Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer bschs2 bschs2 bschs2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now Learn more

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$10.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon September 28, 2012
During the summer of 2012 cable's TNT aired "Dallas", not repeats, but a new series that is a continuation of the original CBS soap opera that ran from 1978-1991. People didn't know if the serial was going to be a hit or not as many believe (stupidly) that scripted dramas are a wave of the past and something viewers don't want to watch. "Dallas" became the highest-rated drama of 2012 beating even network shows and proved the timeless story of good vs. evil in a tight-knit Texas family who backstabs each other is still relevant today.

With three of the original cast members included (Linda Gray, Patrick Duffy and most deliciously Larry Hagman as J.R.) along with a bunch of newcomers playing the sons of Bobby and J.R. (stud Jesse Metcalf (of "Passions" fame) as Christopher and Josh Henderson as John Ross, with excellent writing and direction, not to mention that timeless opening theme and music "Dallas" became the must-see TV event of 2012. TNT already has ordered 15 more shows for the summer of 2013 signalling their faith in the series.

This set will include all 10 episodes along with a slew of bonus material including "Southfork legacy: Making of Dallas-Season 1" where the cast and creators discuss having "Dallas" come back, "Back in Production" where both J.R.'s (Larry Hagman and Josh Henderson) give a tour of the first day of filming, deleted scenes, pilot commentary with writer and executive producer Cynthia Cidre and executive producer and director Michael Robin and much more.

"Dallas" it is so nice to have you back!!!!!

Of special note Steve Kanaly, Charlene Tilton and Ken Kercehevel also return this year.
33 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2012
I can't believe DALLAS is here again and not in a reboot form but mostly a continuation from the old series. Surely we get new actors to continue the story but the old gang is also here. LARRY HAGMAN, PATRICK DUFFY, LINDA GRAY together with cameos by KEN KENCERVAL , CHARLENE TILTON and STEVE KANALY give the show what it needs. THE GLAMOUR OF THE PAST GLORY DAYS.
This dvd is spectacular. All 10 season episodes fulled with a pack of extras is all we need and season 2 is on it's way soon...

SIT BACK AND ENJOY JR'S RETURN TO GLORY...

PS.

In europe the same title is released 2 months earlier...LOL

www.amazon.co.uk
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2012
As a passionate fan of the original I was concerned that this sequel would disappoint. However, it hasn't, except for the dramatic change in the interior of Southfork. Yes, in 20 years one would expect it to be redecorated and refurbished generally - but the whole layout of the interior to change....? The main staircase clearly moved since it now bears no relation to the other rooms in the way that it did; small rooms; a different dining room because it does not relate to the kitchen as it used to.... These differences are really quite profound and are the elements that have detracted for me because I find it hard to believe that they are in the same house. I used to love Southfork - but not now. The style, the light, the space, the elegance have all gone.

But having said that, it is great to have JR, Bobby and Sue Ellen back - as well as the brief appearances by Cliff, Lucy and Ray. How about Jenna and so many others who were apparently still alive at the end of the first DALLAS? In reality, their lives would be very likely to still impinge on the present at times and it would be great if they returned, even if only briefly so that they could update their stories. I am delighted to read that Gary and Valene are to come back in the next season. The new cast are fine, but Bobby's new wife is not Pam (nor even April) and because of the change in fashion the glitz has gone - everyone is much more ordinary. And I do miss Miss Ellie and Clayton (and, of course, Jock.) Now, if Victoria Principal could be persuaded to return, think what storylines might open up there!

Nevertheless, I have the complete set of the orginal DALLAS as well as all the supplementary products that have emerged - so, despite the odd gripe, I shall undoubtedly buy the new series, too. It has made a strong start in retaining the general characteristics of the original and the very best of luck to it - I hope it develops as brilliantly as its predecessor.

Now, please get the original Knots Landing released on DVD and then bring that back 20 years on...!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2014
Dallas season 1 is a winning combination of old and new. This is not your standard rehash of old storylines, but is a continuation of the original series set today. The older Dallas rivals - JR and Bobby, JR and Sue Ellen, the Ewings versus the Barnes - all still exist, and the next generation takes on those plus new ones. The casting is great, the older cast has aged gracefully, and we aged with them along the way. The new cast - especially John Ross and Rebecca Sutter are strong and have their own individualized roles. Christopher and Elena are strong actors, but their flavor has to be fleshed out more in season 2. The intertwined relationships and family dynamics still drive storylines. The relationship between JR and Bobby drives the series, and it projects into their sons. Very enjoyable.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2013
I loved the original Dallas and while happy to see so many original cast members I was nonetheless skeptical that the story would hold up after all of these years and still manage to be as exciting and dynamic as the original. I was so pleasantly surprised to see that not only was it as good as the original, in my opinion it is even better! With J.R. as creatively devious as ever and now schooling his grown son in how to be a rapscallion the wonderful deceit upon which Dallas is built and thrives is as cleverly contrived as it ever was. Saddened, of course, to learn of the death of Larry Hagman, but interested to see how they weave his death into the new season and wondering if they will be able to maintain the dynamic into a third season without J.R.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2014
The reboot of Dallas has been better than the orignal series - Saddened at the loss of Larry Hagman and his character of JR Ewing - however the young man playing John ross is for sure his fathers son ! The cast is amazing and I just love how they bring in original characters to keep true to the original series
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2015
We all knew the original Dallas was something of a soap opera when it was on TV. But there were great performances and lots of twists and turns to keep us watching. There were likeable characters and some characters that were so bad they were fascinating. This new version of Dallas is nothing but a soap opera, and the young characters are just plain dumb and dumber. J. R., III is a weak punk type. Christopher is a whining little cry baby. The only outstanding performance is by Mitch Pileggi as Harris Ryland. Larry Hagman tries mightily with the material he is given and it is fun to see him and Patrick Duffy back, but they both seem a little lost in this lame attempt at reviving the original show. The rest of the characters might as well have phoned their performances in. I won the second season in a contest, so I bought the first season. Don't think I will bother to buy the third season.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2012
The new Dallas was fantastic. Lived up to all expectations. Kept to the original story with JR and Bobby playing a big part, but at the same time, letting the sons take more in control. Well worth the money. I will order the set when it is available in BlueRay and be one of the first to get it. Twists and turns keep you guessing all the time.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2015
Dallas Season 1 (The Reboot/Sequel/Continuation) has exceeded all of my expectations. I grew up watching the original Dallas on CBS every Friday. I tuned in to see J.R. being his sneaky powerful self. I also tuned in to watch Sue Ellen hit the bottle, Bobby, trying to stay a good guy through all of the shenanigans, Cliff trying to stake his claim on Ewing Oil.

The three principal characters have returned. Everything blends perfectly. The writing in this series is fast-paced so it requires you to be glued to the television screen so you won't miss a thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2012
I didn't get to watch dallas when it aired in the 80's, having been born in 1979 myself. However, I had grown up hearing about "Who shot JR?" so I knew about the show. Watching this new dallas had prompted me to want to watch the old dallas. The new dallas is just as good as the old one was, with all the plotting, scheming, and back biting. Looking foward to getting this on DVD & really looking forward to season 2! And for those who haven't seen it, JR really is a guy you love & hate @ the same time!!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.