Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Beyond the Hole in the Wall: Discover the Power of Self-Organized Learning (Kindle Single) (TED Books)
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 29, 2012
Educators, I strongly recommend reading about Sugata Mitra's educational experiments that he calls MIE (Minimally Invasive Education). I am astounded by what he has accomplished. Next year, I have the great honour of designing and implementing a digital development right form kindergarten right through to grade 12. Wow. I am basing a huge amount of what I do on Sugata's research.

This is the future of education. It is changing before our eyes and it is one of the most exciting times to be alive in the education field.

Watch his TED talk and read his book. The world is about to change, be ahead of it.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2012
This is a short and sweet introduction to the work of Prof Sugata Mitra. He is the inspiration for the book Q&A by Vikas Swarup and the Bollywood/Hollywood movie Slumdog Millionaire. His Hole-in-the-Wall experiment is an evolution in learning and teaching. Maybe we don't need to spend billions on Education like we do; unless we understand it is designed to create a complain society of workers and consumers.

Anyway the stories set in the near future are uncanny like short science fiction stories by Asimov. The best part for me was the practical guidelines at the end on how to impliment his SOLE or Self Organised Learning Environments. This book is highly recommended for people who've watched his two TED Talks and every single Computer Lab teacher or supervisor in South Africa.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2012
I had seen Sugata Mitra's TED talk and was indeed inspired by it and thus when I saw a book from him I rushed in to buy it. What I did not realize was the content of the book was too brief. The book talks about the concepts, however falls short of talking about the implementation specifics (at least some examples would have been nice). The author does point out a few people who have tried out the concept and possibly leaves it to us to get in touch with them.
I would say it is a book which hands out the concept and tells us to try it out in our own way...
55 comments|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2013
This marvelous booklet will restore your faith in the power of youths to undo the messes created by those who preceded them.

About ten years ago I enjoyed an account by Wired Magazine editor Kevin Kelly, "Out Of Control," a deep dive look at the emergence of collective decision-making processes that he named "Hive Mind." I'm not smart enough to summarize the book, but generally it is an effort to delve into the power of many minds working in some sort of synchronicity that belies our usual belief that we are totally individualized thinking beings, separate from one another. In many situations, a kind of human consensus emerges almost as though one mind alone had taken charge.

Something somewhat similar is happening here. Ten years ago, a teacher in India and his buddies put a computer connected to the Internet in the opening of an exterior wall of a building in a grim New Delhi ghetto. Then they left it. No instructions, no supervision, no nothing.

What happened next is the story, indeed, the miracle, of this book, and it will blow you away. Suffice it to say that the teacher quickly discovered that kids from desperately poor slums, badly educated, could, WITHOUT INSTRUCTION, figure out a great deal about computers and how to use them on their own. And, more important, that they could learn from the experience and thereby become better able to work within a complex world.

Great book. Very upbeat. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2013
This is a short book, but a very interesting one. Mitra's approach to letting children discover the power of computers for themselves, especially children whose backgrounds aren't literate, let alone computer-literate, shows up the amazing way in which human beings will discover things for themselves if given the chance, and our amazing capacity for self-teaching. I'd be interested to know how this system has developed further.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2014
I really enjoyed reading this, as I used to be a Literacy tutor, and I am fascinated by all sorts of ideas related to learning. I was really impressed by the human drive toward knowledge and learning. Very uplifting!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2012
I had NEVER heard about this project! It was amazing to me to read about their putting a computer on public display in very poor neighborhoods and how, within a very short time, the local children had taught themselves how to use it and were actively cruising the internet and teaching themselves skills. Amazing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2012
I would consider this as a very long article rather than a book.

It's an excellent short read that answers the question why children learn much faster when it comes to new technologies computers or tablet devices, and how parents or gardians can utilize these technologies to a better learning.

I liked the conceptual part about "connectedness" and "self-organized systems" because it goes deeper in the cognitive part of learning. However I skimmed through the stories because I'm not interested in them.

I really recommend this book to those who are interested in education or may have kids, it's beneficial too.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2012
Mitra describes some of his research in education: providing computers and Internet access to children and letting them take it from there.

This Single hits on all cylinders. The topic is important and interesting; his experiments are innovative; and -- most important -- he measured results and reported them.

Mitra intersperses the story of his research with a short science fiction story, Asimovian in tone, about a 21st century child learning and playing. I like this kind of thing but it does mean the rest of the Single is even shorter than usual. I wanted more! So I immediately self-applied the major lesson from the book and used the Internet to learn more about Dr. Mitra's work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2013
I have watched the TED talks and I am very Inspired by what Mitra has to say. Many of his ideas are similar to the Montessori philosophy, which we already use at home. I tried an experiment with my 8 year old by giving him a sentence in Russian (he doesn't speak Russian). He had no idea which language it was, I left him to it and he soon figured out how to use google translate and then how to answer the question. We are now going to try the techniques outlines in the book with a group of friends but to do it virtually using g+.
If you are fed up with the current teacher centered learning technique and believe children should be encouraged to think more and fall in love with learning, the I think you will love this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse