Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ended Too Soon
I had some initial reservations about this series, since the central characters, Shugo and Rena, appear to be much younger than the original characters of Kite and BlackRose, who they represent. But the plot turned out to be quite strong, and Shugo and Rena, turn out to be older in their real lives, and faced with an increasingly common problem - they are brother and...
Published on December 17, 2004 by Marc Ruby™

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Shugo"..."Rena"..."S-h-u-g-o"..."R-e-n-a"..."SHUGO!"..."RENA!"...
Thank God it's over! LOTT is just 12 episodes long, but seems fully as long as its 26-episode predecessor, SIGN. After hitting the roadblock in the last DVD this final turkey basically sat still for the entire set of 4 episodes. The first DVD promised a breezy, fast-paced re-telling of the familliar .hack tale; but all that died here in a mish-mosh of confused and...
Published on February 5, 2009 by James F. Neel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ended Too Soon, December 17, 2004
This review is from: .hack//Legend of the Twilight - Endgame (Vol. 3) (DVD)
I had some initial reservations about this series, since the central characters, Shugo and Rena, appear to be much younger than the original characters of Kite and BlackRose, who they represent. But the plot turned out to be quite strong, and Shugo and Rena, turn out to be older in their real lives, and faced with an increasingly common problem - they are brother and sister forced apart by their parents estrangement. Now the only place they can meet is in the virtual reality of The World. Their obvious attachment adds a great deal of charm to the story.

In this final disk the episodes pick up from Rena's disappearance into a dungeon on a forbidden server. Shugo and his friends struggle to find her and find themselves faced with a continually series of obstacles. First an evil minded group of hackers, then the Cerulean Knights that carry out CC Corporation policy, and finally a wandering AI that seeks to use The World as an experiment in using virtual death to create real death. The latter has a distinct proclivity for creating unbeatable monsters and deadly viruses. In the meantime, more and more players are turning up in comas worldwide.

One can't help but enjoy the interesting way that the creators have mixed the old .hack work with the new one. Familiar characters like Balmung redevelop while the entirely new open the breadth of the story. The vision is less detailed than the previous DVD series, but it examines aspects of the game that didn't appear before, and the concepts behind the AI's effort to understand true death are a step beyond what the original offered.

Thus, this series works on multiple levels, whether you just want to enjoy a nifty .hack action tale, or are looking for the deeper play of human relationships and dark questions. My only issue is the abruptness of the end that leaves things in a bit of turmoil. Make sure to watch the short after the final credits, or you may feel a bit disappointed. I do wish they had decided to extend this to 26 episodes, there certainly is more story to tell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Final Chapter..., October 26, 2004
By 
This review is from: .hack//Legend of the Twilight - Endgame (Vol. 3) (DVD)
This was a cool way to end the .hack//Legend of the Twilight. Don't let the title of the fourth episode (The Legend Begins) fool you, this is the final volume of episodes and it goes out with a bang. If you liked the first two get this one and find out what happens to the Legendary Heros Kite and BlackRose!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars better than expected, October 6, 2004
This review is from: .hack//Legend of the Twilight - Endgame (Vol. 3) (DVD)
Having watched The .hack//sign series and loved them, I didn't know what to expect of this series. The last volume has great action and even a battle scene, but the ending like the .sign series leaves something to be desired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars .hack// sign rules!, October 3, 2004
This review is from: .hack//Legend of the Twilight - Endgame (Vol. 3) (DVD)
I like the video game, but the nanime is even better! I really think that NORTON C. BROWNE wasent very fond of the video game .hack, when he saw this anime, and I cant blame him. I mean, the creators of .hack really should put more effort into advertising. So far I've only seen 1 advertisement for .hack video games in magazines (and I should know, I subscribe to shonen jump and anime insider). But I recommend .hack// sign to anybody who is familliar to the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Serise, August 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: .hack//Legend of the Twilight - Endgame (Vol. 3) (DVD)
This is a great cute series , not to be taken serious or compared with .hack signs , multiple reasons , this series is light hearted and funny the opposite of the signs series . Its cute and set int the world of well The World its a fun series that does follow the manga to a certain extent i read the manga and have played all the ps2 games and seen all series including the one that came with the video games as an extra disc you will love legend of the twilight if your a .hack fan , and if you decided to give it a try keep in mind its a silly fun series with some great messages and great characters that stay true to the .hack world .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hack link, October 7, 2008
This review is from: .hack//Legend of the Twilight - Endgame (Vol. 3) (DVD)
First, I'll admit, .hack//SIGN is getting some of the best limited edition treatment I've ever seen. This box and its load of extras is sure to be highly coveted by anime fans and DVD collectors. In particular, I think the soundtrack is a great extra, as .hack has excellent music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Happened to Shugo and Rena, May 7, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: .hack//Legend of the Twilight - Endgame (Vol. 3) (DVD)
What happened to Shugo and Rena because in the final episode of .hack//legends,they just disappered and Merille was worried that Shugo and Rena died tn the real world.Can someone please explain to me what happened to Shugo and Rena?

