Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: eForCity Micro USB OTG to USB 2.0 Adapter Cable
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Adele Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Price:$4.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

===========
UPDATE #3 - AMAZON is lumping several sellers of this product with this single review thread. THAT IS A REALLY BAD IDEA because some sellers are shipping products that DO match the Amazon product photo and some are shipping inferior bad-fitting versions that DO NOT match the photo and either DO NOT WORK or just fit poorly and barely work. Since product quality varies so much, to be useful, reviewers really should state their seller's username in reviews.
===========
UPDATE #4 - Great news - there is now a $2 Android app called Nexus Media Importer that lets you view/listen to your USB media files without "rooting" your Nexus 7 tablet. It works great. I have a short review with images at LasValley702 forums.
===========

First, the "only" good news - shipment from this seller "Crazy-Stores" from Hong Kong was quick. This one arrived several days ago and an identical one bought from a different Amazon seller "Warm Mart" ordered on the same day still has not arrived. I will note that the shape of and markings on the received micro-USB OTG adapter do NOT match the seller's Amazon product photo.

The micro-USB plug on this adapter will not make electrical contact with the Google Nexus 7 tablet because it will not insert fully into the N7's USB port (bad fit or poorly made, your choice). If I wedge something between a USB keyboard case I bought for the N7 and N7's USB port, the keyboard will work BUT constant pressure must be maintained or it will not. BTW, wedging something against the N7's USB port is just not a good idea and could eventually damage it. So, for me, this micro-USB OTG adapter is worthless.

As I said, the 2nd OTG adapter I bought from the other Amazon seller "Warm Mart" still has not arrived from Hong Kong. So, I bought a 3rd adapter from Ebay seller "itrimming". This one from Ebay fits snug and works perfectly with my Google N7 tablet.

If you have a Google N7 tablet, avoid this seller's adapter. (It "might" work fine on other devices.)

BTW, this adapter came in the mail with nothing but the adapter inside. There was no indication which Amazon seller had sent it so I had to email both of them to inquire if "Tom Tang" and the SKU-XXX belonged to them or to someone else. I don't think it is too much to ask that Amazon sellers at least mark their packages and/or contents with their seller name.

UPDATE #1: see my two user images at the top to see the difference between this Amazon purchased adapter (not compatible with the Google N7 tablet) and the one I bought on Ebay.

UPDATE #2: I received the 2nd Amazon purchased adapter (seller: Warm Mart) today. I notice that the seller names (1) Crazy-Stores and (2) Warm Mart from my order now seem to point a link to a new one "Digital Center". Both Amazon purchased adapters look identical (and not the same as the product photo). Both have a plug too long for the Google Nexus 7 tablet. Surprisingly, the 2nd one actually works anyway (at least for the moment) even though it sticks out from the N7 USB port way too far.
2727 comments|323 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2012
I ordered two of these for 0.70 each. The micro USB connector is sized strangely, it's about twice as long as it should be, and the actually width of the connector is slightly smaller than typical. The effect is a very loose, wobbly connection. It does work, however, and for the price I paid I'm satisfied. The problem is that it's just not very secure.
11 comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2012
The male part that goes into micro usb did not go in all the way. I know its less than $2 but seriously..
22 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2012
DO NOT INSERT DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT FOR YOUR NEXUS 7 TABLET UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES!!! (READ and know that you have been warned.)

Also tried on my HTC EVO and it did power it, but causes unusual program anomalies (as soon as I plug it in, it starts the EVO Dashboard Program and unit Camera at the same time -- a good indication that the unit is probably shorting somewhere???)

Ordered 3 of these, price was cheap. 1 came obviously defective (connect teeth "hold in place" pins missing.) Next, tried all 3, connector end that goes into the Nexus 7 tablet is WAY too long for the device (at least it's not too short, that's a good thing? How about just right?) No connection made. 100% failure rate.

Even worse: After plugging this into My NEARLY BRAND NEW NEXUS 7 tablet that I love so much, it will no longer power up. WTF!!! $280 down the drain? I am SOOOOOO MAD RIGHT NOW!!!

So, summarize: 1 cable has obvious visual physical defect, and all 3 have electrical connect defect for the Google Nexus 7 Tablet. Sounds like I'm not the only one having problems with this product, especially on the Google Nexus 7 Tablet. Product less than $1 - is it really worth returning? Probably not.

Better to just do a review and share my experience and hopefully the sellers with defective products will just go away! Amazon should consider whether or not this seller can stay on the network if the products can't meet basic expectations. Providing the seller name in the title because Amazon is apparently (based on other reviews) combining reviews from a number of sellers for this item... THIS EXPERIENCE WAS NOT COOL AMAZON!
33 comments|48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2014
This is a great micro USB to normal USB converter. It works perfectly with all of my devices (PC, galaxy note 2, lenovo yoga, etc). It's small and compact, can easily fit into a pocket or a small space. I have mine clipped into a USB drive on my keys so I don't lose it and it doesn't get in the way. Shipping took a couple of weeks but I didn't need it ASAP so it wasn't a big deal. What more could you want from a $1 product that works exactly the way it's intended to?
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2013
Its pretty standard with these low cost cables, you spin the wheel and take your chances.

