Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game. Highly Recommend.
My 5 year old daughter loves this game. Initially I had major issues getting it to work with the app on my iPhone 4s but as of a week ago I received an update/patch that apparently fixed the problems. The game is very educational and fun. The only issue with the toy is that it turns off after a minute of no interaction. Sometimes if my daughters is looking at the app...
Published on September 21, 2012 by Tadkelly

versus
76 of 80 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great concept, Good product, Room for improvement
Overall Summary:
This is a great idea for a toy for your kids. It uses your Apple device (iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad, etc.). I've used this with my iPhone 3Gs.
It has great potential, but so far I have found it a little frustrating to use with the apple device (the details of which provided below). Make sure you try it and set it up before giving to your...
Published on September 15, 2012 by Anonymous


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 80 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great concept, Good product, Room for improvement, September 15, 2012
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: iTikes Map (Toy)
Overall Summary:
This is a great idea for a toy for your kids. It uses your Apple device (iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad, etc.). I've used this with my iPhone 3Gs.
It has great potential, but so far I have found it a little frustrating to use with the apple device (the details of which provided below). Make sure you try it and set it up before giving to your kids.
There is lots of potential for future enhancements (more maps, better app, etc).
I think the kids will learn a lot from this toy, but there are definite improvements that could be made to make this a great product. My biggest frustration was the slowness of the connection between the iTikes and the Apple device. The app is interesting, but with time, could be improved to have even more capabilities.
I love the idea, I'm glad I purchased it, and the kids will get lots of use out of it. But I really look forward to the next round with some of the improvements made and hopefully will be able to update this review.

Pros:
-Great concept
-Fun facts that will keep the kids interested
-Interaction with iPhone is fun for the kids, and certain area of the interactive side are a lot of fun for the kids (e.g. - the 3-D rotation and interaction with the dogs)
-Automatic turn-off (though this is also a con - see below)
-App is easy to Install
-Easy to get started with just the game
-Game is fun, even without iPhone / iPad
-Volume Control

Cons:
-Slow to respond when working with the Apple devices.
-Certain areas on certain maps don't work (e.g. fun facts only works for some states)
-Trouble shooting guide does not exist
-Instruction manual on working with the app is not very clear
-App does not always work well (e.g. - can be on the dogs of the world, and it will start playing music from the previous sheet, even though it was just playing the dogs)
-Slow on the responsiveness
-Automatic turns off is too fast
-Some facts are...interesting (the red fox is on the dogs page)
-Using the camera
-Selection sensitivity - The selection ability on some Leap products, such as the tag, is much better. Also, I prefer the Tag's ability to not have to finish every sentence if the child selects something new. It'll go to the new selection and cut off the old one. Some people may prefer this method, however.
-The plug for the stylus falls out too easily, and has a proper orientation for installation so it can be difficult for the kids.

Details:
Start by installing the app. This part is super easy - just search for the right name, which is right in the instructions.
The iTikes game itself needs 3 AA batteries (not included).
Plug in the stylus. The only thing with this, is that it falls out pretty easy when the kids are playing with it. And because of the way it plugs in (there is a right orientation for it) the kids can't plug is back in. If they did, they would try to force it in.
But that is it for setup. Getting the iPhone or other Apple device to work well with the game is a separate issue and needs it's own section below.

Note: Instruction manual with device is very sparse. There is nothing about using the app, other than step-by-step instructions of how to install it. That was the least of my issues. There are no troubleshooting instructions in the manual at all, and I think there should be.

The iTikes Map comes with 6 sheets:
US
Solar System
Prehistoric North America
World Cat
World Music
World Dog

The sheets seem okay in sturdiness. My complaint is that each has a very nice tab at the top, but multiple sheets have the same tab. For example, there are two purple sheets with a map of the US. Two orange with the world, one green with the world, and one green with a solar system. I don't know if the colors have any meaning, but it would be more useful if the tabs had, for instance, a picture of a cat, so you know it's the cat sheet, etc.

Each sheet has 4-5 interactive menu items on the right side of the game that you can select from. The last one is a button called Com-Air which is a signal that is sent form iTikes to your iPhone/iPad/etc letting it know you are ready to use that device. You have to select one of the menu items in order to hear anything when you click on the map to start. These menu items range from Fun Facts to items specific to that sheet (e.g. State Names [US], Cat Personalities [World Cats], Distance from Sun [Space]). A detailed list of each sheet can be found later in the review.

