Customer Reviews

537
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

46 of 63 people found the following review helpful
on May 29, 2009
Format: Video Game
inFamous is a game that you might think is awesome at first glance. It's about a boy/man who jumps around and climbs on things and electrocutes thugs and stuff. WELL GUESS THE F^%$ WHAT? That's the game, and you were right, it is awesome. It's a great superhero game, but on the other side of the coin (if this metaphorical coin were Harvey Dent's coin from The Dark Knight, it would be the burnt side) you can also be a scary villain. And if Star Wars has taught us anything, which obviously it has (like about the force and stuff) it's that good guys have blue energy and bad guys have red energy. And this game is no exception. This game is so much better than FIFA Soccer 09 which is a game in which you are expected to do nothing but play soccer. It's so boring! You never get to electrocute anyone! If you pick a good guy country (USA!) you not only don't have blue energy, you don't even have energy because you're just a bunch of dudes playing soccer! They already have that game in real life, why put it on PS3? So stupid. If you've already bought FIFA Soccer 09 instead of inFamous, you made a huge mistake. I'm sorry, not even a grandma who buys FIFA Soccer 09 instead of inFamous for her son for Christmas because she's blind and isn't hip to the gaming scene should be forgiven for that.

Pros:
You can do a lot of things in the city, like NOT play soccer.
Different colors of energy based on if you kill bystanders on accident or on purpose.
Grind without a skateboard like Tony Hawk would if he didn't require a skateboard.
Hurt/kill others. Eat their souls for power and then hurt/kill their friends! F#$%^ YEAH! I wish I could do that in real life. They'd think twice before they'd kick me off the soccer team!

Cons:
No blood, so when someone falls a million miles, they don't explode with blood.
No children/animals/babies in the city to electrocute with RED ENERGY!
Main guy has short hair so it's not spiky.
FIFA Soccer 09.

So what else can I say? It's awesome and rad, buy it instead of FIFA Soccer 09, the worst game in history.
1313 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Format: Video Game
I'm 14 years old and I have played both inFamous and the Sly Cooper games that game out long ago by the same company, Sucker Punch. My review includes pros and cons, and I hope you find it useful.

--inFamous takes place in a ruined city--

inFamous: Action, medium-sized open world, fast combat, upgradable powers.

This review contains no spoilers.

As stated above, inFamous takes place in a ruined city ravaged by plague and anarchy. You play the hero (or anti-hero, you later decide, based on your actions) Cole. You were told to deliver a mysterious package. About halfway through your delivery, you are told to open the package. Upon opening it, a tremendous and devastating explosion erupts from it, destroying everything around you, killing everyone - except you. After picking your way through the ruins to safety, you find that you have attained amazing electrical powers. As you progress through the story, you quickly gain new and powerful abilities. I will now list the pros and cons of inFamous.

Pros:

Engaging storyline - The inFamous storyline takes you through the triumphs and struggles that come with mastering your new powers. People in the story will try to dissuade you from your path, and many would like to have your powers as well, even if they have to go to dangerous lengths to get it. The ending, no spoiler, will blow your mind. Guarenteed. No one will/has ever seen it coming.

Tons of things to do - While you always have the storyline to turn to for a good time, you also have multiple side missions that later define your character. (As discussed in a later Pro-con). You can also collect what are called Blast Shards, shards left behind from the blast that gave you your powers, to further enhance your powers.

Good at making you feel powerful - Of all the games I've played (an unending plethora of them), none have made me feel as powerful as inFamous did. You can literally destroy everything in sight (besides buildings, of course) cars, crates, barrels, people. Your massive array of powers will undoutedly give you a feeling of almightiness. You can (maybe a tiny semi-spoiler) later unlock new powers as you progress through the story, some of which allow you to glide, throw shock grenades, and many more.

Open World - inFamous doesn't have the biggest explorable world ever, but it certainly is fairly large. Again, plenty of things to do, improving your character, and blissfully wreaking havoc wherever you see fit.

Good or Evil? - Many players like being able to decide whether their character is good or evil. The missions and actions that you complete throughout the game define the character you are. If you are good, citizens will cheer for you and praise you, but if you're evil they will throw rocks at you and certain evil bosses become fond of you. The road that you decide to ride on the good or evil interstate determines some powers that you can attain later on, each standing having its own power.

Cons:

Not the best graphics - Not the best graphics... Few games have really made "best graphics". The graphics in inFamous are a little shoddy, but not to the point of un-playability. Movements of the characters, such as tilting their heads or flinching in your presence are abrupt, quick. Anyone who has played Sucker Punch's earlier game, Sly Cooper, should have that recollection. Overall on the graphics, they could be better, but definitely meet the standards expected in a PS3 game.