Order two of these (Direct Sales Service Online, fulfilled by Amazon) for a Nexus 7 (2013). Both connects are extremely loose, to the point of becoming dislodged at the slightest movement. Absolutely no connectivity, despite numerous attempts / positions / application of foul language.

Compared to a higher quality micro B connection (provided with JamBone, Western Digital) the male connector is longer and the opening is substantially larger.

Returned.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2013
I have a Google Nexus 7. This cable is specifically listed as compatible. It is not recognized AT ALL by my tablet's USB-OTG app (Nexus Media Importer). A slightly different designed cable from another vendor works perfectly. I bought this one as a back up to just leave in my carry bag. Instead, it (literally) went in the trash.

I only paid $0.82, but it was wasted money. It is not worth even trying to return. Also, be forewarned that eForCity ships from China and delivery, again literally, takes weeks.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2013
OTG microUSB to USB adapters are special adapters for connecting peripheals to a host microUSB port on a cell phone, tablet, phablet, or other handheld device. OTG stands for On-The-Go.

If you have a tablet, cell phone, or other personal device, that has two micro-USB ports, one might be a slave port, and the other might be a host port. If the device only has one microUSB port, then it is most likely a slave port, and the OTG adapter may not be usable. However, some handheld devices have a OTG port that can be used either as a host or a slave.

The USB ports on your PC are host ports. Anything you hook up to a PC USB port is a slave, even if it is an input device, such as a keyboard, mouse, or an output device such as a printer. Some devices (cell phones, tablets, phablets, e-readers) may have a host port (most do not). Host USB ports on a handheld device are still unusual, and the user guide will usually have some remarks on it (unless you got your device directly from China).

Most personal devices (such a cell phones, tablets, etc.)only have a slave microUSB port (or a miniUSB port.) You connect the slave USB port (micro or mini) on your device to a host USB port on your PC. In this case the PC is the host, and the device is a slave. Usually you can only access the device's storage (such as an installed microSD card), and nothing else. You use an ordinary USB to microUSB cable for this connection - not a OTG adapter. For slave-only ports, you can not hook up to a USB flash drive, keyboard, external GPS, or other device.

Some personal devices have a host port, or a combined host/slave port. If present, it may be called a host USB port, or a OTG port. This is very often a separate microUSB port. If your device has a host port, you may be able to attach external devices, such as those you might attach to a PC. You use an OTG microUSB to USB cable for a host port. You use an standard USB cable (microUSB to USB)when the device is a slave.

Just because you have a host port on your device doesn't mean all external USB accessories will work. There also has to be internal software support within the device in order to use such peripheals (USB flash drive, 3G dongle, bluetooth dongle, keyboard, printer, etc.)

If your not sure what cable/adapter to use, just buy one and try it. They are so cheap you'll only be out a couple bucks.
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2013
when it arrived, it fit fine. But we thought there was a problem, as no information was being transmitted. Switched it to another tablet and still no joy. I used another adapter and it worked just fine.

I did not bother returning the item because it took over a month to get this one. It wasn't worth the effort
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2013
I Initially wrote a product review of this :Seller Name Rating Comments Date
elowprice 2 out of 5 "I purchased this for Amazon kindle Fire. I have an external USB keyboard & was attempting to make the keyboard work. The description for this says it will work on Kindle fire. Yes it connects but does NOT WORK ! I even messaged the seller & I received a message back telling me that it would make the USB keyboard work.Do NOT BUY if you are expecting it to work with Kindle Fire to activate USB kbrd" February 2, 2013

I have done extensive research on this even before I purchased this about the external USB keyboards not working on kindle fire unless you ROOT the things. They just do not have the drivers or enough power to support an external USB keyboard. "UNLESS" you root the device & alter the OS. I have received excellent communication with this company about this issue so I have deleted the above review & am adding to this.I just don't think they are aware that the kindle fire will not support a external USB keyboard. So I believe it is not the company's fault. They should however change there product description because it is the only one on amazon that says it works with a kindle fire. They should advise customers that it is not plug & play for USB external keyboards unless you are in a position to void your warranty immediately by attempting what I mentioned above. Which may also get your kindle bricked & become a part of the ECO recycling. I give them 5 stars for there excellent communication with me trying to resolve this issue. If anyone is trying to attach an external keyboard to the kindle fire with this it will not work. Amazon has not implemented this function on the kindle fire as of yet that I know of.
Otherwise I think this company deserves a 5 star. The adapter does work but not as they say in the description. That should be changed.
33 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 272 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.