The system turns off automatically after about 60 seconds of not being used. I'm all for an auto-shut off, but this one is a little too short a time, especially while using your Apple device. There is almost not enough time switch sheets. The kids will find this short time frustrating because it will be constantly be shutting off on them.

In additional there are trivia questions that can be selected at the bottom of each sheet with three levels of difficulty on each. A summary of the trivia game is below.

Trivia Summary:
The Easy, Medium, Hard categorizations are not very accurate in terms of difficulty. In some cases, the hard is very easy, and in others, the easy is not something the kids would easily know.
Examples:
Easy - Find a pet dog. Find "Mick the dog".
Hard - Find the moon. Find Mercury.

- You can't get out of the trivia to another question until you get it right or switch modes and you need to be exact on your placement in some cases.
- If you switch maps while in this mode, you must select the Com-Air button (bottom of the six buttons on the right) in order to re-set the questions appropriately.
- If you want to jump to the next question, you have to listen to the entire answer, you can't just jump into the next question. This can be both good an bad - the kids need to listen to the full answer (and hopefully learn something), but can make them impatient as well.
- If you want to keep playing, you need to keep selecting the trivia button on the bottom, it doesn't just jump into the next question or say something simple like "Press again to keep playing". Instead it brings you back the the speech for when you selected the original menu item.

Apple Device:
- Can be used as hand-held or docked to device. I love the idea of having it docked to the device, but the dock isn't tight enough. It slides in to the slot nicely, but it falls out of the slot just as easily. The rotation to landscape is smooth. Make sure you snap the phone into the holder with the camera through the little hole, if you plan on using the camera feature.
- The app does take a little while to load.
- The first time I launched, I just got a black screen on the iPhone. The second time it crashed upon opening. Third time got to an opening picture, but didn't go further. Finally figure out it was likely because the iTikes map had turned off. Once I turned it on, it took the iPhone a while to sync. There was a message on the iPhone saying "Waiting for Device". It eventually connected.
- Waiting for device can take longer than the timeout period on the iTikes, so you need to constantly select something (like the Com-Air button) so it won't turn off.
- Also, using you Apple device uses lots of your battery.

Using the Stylus with Apple Device (via Com-Air selection):
- I couldn't get the camera to work, but I selected this option, and was able to get information when I selected Kentucky (was on the Kentucky Derby) via the iPhone. Somehow, I got back to a cartoon picture with some question marks on the iPhone, but I couldn't do anything. (Eventually, I figured out that this is just a waiting screen while the iPhone was trying to connect or that the app is confused because it can't find your device. You can keep using the iTikes, and eventually it will connect again.) I do not know how to get out of this screen or get back to the home screen for the app.

- Occasionally, selecting anything on the map with the pen didn't show anything on the iPhone, and I couldn't get back to the `home' screen for the app. I had to turn it all off and try again. It took a very long time to connect (I had to keep selecting Com-Air so that the iTikes wouldn't time out). And if it times out while you are playing, you need to start the connection process over.
- You can use the app without the toy, but I can't get back to the home screen to even use that option. I just get stuck. The way out, if it won't connect, or to try to app without the iTikes is to re-start the app.
- I was constantly losing my connection to iPhone and ending up at the question mark cartoon.

- Overall, the concept of using an Apple device with the iTikes map is great. But there is definitely room for improvement in regards to staying connected and speed of use between the two devices. If this improves, it will be great. They should also continue to develop the interactive portion on the iPhone, as it appears slightly immature (they is tremendous possibility, and upgrading apps is easy, so I think there is a future there).

Using the Camera:
- You can get to the camera option by selecting the X in the upper left corner when the the Apple device is working in the Com-Air mode. This part is not self-explanatory, but it's the only way I could get the camera to work. It would be much nicer if there was a small camera icon to select.
- When the camera turned on, it said to put the circle over something on the map you wanted to learn about. There was no circle on my screen, and hovering over the map on any area did not work. I still have not gotten this feature to work.

