Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Helpful info for beginners
Published 1 day ago by nd2knit

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great for experienced iMac users perhaps
The author of this book states that she has been enjoying Macs for 25 years. On one hand this might seem great, of the other hand in this instance, she is so used to the machines that I did not think she had a perspective that was useful to someone new to the Mac environment. The jargon was a problem. The simple stuff was not explained well, but too often skimmed over...
Published on July 11, 2009 by Peter M. Ravdin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great for experienced iMac users perhaps, July 11, 2009
By 
This review is from: iMac Portable Genius (Paperback)
The author of this book states that she has been enjoying Macs for 25 years. On one hand this might seem great, of the other hand in this instance, she is so used to the machines that I did not think she had a perspective that was useful to someone new to the Mac environment. The jargon was a problem. The simple stuff was not explained well, but too often skimmed over and omitted.
For example the extremely useful "undo" a Control Z on a Windows machine. No clue how to do this on a Mac. Not mentioned in the index. Finally found buried in an appendix.
I looked again, just to see if I was being to hard on this book. I think not. The first chapter has a lot about automation of tasks (complex) and illustrates how it looks on the authors two monitors.
Very flashy. Maybe really at a "Genius" level, but not very practical for me.
Tomorrow I will take the book back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does not cover the everyday stuff!, January 11, 2010
By 
Kathleen L. Smith "Kikoa" (Napa, California United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: iMac Portable Genius (Paperback)
I had thought when I ordered this book that it would cover all the how too's from all the applications available starting at the most simple. If that is what you are looking for this is not the book. If you want to learn all of the new extra ones then order away....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars totally useless, January 21, 2013
This review is from: iMac Portable Genius (Paperback)
It's baffling to me that this book is apparently part of a series. I could not find one useful page or topic in the entire book. I've never had such a frustrating reading experience as flipping desperately through its pages, looking for SOMETHING, ANYTHING that's not either impossibly arcane or pointedly obvious. Look elsewhere for help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, November 26, 2014
By 
nd2knit (Nebraska, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: iMac Portable Genius (Paperback)
Helpful info for beginners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great manual, May 17, 2012
By 
Bill Spahr (Orlando, FL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: iMac Portable Genius (Paperback)
This is the best information with the clearest pictures for use in iMovie and iDvd that I've found. It is clearly written and easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

iMac Portable Genius
iMac Portable Genius by Guy Hart-Davis (Paperback - October 4, 2011)
$25.00 $20.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.