Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some tidbits for the advanced user, too
I purchased this book as a gift for my friend's granny, who recently decided to get an iPhone 4S to keep up with her techo wizard grandkids. I was thinking that I'd ship this book to her as soon as I receive it. However after flipping through the book I decided to keep it for myself - and order another, separate one for her! That's because there are so many little tips...
Published on December 5, 2011 by FlyingPolarBear

versus
77 of 87 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really - Just Press the xxx Button!
OK, so I'm not completely computer illiterate... I'm a proficient graphic designer, so I do know my way around a Mac, however, I am new to the iPhone and wanted to get the most out of it, so I ordered this book. MISTAKE. This is not a "How To" book, it's a compilation of what the iPhone will do. No offense, but that's what the Apple site is for. If I wanted a detailed...
Published on December 12, 2011 by AprilK


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some tidbits for the advanced user, too, December 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: iPhone 4S For Dummies (Paperback)
I purchased this book as a gift for my friend's granny, who recently decided to get an iPhone 4S to keep up with her techo wizard grandkids. I was thinking that I'd ship this book to her as soon as I receive it. However after flipping through the book I decided to keep it for myself - and order another, separate one for her! That's because there are so many little tips in here I didn't know about.. even though I've had iPhones for a couple years now. For example I didn't know that if I hold my finger against a picture in Safari that it will allow me to save the image from the web page.. or about the ability to sync with Google and Yahoo calendars. Apple's iPhone manual is truly missing. This book is nicely formatted with colorful headings on quality heavy stock paper (not one of those black & white dummies books). There is basic coverage of iCloud. I'll give this 4 stars (instead of 5) because the iCloud coverage is kind of thin, but it's enough to get familiar with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 87 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really - Just Press the xxx Button!, December 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: iPhone 4S For Dummies (Paperback)
OK, so I'm not completely computer illiterate... I'm a proficient graphic designer, so I do know my way around a Mac, however, I am new to the iPhone and wanted to get the most out of it, so I ordered this book. MISTAKE. This is not a "How To" book, it's a compilation of what the iPhone will do. No offense, but that's what the Apple site is for. If I wanted a detailed description of what the iPhone will do, I'll go there - I wanted the book to find out HOW to do what I know it can do. This book is filled with great gems, like, oh, you can set up reminders by location. However, there is no help for actually getting this neato feature to work. Want to shoot video - you get a vague two pages with helpful insights like press the "fill in any number of button names here" button to get this feature to work - but they never tell you ANYWHERE where these magical buttons are. There is no introduction that gives you a tour of the iPhone, so if you don't already have an intimate knowledge of where all the bells and whistles are, you're on your own. I've had to Google almost every feature to actually get it to work (thanks all you iPhone gurus who've taken the time to write your how-tos - they're deeply appreciated). The only positive to this book is the text is quite conversational - but if I want to be amused, I'll make a funny video... if I can figure out how!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seems to be ok, December 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: iPhone 4S For Dummies (Paperback)
I bought this product for my mother, who made the bold leap from standard cell phone to the iPhone4S without realizing how much technology she was about to experience. Needless to say, she was limited for a while trying to learn the in's and out's of the iPhone software. She told me the book has lots of good information for her and she's happy with it. After reading some other reviews it sounds like the more advanced users aren't fond of this book, but for the average to new smart phone user it will probably do the trick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, January 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: iPhone 4S For Dummies (Paperback)
Still reading through this book cover to cover but loving it so far..Very well done and laid out well and easy to follow. So much to learn with these phones and could not do without this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect for me, February 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: iPhone 4S For Dummies (Paperback)
I bought 2 of these books and both myself and my friend have found them to be very informative. I am new to the use of a smartphone and i am amazed at what all it can do. I never would have known what it could do without this book though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect for a newbie, February 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: iPhone 4S For Dummies (Paperback)
could not have used phone without book. makes it simpler for me to navigate through phone. i am very happy with product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, January 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: iPhone 4S For Dummies (Paperback)
This is a good Dummy book, very thorough, helped me figure out many of the features of my new phone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars for smart dummies, January 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: iPhone 4S For Dummies (Paperback)
After reading this I decided I needed a book for iPhone 4S for Idiots. This was bit over my head. They say that there is an icon to click on, but there is no icon where they say. Perhaps someone will write a manual for Senior Idiots in this new tech society we have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should have one!, September 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: iPhone 4S For Dummies (Paperback)
If you own an iphone4S, and even though you think you know everything there is to know about it, you probably could learn a few more things your phone can do for you. Everyone should order this book, IPHONE 4S FOR DUMMIES. You can read it from cover to cover or simply use it for a reference. I suggest you do both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dummies need this!, July 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: iPhone 4S For Dummies (Paperback)
We are senior citizens and just introducing ourselves to SMART phones...they are certainly more smart than we are; however, this book has been very helpful to us in sorting things out that we didn't quite understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

iPhone 4S For Dummies
iPhone 4S For Dummies by Edward C. Baig (Paperback - December 13, 2011)
Used & New from: $8.25
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.