The following provides details on each of the six sheets.

States:
Note: While it says to touch anywhere on the map, you need to touch the star on each state.

Menu Items:
Fun Facts - (example: The Colorado River runs from here all the way down to the Sea of Cortez in Mexico). There is an issue on this one as it doesn't work for all the states.
State Names
State Animals
State Capitals
State Sizes and Mottos - Some states will give you the size (e.g. - Alaska is the biggest state.) And other states will give you facts (e.g. - In Oklahoma, there are more cows than people.) This is actually listed incorrectly in the instruction booklet as that states "State Names" again.
Com-Air

Space:
Menu Items:
Fun facts
Distance from Sun
Distance from Earth
Size
Order from Sun
Com-Air

Apple Device:
- Mostly 3-D images with the iPhone, which is cool, but doesn't show a whole lot more, just a different view of the surrounding stars. Let's you zoom a little, but even that part is not up to what you expect out of your touch screen on the iPhone or iPad. This interactive feature (the 3-D rotation) won't hold the kids attention for long. It would be nice if it gave additional facts on the interactive screen.
- Certain areas, like the comet, don't seem to work with the iPhone.

World Music Map:
Menu Items:
Fun Facts
Music
Learn how to say "Hello" in different languages
Learn how to say "Good-bye" in different languages - didn't always work with iPhone
Continents, Countries and Oceans
Com-Air

Apple Interactive:
- Music - touch the person to have them start or stop playing music.
- Via the menu items, you can learn to say hello or good-bye. But because the response between iTike and iPhone can be slow, when you select an area, the iPhone will turn on and play music, overwhelming the speakers from the iTikes game. I think what is supposed to happen is that the iTikes will give you the information, and then the iPhone will play the music from that country. The problem is that the iPhone is too slow to respond, or perhaps it is the iTikes.
- This one, you need to select the people, not the countries for certain games. It would be nice if you could select either one OR if the mode you were in told you what to select (people, country, etc). They will eventually figure it out, but this would be helpful. In general, the text that goes with the menu items could be shortened.

World Dogs:
Menu Items:
Fun Facts
Dog Types
Dog Personalities
Continents, Countries and Oceans
Com-Air

Apple Interactive:
- Will be a favorite of the kids. In most areas, the dogs (when it works) can be rotated around in 3-D, and if you touch the dog, it will bark. I do wish there were a few more facts, however.
Certain dogs seem to have facts versus the interactive 3-D image. I'm not sure why they are different.

World Cats:
Menu Items:
Fun Facts
Cat Types
Cat Personalities
Continents, Countries and Oceans
Com-Air

Apple Interactive:
- Some have additional facts on the cats. You scroll through the different screens.
Others have the 3-D representation where you can rotation the cat, and if you touch the cat, it will meow. This will be popular with the kids.

Prehistoric North America:
Menu Items:
Fun Facts
Time Periods
What they Ate
Where they Lived (e.g. Land Animal)
State Names
Com-Air

Apple Interactive:
- 3-D and fact screens (depends on the dinosaur).

Not sure yet:
- Battery life
- How long the kids' interest will hold (expect longer than most toys)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game. Highly Recommend., September 21, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: iTikes Map (Toy)
My 5 year old daughter loves this game. Initially I had major issues getting it to work with the app on my iPhone 4s but as of a week ago I received an update/patch that apparently fixed the problems. The game is very educational and fun. The only issue with the toy is that it turns off after a minute of no interaction. Sometimes if my daughters is looking at the app and not touching the game with the stylus it turns off and frustrates her. I also had to exchange it because it had issues with the on off switch. Overall this is almost more fun for her than her LeapPad. This will be the game for the Holiday season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy!, February 9, 2013
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: iTikes Map (Toy)
My 5 yr old son saw a commercial for this product and wanted it for Christmas. Santa got it for him but upon opening it that clear plastic "cover" fell off...and it has NEVER stayed on! All the boards fall out anytime he uses it because that cover DOES NOT stay in place. Now let's talk about the strap...it comes off more often than it stays on. Completely useless. The pen falls out easily also. It's a complete frustration session every time my son tries to use it for its "educational value". At this point all I want to do is smash it with a hammer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Could be a fun toy but poorly made, December 27, 2012
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: iTikes Map (Toy)
My kids got this toy for Christmas and loved it. But two days after Christmas it is completely worthless as the "pen/stylist" thing no longer plugs into the device. Also the plastic lid on top falls off completely. Don't waste your money. Definitely not worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cheap build with a poorly written app., December 26, 2012
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: iTikes Map (Toy)
We purchased this gift for our 5 year old daughter for Christmas. I have some quick notes to relate.

First off, this item is very poorly built. The clear cover on the top that is supposed to hold the map cards in does not stay on... at all. I swear it will fall off completely (not just hinge) with the slightest movement or bump. We have found this to be very irritating when trying to play with the device. The rest of the device is just OK but on the cheap side of build quality.

We have 2 iPod Touches for the kids to play with. Finding and installing the required app was simple. The app will not start on the Gen 3 iPod Touch. The Gen 4 iPod Touch starts and runs the apps, but the app doesn't really do much anyways, and the connection between devices is pretty flaky and it is slow when it does work. The camera portion of the app does not seem to do anything at all. Perhaps this is because I don't have the "latest and greatest" iPods/iPhones but I don't think this shouldn't be an issue.

So, in conclusion... not worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not only does my daughter love it, every single child that sees it does to., January 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: iTikes Map (Toy)
I got this for my 7 year old daughter. She's pretty rough on toys so I really didn't expect it to work for much longer than a few weeks. We also don't have iPhones so we use it without those functions.

My daughter absolutely loves this thing. She insists on taking it with her everywhere and wherever she does, every child in the building will congregate around her and watch her play with it. It amazes me to see these kids who have iPads and Kindles will literally sit them down and come over to try to play with this toy. The best part is they are having so much fun with it, they aren't even aware how much they are learning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy, November 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: iTikes Map (Toy)
I like this toy better than my daughter! The fact that we can use her iPod to show facts is so cool. No trouble getting it to work and bought it for a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great learning tool, December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: iTikes Map (Toy)
I bought this for my 8 year old for Christmas. She enjoys it, but I'm thinking it would be great if you could buy some additional information sheets to learn about. This one comes with about 6 I think, but she has already started to listen to the same ones over. It is fantastic for a car ride or if you need something to keep them busy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old School Meets New School, December 5, 2012
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: iTikes Map (Toy)
My boys (4 and 5) are all of the sudden very interested in maps and different locations. They are so curious about everything and it is so hard to explain to them about the different states, cities and planets. While I do have some apps for them on my iPod Touch, they get sidetracked and start playing games or the iPod dies. The iTikes Map by Little Tikes is a great toy that not only has so many great features to it but it can be used with or without an iPod/iPhone.

Using the device is so easy. Just click on a spot (button) on the right side and then tap on somewhere on the map. The sheets are easy to change and my boys had no problem figuring out how and what to click. We did have some spots that we tried to tap on and it didn't work, but it was more so getting used to what each map did and where to tap the pen. The On/Off button and volume worked perfectly and we had no issues with that.

Like I said, the iTikes Map is easy to use. My boys can easily change the maps and tap around. They use it both with and without a device, and actually they probably prefer it without. The app on the device is a little slow (or that's just our device) and my boys are inpatient. It is nice though to have and when something pops up, it pops up. For example if you click on a certain city that has an interactive part on the device, it says a fact or something about the point. I was amazed though at how long my boys sat and played with this map. There are quizzes and games to play with three different levels, so it does grow with your child. My boys don't use them yet, but they love clicking around.

The carrying handle makes it fun and easy to carry around and there is a lot of educational aspects to it. I think this is really a great device and see us getting a lot of use out of it! There is always room for improvement but what I like about this is its both old school (maps and pen) with new school (iPod/iPhone.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Glad I got this on sale, March 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: iTikes Map (Toy)
Without the iphone (and I don't know how exciting it will be then} it is pretty boring for a 5 year old. Her parents haven't had time to download the app and really don't seem to have much interest to do so. Also there is a long clear plastic casing on the top when you hold it vertical that is suppose to cover all the different maps that just will not stay on. As I said -glad I bought this on sale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

iTikes Map
iTikes Map by iTikes
$59.99 $18.18
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.