Comic book cutscenes - Some people may find this to be a pro, maybe for being a creative idea on Sucker Punch's part. I thought it was pretty cool, but I'm sure some people may have some complaints about the fact that inFamous uses what looks like flipping comic book pages for cutscenes. They have small blotches of paint in the sides, which fans of the cutscenes should like. The only noticable flaw in the cutscenes is that it steals away from the action, whilst normal cutscenes would make better use of explosions and such.

Limited enemies? - While not following the storyline (i.e doing miscellaneous quests) the player will find special, character determining side-mssions. Upon completing these side-missions, the player will receive an occasional reward, but the area in which you completed that mission in will be cleared of enemies. This will definitely be fun until you actually complete them all. Eventually the entire game will be cleared of enemies, and when combined with the fact that you've completed all the side missions, you'll be left with only the storyline, if you haven't completed that, and the collection of Blast Shards. You can awlays choose to avoid these side-missions, though.

Ending - This con (or a pro, can't decide) contains no spoilers. I doubt that the ending will disappoint any players, but it may baffle many of them. An interesting and certainly unexpected twist in the end will more than likely leave many players scratching their heads, though the sequel is coming out/has come out.

This is neither a pro nor a con, but inFamous does not have any blood, very little cursing, and no sexuality. It earned its T for teens rating because of all the senselss (and eerily fun) destruction you bring upon unsuspecting citizens.

Overall, I would give inFamous 4 stars, maybe 3.85% out of 5%. not the best yet still fit the request graphics, no maturity features aside from rare-swears, gleeful destruction with the use of insurmountably devastating powers, engaging storyline, limited (though limit-ness can be avoided) enemies, and an unbelievably astonishing ending. Now that the price has gone down a bit since release, inFamous would be worth a try, though it's probably not worth $60 (some people may say differently, it's how you determine it). I'd give it an 8/10 rating.

I hope this review has been helpful to you.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on October 27, 2010
Format: Video Game
Infamous sets itself apart from other open world "sandbox" action games because there are never any dull moments. This holds true for the story, the missions and most of all, the gameplay. This is quite a feat, and this is why this was the most fun I've had playing an open world action game since GTA: San Andreas.

In Infamous, you control Cole, a bike messenger who finds himself endowed with amazing & destructive electrical powers after surviving a mysterious explosion in the middle of the city in which he lives. Cole is a great character. He says all the things you'd expect a completely pissed off regular-Joe-turned-bad@$$ to say. Right away, you are tossed into the middle of a conspiracy that grows more sinister and intriguing with each completed mission. All the while, Cole has to deal with his ever growing abilities as well as the city's residents' reactions to him. There are "good" and "evil" choices that you will have to make in this game that will not only affect the storyline and the city's reactions to you, but also the way your superpowers evolve. This system is very well implemented and seamlessly blends into the story and gameplay. The story unfolds beautifully (especially with the help of some awesome, graphic novel-inspired cut scenes) and never loses pace nor substance, and is capped by the first game ending this generation that has completely blown me away. Missions are never dull either. Although there are several missions that require similar objectives, all the missions feel distinct and fresh. They never feel like tasks or chores. This is quite the accomplishment for a game with so many missions!

The highlight of Infamous is the gameplay. Infamous excels on all fronts in this department. Controlling Cole is a sheer joy. This is the first open world game I've ever played where moving my character from place to place never once felt tedious in the 30+ hours I put into the game. A lot of this has to do with Cole's abilities. He is capable of easily scaling buildings, jumping (and later gliding) from rooftop to rooftop, making dramatic drops from the tops of skyscrapers to the streets below, electrically sliding across train tracks and power lines...there are just so many ways that Cole can use his powers and the environment to make even the most basic movements a thrill. One aspect of the game that surprised me because it was so unexpected is the platforming. There are several sections of the game where Cole has to platform across areas to accomplish mission objectives and these parts of the game are just awesome, especially the levels in the sewers. Cole's ever evolving abilities make the platforming more and more fun as the game progresses. In a nutshell, just moving Cole around Empire City is a thrill. I don't recall ever playing an open world game where this was the case.

The other great element of the gameplay is the combat. It's extremely satisfying and extremely fun. Especially when fighting at street level, a battle with multiple enemies can look up looking like a big budget Jerry Bruckheimer production. Electricity and bullets flying everywhere, explosions bursting all around you, cars and bodies getting hurled through the air...you have to see it to believe it. It's just as fun as it sounds. Enemies attack from around you, above, and below. As Cole's powers become more advanced and more destructive, he gains the abilities to wipe out huge groups of enemies in seemingly unlimited ways, which makes you feel like a truly powerful being. And when you combine the combat with the exceptional freedom of movement the game provides, it just multiplies the fun factor. Bottom line, this is a fun game to play. One of the funnest I've ever played.

There are a couple of improvements that could be made. While the game isn't visually weak in any way, it doesn't have a striking visual style that so many other games this generation do have. This is not a hindrance in any way. The graphics are very satisfactory, if unspectacular. Another issue has to do with the climbing mechanic, a double edged sword. When Cole is either jumping or falling and passes close by a surface that can be grabbed, he will grab it. 90% of the time, this is a good thing. It is necessary to be able to keep Cole under control in these situations without too much difficulty. But there are also times when it becomes a nuisance, like for instance when you are trying to grab an item that is hovering beneath the window sill of the 13th floor of a 25 story building. Like the graphics, this is not a game breaker in any way, just a minor flaw that doesn't detract from the overall enjoyment of the game at all.

A final thought....this is the first game I've played that I think be absolutely incredible in 3D, and would greatly benefit by being presented in that medium.

If you own a PS3 and you like open world action games, you can't afford to miss this one. It's simply awesome.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon October 2, 2010
Format: Video Game
"InFamous" is one of the toughest video games to review, because even though I loved playing it from start to finish, I can't help but feel it could've been so much better. It's a game with a lot of well-implemented concepts and the rare original that deserves a sequel. But every time I turned the game off, my mind kept reanalyzing what wasn't so good about "Infamous". How can such a fun ride with the controller in my hand get such criticisms when I'm not playing it?

"InFamous" is a story that belongs right in a comic book, as our superhero/supervillain Cole delivers a package that suddenly explodes into a devastating electrical bomb. Some people are altered by the explosion's energy, but everyone is affected by it. The metropolitan Empire City is in shambles. The government won't save the people. The police can't save the peoople. The criminals are free to ravage the city. But soon into our story, Cole is contracted by the CIA to use his powers to restore the city and prevent the deadly RaySphere from falling into the wrong hands.

I've described Cole as a superhero AND supervillain because you get to choose whether he's a savior or menace to society. Your actions will be gauged and scored, and the new electrical powers you acquire will depend on whether you use your powers for good or evil. This may seem like a gimmick, but as the game progresses, you notice subtle changes in Empire City. Being a good hero will have citizens take pictures of you, hang banners of you, and keep the streets a little cleaner. However, should you become a dastardly villain, people will either fear you or show the utmost disrespect for you. I call these subtle changes because the only way to really notice them is to play the game both times. You might not be very impressed with how your moral choices affect the city until you see the other side of the coin. That's not exactly a 'problem', because "InFamous" is well worth playing a second time. But since the story is almost the same either way, your first playthrough might not impress on that Game-of-the-Year level.

"InFamous" is an open-world game, which means you are free to roam the city as you please, and take on the missions at your own pace. There isn't a whole lot to do besides the story levels and side quests, but the high number of both will ensure you play "InFamous" for a good while. Although there are a lot of 'categories' for these missions, they all boil down to taking down your enemies, finding/activating an object, and occasionally keeping a person or vehicle safe. In other words, although your reasons for the missions will change, how you deal with the problem remains the same. You will pretty much have to climb buildings, fight your foes, and may be asked to push the Triangle button on an object. Rinse. Repeat.

The weird thing is that "InFamous" asks you to basically do the same things over and over again, yet it never gets old. It only really got on my nerves when I turned off the game and started to reflect. I think my issues with the mission variety wouldn't be so bad if the game had a stronger presentation. Aside from the comicbook-style cutscenes and electrical power effects, this game feels like it belongs on an X-Box or PS2. I'm guessing that the PS3 is used to maintain quick loadtimes and smooth framerates. If that's the case, thank God for the PS3. But some of the in-game cinematics and animations look pretty poor. I used to lower the bar for open-world games in terms of graphics, but ever since "Grand Theft Auto IV" put that notion to rest in summer 2008, I expect a 2009 videogame to offer the same level of detail. Perhaps if "InFamous" looked as sharp as other PS3-exclusives, I wouldn't complain so much.

However, the controls are as smooth as can be. Cole can climb every building in the city, fall from great heights and feel no pain, and can use the city's eletricity to restore his power. Eventually, you gain new transportation abilities, like skating on power lines, standing atop a moving train, and hovering in the sky. The only complaint here is that hovering isn't as tight as it could be, because it's hard to steer if you're already moving ahead at great velocity. However, I suppose that's realistic, in a superhero world anyway. And even though I'm tired of regenerative health systems --- meaning you have no life bar, but must keep out of danger if you're hurt to heal --- it makes sense in the world of "InFamous". Cole may be more than a human, but he's not a god.

