Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Tap Giveaway Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer TL256 TL256 TL256  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 15, 2011
I was impressed by the fact that Steve had only good things to say about his relationships. What a great attitude. Someone we can all look up to.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2011
This is a very interesting look into the personality and life of one of the most influential technological innovators of all time. Steve Wozniak has a huge ego, but it is commensurate with his achievements. Lincoln wasn't a modest man either, despite the mythology that has sprouted around his legacy.

Woz was a very bright child whose intellect was nurtured by his father, his teachers and his environment (Silicon Valley, HP, etc). He built a digital adding and subtracting machine using over 100 transistors as a science fair project as a child. I'm sure his dad helped him, but he built it and, more importantly, he designed it. It was crude, (the inputs were toggle switches and the output was a series of light bulbs) but it worked! While designing calculators for Hewlett-Packard in his day job, at night he continued designing and redesigning the logic for Atari games on paper. He kept refining the design to use the minimum number of logic elements. Woz's stories about Steve Jobs are also insightful: Woz contends that Jobs' shortchanged him on revenue received from Atari from Woz's work on simplifying game logic circuitry. Woz also says that Jobs quit Apple in 1984 and wasn't fired. He also talks about his failed marriages; his enrollment at Berkely under the alias "Rocky Racoon Clark" and the plane crash in 1981 that damaged his brain.

One of Woz's major achievements was designing the Apple 2 interface for a floppy disk drive (which in the mid 1970s was a brand new storage device). This was not straightforward and involved extremely complex and creative hardware and software design. He says he did all this in two weeks-- The Apple 2 was the only computer to have a floppy drive at the national computer exhibition in 1977. All the other computers used audio cassette tape drives--which were much slower--for storage!

Woz was also a prankster and the book details many of them, including his Dial-a-Polish-Joke line (Woz is Polish). He once called the Pope, claiming to be Henry Kissinger. (The Pope called HK and figured out that the call was a prank.) He also talks about how his mother got his picture with Richard Nixon in the San Jose Mercury News when RN was campeigning for governor of California in 1962.

Having said all that, this book has major problems. It is so colloquial--to the point of embarressment--that it is hard to beleive that it was written by an educated person and with a co-author to boot! He would helped his credability immensely if he would have cut the colloquialisms and given a little precise engineering description of some of his amazing projects. The way they are described, you'd never gain an appreciation as to their immense technological complexity.

In the final chapter, Woz advises people who want to create great thechnological things to work alone. I wonder if this isn't an indication of his inability to precisely communicate via the written word. Maybe it is the result of the result of the brain damage from his plane crash. Again, you could scarcely beleive that a guy who designed all those amazing things would write like this. I would have hope that a co-author would have fixed this.

This is an interesting, breezy book that gives some important insights into the author, the computer revolution in general and Apple and Steve Jobs in particular. I just wish it was written better.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2012
I read iWoz just after the Steve Jobs biography, which I enjoyed reading very much. I must say that iWoz, though not as interesting a read, it was a good change of pace and definitely the nicer of the 2 Steves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2007
This was a thoroughly enjoyable book for "geeks", historians of recent events, and those who just want to know how computers went from huge air conditioned shrines, to winding up on everyone's desktop. iWoz gives you a feel for just how surprising it was to invent a revolutionary product. Whether you're an Mac, Windows or Linux holy warrior, you have to be impressed by how the personnel computer started and changed almost every aspect of our lives. I found his engineer's perspective enlightening, and at times had a deeply familiar quality.

If you have read Bill Gates, Tim Berners-Lee, or Robert Metcalfe's Biographies, Woz will give you the last piece of the technology puzzle of how things came to be, and frankly, it is a much better read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2010
If it's one thing I can't stand, it's rewriting history. Wozzie may very well be an important figure in the history of personal computing, but certainly no larger than Chuck Peddle (for example). The book contains many incorrect facts about competitors and at times is painful to read. To steal a phrase from Ford Fairlane- it's like masturbating with a cheese grater. Slightly entertaining but mostly painful.

A far better read in this genre is Brian Bagnall's "On the Edge: the Spectacular Rise and Fall of Commodore", or perhaps the recent rewrite "Commodore: A life on the edge".
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2011
I started to read this book after iCon by Jeffrey S. Young and William L. Simon. I think it's more fun to read a same story in both ways. I'm interested in Apple's history especially the early days. iWoz is the book to help me. Compared with iCon, iWoz is a much easier book, which means no difficult words inside. Thanks to Woz's casual way of writing.

You will find tremendous little stories on the tech icon in this book. I can't say Woz was smarter than anyone of us. But he was lucky enough to witness the start of era of computers. Any one had the vision could be a big success now. Don't be sad. We still have the same chance. One example is Mark Zuckerburg and Facebook.

What about the next Facebook and Apple? That depends on your own vision.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2011
Steve Wozniak is my personal hero, and one of the most important people alive today, thanks to his invention of the first practical and mass-marketed personal computer. It is great to hear his story coming from himself, but honestly, this book doesn't say much of anything new that you can't find in previous books (such as Computer: A History Of The Information Machine, Second Edition (The Sloan Technology Series) and Apple Confidential 2.0: The Definitive History of the World's Most Colorful Company), with the sole exception maybe being his childhood contributions to science fairs. It's a wonderful and inspirational story, to be sure, but it's been told before. Still, I liked this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2006
Anyone who knows the computer world well knows the name of engineer Steve Wozniak, who in 1975 came up with the idea of blending computer circuitry with a typewriter keyboard and video screen to create the first PC. It's all well-known fact, so why an autobiography? Surprisingly, here Wozniak tells his story for the first time, examining and analyzing the influence on his inventions and blending a surprising humor into his self-assessment and life story. Any with an affection for computers will want to learn from his story.

Diane C. Donovan

California Bookwatch
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2008
I enjoyed reading this book but like others, I found it annoying at times. It is an autobiography. Most of the book is about boring details of Steve Wozniak's life. His account of how Apple Computer started and how the Apple I and II where created is very interesting, unfortunately it is a very small part of the book. It was very annoying reading his constant bragging about how humble he is.

The book gave me a better understanding of early PC history and the history of Apple. I also wanted to learn more about a guy I consider a hero. I did learn more about Woz but I must say that based on what I learned from this book I respect him a lot less than before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2006
I loved this book.

I ejoy reading about the days when personal computers were just getting off the ground and this book takes you right there. It's a surprisingly easy read (although there are some far-too-in-depth detours such as Woz's painful account of how he get a floppy drive working on the Apple II).

iWoz is funny and informative - I had no idea Woz was the first guy to put a monitor (TV, anyway) on a small computer.

BTW, if you like this sort of book, I would also recommend "Hackers: Heroes of the Computer Revolution" by Steven Levy (ISBN: 0141000511).
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse