GTE rim.
- Would look better if the center had a carbon fiber laminate or looked like carbon fiber at least instead of brushed steel in my opinion.
- Lastly a digital working tachometer would be stunning for this wheel

Overall it still gets a 4/5 since most of my cons where personal preference, or something that may not even be logical but was worth mentioning.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2016
My son wanted this wheel to complete his thrustmaster set up with the Servo box and pedals. He loves this wheel and all the many buttons and gadgets on it. He uses the pedal shifters for now because he doesn't yet have a gear shifter. It works and feels very realistic. Its easy to remove it from the Servo box and switch it with another wheel or just to box it up and put away until he wants to play with it again.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2016
Let face it the F1 wheel looks incredibly cool and you know you must touch it, hold it, feel it. You read the reviews and know its lightweight plastic and feels cheap out the box. The decals are simply stuck on and not even sealed. The dials are raised plastic and like the center piece do nothing. Other than views and a few others I would never use them anyways. Yet still just like me you stare and MUST have it. So get it over with and buy it like I did. Good- All the above is true but once attached it feels solid and substantial. It really does add to the F1 sensation of driving the cars,transfers FFB well and my lap times were better.Also a bonus the shape gives you better clearance underneath for your legs.

Now the negatives other than the above mentioned cosmetic and cost reduction measures. IMO the stock wheel that came with the Ps4 T300RS feels much better on long races. Less hand strain and easier on the skin. The F1 is very hard rubber and while feels fabulous at first is not as comfortable and because of its specific F1 shape does not have as many way to hold it. As a second wheel for F1 immersion,get it. As your dedicated rim for all cars, the standard shaped are best. Imo the F1 wheel should retail for around $75-$100 for what you get. For $150 TM cut to many cosmetic corners.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2014
I chose Thrustmaster over Fanatec because I heard Thrustmaster had superior customer service. That was a mistake. Buttons on this wheel are poor at best. Sent email to Thrustmaster, after several attempts finally heard back asking to make a video which I did and now after several more attempts still have not received a response. Common problem with this wheel is the paddle shifters, tact switch is rated at 100K cycles. If your handy you can replace them yourself. Replace it with Omron part number B3F-5050 or 5051 if you want Gold plated. Rated at 10M cycles. I plan on selling all of my Thrustmaster junk and buying Fanatec.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2015
Great add on for my TX racing wheel. I play F1 2015 on Xbox1 and it works pretty good. The buttons are laid out very ergonomically and you can remember where they are without looking.

Edit: The only complaint I have is with the rotary knobs. While playing F1 2015 I like to change my brake bias, and fuel settings a lot. Its really tricky with these knobs. Using the D-Pad was much faster but you cant reach it with your thumb on this wheel.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 33 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.