Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 23, 2011
I downloaded this to my Kindle after reading the sample and getting hooked. When a writer puts together a technothriller (i.e. a thriller with a strong technical thread holding much of the storyline together), he or she takes on a certain obligation: whether they know the technical specs or not, they need to deliver on the authenticity. "Gray Justice" delivers. Alan McDermott weaves us an intricate tale of military preparedness with devilish and cunning accuracy. Still, he does not fall into the trap of getting TOO technical--McDermott's prose is easy to understand while still delivering the thriller punch!

The word "heart" applies here as well--the author puts together a current, relevant storyline about a hero who cares; a protagonist who is willing to risk everything he is for the sake of his friends, his family, and his country. Tom Gray is a hero you will believe in!

Bravo, Alan McDermott. You've got me awaiting your next effort with high anticipation! Read this outstanding first novel; you won't be disappointed!
11 comment| 126 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2012
There are certain books which are thinly disguised vehicles through which an author expresses specific, personal philosophical, political or moral views. I find such vehicles annoying, because, if I want to read an OP/ED article, I can easily find one, and a nonfiction book or article on these subject seems more straightforward and honest. For a good bit of this book, I thought I was dealing with such a vehicle, and at times felt it was little more than a kind of political fantasy/wish fulfillment piece. But, having begun the book, I finished it, and I'm glad I did, because, at the very least, I was partially wrong.

much of the personal value of this book came gradually, after I had finished it, and spent some time considering it. The very fact that it led me to thinking and examination indicated to me that I had found something of more depth than I first realized, and that would be enough for me to recommend it.

I do not intend to discuss the author's expressed opinions, nor do I wish to debate their merit. What I do want to do is look at how those ideas are expressed, and how well the author uses the format of fiction to do so. The author's writing style lends itself nicely to action fiction. He is able, in one or 2 sentences to both tell what is happening in a completely understandable way, and convey other descriptive information concerning setting and characters without missing one flying bullet, and that requires tight discipline and discernment. The words seem to race off the page ...but I doubt seriously that they raced on to the page; they are too well crafted to have been done by impulse or in haste. While the characterizations are developed only to the extent that they need to be to compliment the action, we are given enough to get a very good idea of who the people in this story are, and why they do what they do, and react in the ways that they do. Sometimes, one critical trait or character flaw can speak volumes, and again, the author uses this technique very well.

I admit that I didn't see how the plot would unfold, and, while sometimes I found the "message" a bit heavy handed, I couldn't see any other way the author could have unfolded his plot; one that turned out to be stunningly surprising, and worked out with near brilliance. All in all, this extremely fast paced action novel is satisfying on many levels, and dismissing it as "another action thriller"would do a disservice to both author and reader. I decided, despite my initial reaction to buy the next book, and I look forward to reading it.
66 comments| 130 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2011
After meeting Alan in Twitter, I decided that I could read his book. Why not?? I have a Kindle and the price was quite good. When I started reading it, I was very surprised. Gray Justice has surprised me quite a lot. When I normally read a thriller, more or less at the middle of the book I start suspecting what the ending is going to be. In this case it was impossible. The quick pace and rhythm of the story keeps on moving and turning in really unexpected ways, making the story so enthralling and making impossible for the reader to put the book aside. Very interesting story, quite close to the reader since we live through similar stories every day: through the news, TV, and in our cities. A wonderful story of a desolate man who loses his family and chooses to do something to change the world where he lives in.
Very well done, Alan!! I can't wait to read the sequel!!
0Comment| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2013
The story was a good read. Not outstanding but engaging and easy to read. I'm not much into military stuff, so I skimmed through parts of it. The POV is rather "manly man." Most of the characters are male, and the few female ones are incidental and/or not very likable. Sally is somewhat of an exception, but I think she's portrayed as more of a blithering "wanna be" than a professional like the others. Still, the twists and turns of the plot were well done, and I think the next two books in the series will be worth checking out.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2013
Tom Gray, the central character in this book, is seeking personal justice while also aiming for reform of the British judicial system. He takes the law into his own hands, blurring the boundaries between justice and retribution, and his actions lead quickly to a situation from which it is hard to see how he can emerge victorious. Knowing that this was the first book in a series in which Gray would feature as the central character, I found myself repeatedly wondering in the early chapters how Gray could possibly be free to return for future stories. This early suspense continued as the story became more complex and others sought to exploit his situation for their own purposes. Although I enjoyed the first half of this book, it then became more predictable but also less believable, as the story was reliant upon the occurrence of a sequence of problem-free events and the authorities responding as Gray had anticipated - but this is fiction, after all, so we do have to suspend belief.

While the story is about the search for justice, the actions of Tom Gray himself become increasingly questionable. He must be a cold, hard individual to do what he does and I did not find him at all likable. I get a sense that this author's aim is to develop a series of action stories in the style of the Jason Bourne series by Robert Ludlum, very much books for those who like lots of action and a good dose of violence with a ruthless hero pitting his wits - and muscle - against others who are equally ruthless. Personally, this is not my preferred genre and I will not be reading the next book by this author, but if you like books and films such as the Bourne series, or action films starring Bruce Willis, you will probably enjoy this author's work.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2014
Boring. Story not moving. There seem to be two stories. I am sure they are connected but he is taking too long to show us anything. Sometimes these series are written so fast there is not a story instead they use "filler".
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2011
Found this author on twitter. Decided to try his book as the synopsis sounded interesting. Definitely was happily surprised as I couldn't put the book down. Well thought out plot and engaging characters. Nice twists and turns. Anyone who is a parent would love (and hate to imagine) some of the things that go on for the main character, Tom Gray.
Try it! you won't be sorry. I look forward to Alan's next book with pleasure.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2014
The book is crap - an excuse to write about the sex education of a young girl/lady ...... I found it very "kinky" and a waste of time for me. however some may like it! If this is the case, it would be a pretty good book for them, but not me!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2013
The push to examine one's feelings about crime in society is a good idea, but the protagonist who challenges the country to do so, is himself revealed as a very violent man himself.
Most disturbing is the attitude to women. Every woman mentioned is subjected to male violence - rape, murder, being driven to suicide.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2013
The book was a little to violent for me. If you like a shoot them up type book this one is for you. Moved between characters a lot also hard to follow at times. Lots of of words were misspelled and no page numbers listed. Would not read any sequel.
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.