P.S.I like this anime.Watch it on Cartoon Network at 1:30am Friday night/saturday morning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Shugo"..."Rena"..."S-h-u-g-o"..."R-e-n-a"..."SHUGO!"..."RENA!"..., February 5, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: .hack//Legend of the Twilight - Endgame (Vol. 3) (DVD)
Thank God it's over! LOTT is just 12 episodes long, but seems fully as long as its 26-episode predecessor, SIGN. After hitting the roadblock in the last DVD this final turkey basically sat still for the entire set of 4 episodes. The first DVD promised a breezy, fast-paced re-telling of the familliar .hack tale; but all that died here in a mish-mosh of confused and confusing cliched showdowns typical of anime at its worst and most imitative. If anguished looks and repeated intonations of the main characters names is an indication of quality, then this opus is truly a masterpiece! I won't attempt to explain any of that, but have a few observations.

If these are avatars from a video game, how is it they can undress or disguise themselves? How is it that Shugo can "feel" the cold, when it's previously been established that Tsukasa was unique in respect to senses in The World? Why, since apparantly dozens - nay, scores - of players have now succumbed to coma-like states, has no government authority pulled the plug on The World? Exactly what interaction with the "wandering AI" Morti prompted the hostility of the quartet of rogue children to cause them to want to do such harm to the other players? And what is the motovation for Morti's fascination with Death, both real and in the game?

The character of Morti is the weakest element in this entire short series - villany needs a tangible form, and she serves to provide it. Created soley for the TV series and having no relation to the previous .hack games, manga, or SIGN, she lacks any true motovation whatsoever. At least Morganna, the "villian" of the others acted out of the belief that she would be deleted/die/cease-to-exist if she performed as planned by her creator. But Morti's fascination with Death seems both unlikely and forced.

Having finally confronted Morti, Shugo and the others then attempt to save Rena, accompanyed by much angst and wailing. This is painfully stretched out over the balance of the episodes; but then rushes to a conclusion only in the final few minutes, leaving the question of exactly what just happened. As too often in anime, the "solution" makes little sense and is more of a deus ex machina than anything really thought out. In summation of the entire series of the portentiously and pretensiously named Legend of the Twilight, I'll quote one of my favorite sayings: "Don't fail to miss it, if you can!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How I noticed the Japenese shows are some times depressing or Hack/legend of the twighlight bracelet, October 8, 2005
This review is from: .hack//Legend of the Twilight - Endgame (Vol. 3) (DVD)
Well in the this action and depressing series of episodes this one hits the aciton and depressing spot!!!!!! Well in a area in the world the .Hackers are cut short when somehow Rena(BlackRose) is lost then Shugo(Kite) Noticed no Rena!!!!!!! Well so the four mysterious kids go to modify a monster The Cc Corporation stops and destroys the monster they also ruin Shugo's plan of getting Rena is cut short. So those kids go to Diamonds destroying Place from a card that Bulma's Funky gives the gang. Well while going there the four kids also arive and they don't destroy the modified monsters and Remember the song they played with the piano High Low song oh yeah Shugo's leaving because a wondereing A-Eye Apears so they leave with the bracelets hidden power. This is the sad part aparently Rena is seen by Shugo so Shugo tries to save Kite but he is off time. That's all I remember From uh 13 years ago. I cried while the credits sng was runing I loved the songs in Vol. 3 so I had to Record it Expecially the song that starts with the Piano's High To LOw 50's thing Why couldn't Japan Bring the other episodes of .Hack/Legend because in Japan the added 50 extra episodes the only showed in America. Well thats my Review of what I can remember. Maybe I should get ut my .Hack/legend Vol 3 Well thats because I own all The Episodes Of Both .Hack, .Hack//sign, and .Hack//legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Five star show but, a three point five star DVD, August 21, 2005
This review is from: .hack//Legend of the Twilight - Endgame (Vol. 3) (DVD)
Although not as great as .hack//sign, this is still a great show. The DVD has a problem and won't work on my Play Station 2 system but, wotks on my big TV in the basement. I am still satisfied with it, even with the disk flaws so it was woth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

.hack//Legend of the Twilight - Endgame (Vol. 3)
$29.98 $28.35
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.