Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals Outdoor Deals on DOTD

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars32
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$12.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
on January 9, 2005
Sorry... but that review below is way off the mark...

This set is DIFFERENT from "Mark III: The Final Concerts"...

"Mark III: The Final Concerts" was a mid-90s COMPILATION with tracks from TWO DIFFERENT SHOWS (Paris and Graz), with some EDITED tracks, and REPEAT performances...

"Live In Paris" does just what it says on the tin: It's the Paris 1975 show COMPLETE and UNEDITED... plus, it has been REMIXED from the master tapes and THE SOUND QUALITY IS SUPERIOR to "Mark III: The Final Concerts", which was tinny and without depth, as opposed to this new set that sounds full and rich...

The below reviewer may be a collector, but he doesn't know his stuff...

This set is new and BETTER in all respects... Hughes/Coverdale era Purple fans won't be disappointed.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on May 6, 2010
For those of you who are astute Blackmore fans ...Ritchie is "totally on" during this performance! At 5:46 during Burn Blackmore breaks his usual pattern and stabs this incredible high note out of the blue..Very indicative of taking chances, and THAT is when he is at his best! Lots of controlled feedback revealed under headphones as well. This guy is just incredible when he is inspired! This is by far THE definitive live release by this line up. GREAT sound too! It is the Made In Japan of the MKIII era. It's a tad disappointing that Ritchie doesn't stretch out longer on the "Gypsy" when we would expect him to, but he is otherwise great here. The whole band cooks! I am going to say something that could offend some..The rhythm section presented here with Glenn Hughes is far more dynamic live than it ever was with Glover. Hughes is just a more dynamic player and presence. Even if you have the other multi-disc set called "The Final Concerts" you need have this show! If you are wondering about this release..wonder no more. It is a must!
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on November 8, 2013
They claim that this was the concert to have instead of Made In Europe. Not so - Made In Europe is much better in all aspects than this mess. This concert was apparently the last one in DP for Ritchie Blackmore. After listening to it, I understand why. For those of you that have heard that Glenn Hughes was the reason Ritchie left the band, this is the evidence. I have a hard time believing that between Blackmore, Paice, Lord, or Coverdale - none of them had the balls to take the mic away from Glenn Hughes - or at least tell him to shut the hell up. His in between song banter is embarrassing - and offensive to listen to. Why did they let him continue to make a fool of himself - why did they not tell Coverdale to do the song intros? Hughes singing in the space truckin waste of time is embarrassing. No wonder Ritchie left. The songs on this cd have Ritchies guitar low in the mix - because he obviously does not care anymore. He unfortunately screws up the intro to Mistreated - an awful out of tune note that is just way off. Every song here has problems. SOTW - please please please - just let coverdale sing it! Why let Hughes screw it up??? Highway Star - Ritchie must have lost a string or 2 - he is so way off in his solo - you can hear him trying to bend up to the right key - then they just mix him down - it is a complete mess. The end of the song completely falls apart. Space Truckin - there is 10 min of complete waste of time. Hughes doing his falsetto R&B wannabe stuff - THAT is the reason Ritchie left. The only good part of this cd is the pic of Ritchie on the cover. There is a 23 min interview included with Coverdale/Hughes - for the collectors. Otherwise, this is strictly for the hard core DP collectors - which I am. And I did not keep it -so disappointed in this cd, that I sold it at my local trade in cd shop.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on August 21, 2007
This show was the last show Deep Purple did with Ritchie Blackmore until the reunion in 1984. Although he'd been somewhat lackadaisical during earlier shows on the Stormbringer tour, Ritchie gave this emotional final show everything he had, and it spurred the rest of the band to deliver a stellar performance. Coverdale and Hughes do the vocals very well; Glenn's shrieking is under control. Ian Paice and Jon Lord leave it all out on stage, so to speak.

There are several good reasons to have this recording. One, it was Ritchie's last show with Purple for 9 years. Two, this renders Made in Europe, Mk 3: The Final Concerts and other such compilations from the last few Mk 3 shows obsolete. There's no splicing or editing. Nada. This is the whole show, including Coverdale's and Hughes' chitchat in between songs. Three, this is the best Mk 3 show I've heard to date and stands up well with Mk 2 live stuff. Burn and Stormbringer blow the studio versions away. The Gypsy really shines live. I wasn't particularly fond of the album version, but here you can really feel the emotion Ritchie puts into it. Mistreated is well done, but I miss the longer, louder guitar intro of the Burn tour and subsequent performances with Rainbow. Then, of course, we have Smoke on the Water. I'm not a fan of the Mk 3 rendition of this song, though. Highway Star proves to be a pleasant surprise. After hearing the two live Mk 4 recordings (Russian Foxbat and Tokyo 1975), I was appalled with the way Highway Star was done. I had my doubts about Coverdale's ability to do it, but he manages to pull it off fairly well here, although the words have changed. Again. Most of the song is Ritchie going nuts and demolishing his guitar, but it's still cool to hear.

End note: Coverdale and Hughes have their little chats with the audience in between songs, but at the beginning of the show, during the intro to Burn, I swear I can hear Coverdale softly singing something like, "Ohhh...if only you didn't smoke cocaine..." I can DEFINITELY make out the word "cocaine." That makes me smirk a little bit inside.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on February 8, 2013
Great concert. Recorded in 1975 at Ritchie Blackmore's last show with DP. Very well remastered and is very in your face. If you like DP live like I do, then this album is a must have!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on July 31, 2013
Tantalizingly close to perfection live show by arguably the best heavy rock band ever. Ritchie Blackmore played incredibly exciting live guitar, and Jon Lord must have been the best hard rock keyboardist. With the two of them together, along with the rest of the tight playing band, it was awesome...on the songs they didn't ruin by overlong slow intros, boring extended solos or Glenn Hughes' moronic banter. Coverdale and Hughes sang incredibly well in the harmonies. I can't think of a comparable combination in heavy rock history, and Hughes bass playing was outstanding. As good as the three really strong songs from Stormbringer are, along with a cool version of Smoke on the Water, the rest are flawed. Burn is close to being just right, but marred by a slow intro. Highway Star is mostly fabulous and definitely superior to Free Bird as rock's all-time closing anthem. Hearing this version gave me chills it was so good. Sadly, Coverdale mars it with sophomoric lyric substitutions from tires to boobs, and the ending is painful to listen to. They just left the final synth and guitar chords playing on as they walked off the stage. Space Truckin' was totally botched by morphing into long, slow solos, and why ever does this great band with tons of great songs need to bother covering Goin' Down? No wonder Ritchie left, and Jon and Ian soon folded the tent. Too bad they couldn't shut off Glenn's mike between songs, and maybe teach David to say something other than "God Bless" to the crowd. Too bad it was done in Paris. The crowd sounded strangely subdued. I saw their next tour in Dallas, and even with the flailing drug addled Tommy Bolin, who couldn't ever hold a candle to Blackmore, the crowd at least rollicked enthusiastically along. Kind of a shame considering how utterly awesome this CD almost is, and how enduringly great the band could have carried on to be.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on June 19, 2013
AS far as performances go for MachIII Purple go this is Blackmore at his best. He pulls out all the stops here & INMHO there is nothing Blackmore appears on that sounds better than this. You can tell he knows this is going to be his last gig with this line up & hes going out swinging. Lord & Paice are in good form as is Hughes on bass but what keeps this recording of this bunch from being the best live document of Mach III is that Hughes gets into a perpetual scream fest anytime hes supposed to back up or double up with Coverdale on vocals--- its like hes trying to show off who has the better set of pipes, it grates on the nerves & is very distracting to the groove. As a musician who had played hundreds of gigs before he even joined Purple he had to know that Blackmore was in the zone so he should have acted a bit more professionally & been more about the bands groove than himself. For me the latest remastered version of Live in London is the best live document of MachIII. IMHO of course,cheers!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on April 2, 2013
This concert is great as Ritchie Blackmore was still the lead guitarist of DP his guitar playing and tone are one of the more originals in rock history, and his style is inimitable. great singing by David Coverdale, excellent sound a must for Deep Purple fans
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on February 18, 2012
A great sound on this live record. Blackmore is a driving force in DP as always. Songs from Machine head, Burn and Stormbringer.Good singing from Hughes and Coverdale. Maybe one of the best live record from DP. The album cover is geat as well with colourful 12 pages booklet, nice pictures and with the story of DP Mark III.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on February 15, 2005
This is to me, the finest example of Deep Purple live...well, actually its a toss up between this one and Live In London. Ritchie's last show with the band in the 1970's is flawless and so full of energy. He certainly knew the meaning of the expression of "going out with a bang". Great job. My personal fave here is The Gypsy. Hard to beleive that this awesome version remained in the vaults all this time. Forget about Made In i never truly understood the fascination with that LP except it contains more recognisable tunes.
The only thing i don't like is about this CD is Glenn Hughes coke induced screams that make Mistreated all but unlistenable.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Made in Japan
Made in Japan by Deep Purple (Audio CD - 1990)

Graz 1975
Graz 1975 by Deep Purple (Audio CD - 2014)

Copenhagen 1972 [2 CD]
Copenhagen 1972 [2 CD] by Deep Purple (Audio CD - 2013)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.