The story is good enough, and narrowly avoids what could've been annoying traits. Your foolish best friend/sidekick is more silly than aggravating, a strong feat since he makes some stupid choices. The estranged girlfriend isn't fully explored, but in the chaotic Empire City, both Trish and Cole have more urgent matters at hand. You receive your orders and missions through radio chatter (like "BioShock" or "Dead Space"), but since Cole actually speaks his mind and has a soul, it's the right balance of being used by a higher power and reacting to the circumstances around you. The anarchist villains might not be developed enough, because there's a strong attachment to Empire City, it's enough for your greed/heroism to challenge the attackers. However, there is a great plot twist I doubt anybody will see coming. Finally, we've been promised that in the upcoming "InFamous 2" goes, we've your old saves will impact the sequel's storyline.

Hardcore gamers like to use the saying, "If the gameplay is good, then who cares about the graphics?" In the case of "InFamous", they're absolutely right. The game is an entertaining blast from start to finish, and I couldn't wait to play it to the end, and I had just as much fun on my 2nd playthrough to be an evil force in Empire City. However, considering how good other PS3 games looked, I expected more. It's a good-looking game, but feels like it's only on PS3 to have shorter load times and smoother framerates. I realize those are strange criticisms, but think of it this way: It's the perfect opportunity for "InFamous 2" to make an even better sequel. So many original games get sequels that can't possibly outdo their first outings; "InFamous" is one of those franchises that can get better and better. The pieces are in place. The story is open for more exploration. The superpowers are a blast to use. It's time for Sucker Punch Studios to take this very good first chapter and make this franchise into a force to be reckoned with.

The best compliment I can give "InFamous" is that I never hated playing the game, and I can't wait for the sequel. It's rare that we crave the next chapter after playing through a good story.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on June 6, 2009
Format: Video Game
I have no idea why but initially I wasn't feeling "Infamous" all that much. Brought to you by the development team who did the "Sly Cooper" series on the Playstation 2, here was this PS3 exclusive game coming out yet I wasn't like "oh my god I have definately got to get this game" but felt more like "well looks like fun, probably rent it when it comes out". This is the part where I'd eat my words if I only had naysayed the game because this thing is fun and strangely addicting since I'd often find myself playing for extended periods of time and sure it's got a couple of issues but it's one of the top games released so far this year and I even find it funner than "Killzone 2".

Story: You play as Cole McGrath who after delivering a package which subsequently blows up, near destroying Liberty City and branded a "terrorist" by the city people, Cole finds himself gifted/cursed with the ability to control and harness lightning and electricity. The city contained to keep in the Reavers, infected people terrorizing the populace, Cole strikes a deal with an agent named Moya: find her husband John and find out about something called the "Ray Sphere" and he'll allow her to leave. But Cole has another thing to find out: who gave him the package, why did he have it and the voice he hears occasionally.

Graphics: Graphically Infamous looks nice though you're probably not gonna go "wow" a lot. In a way the graphic style is more pleasant to look at and looks really great but in terms of POP, the game doesn't have that wow factor you might get with Killzone 2 or Metal Gear Solid 4 or even the other open world sandbow game, Grand Theft Auto IV. I did notice a couple of glitches such as jittery civilians where they seemingly get stuck, I actually fell through the streets and died once but I barely noticed any drops in framerate and slowdown, especially one mission involving a bus and...let's just say you can spam attacks and graphically? Awesome. Having cutscenes be comic book style? Excellent.

Sound/Music: Music-wise I didn't notice a whole lot special though it's by no means forgettable but music in games is usually meant to enhance the game whereas I felt it drifted in the background. Big action shootouts are frenetic but not intense which the music should've done. Voice acting though is quite good with Cole having the standard gruff cig-smoker voice while the other actors are quite well characterized. The city populace is nice as well and the constant complaints about your stink (probably because you can't shower thanks to your powers) can get funny though it's like "Yes I know I stink, shut up".

Gameplay: "Infamous" gameplay combines the open-world of Crackdown and Grand Theft Auto with upgradeable abilities which ties into Cole's gifts with electricity. He starts out with your standard electrobolt which is basically like your ammo until you unlock stuff like shockwave which acts as a "pusher", a electro-grenade which you can stick to people Halo-style, and your main mode of transport, grinding where you can surf the train rails or power lines. Upgrading your abilities is pretty fun since you can unlock some actual useful upgrades as opposed to just "this but tougher" and XP is actually pretty frequent and though they're usually just 10-15 for enemy takedowns and maybe 3 for dealing with fallen enemies and civilians. Also since you can be evil or good, the abilities can change how the powers actually work. My one complaint is how you get them as there is a clear formula: go down a manhole, charge a station, get your power and make it through a really dark sewer with your new gifts but all and all, using electricity is super fun.

One complaint that I will address is the enemies and I will say this: you will die...frequently. While the checkpoint system is incredibly forgiving, the enemy aim is exceptionally skilled even at long distances, you have to contend with missile launching buggers, turrets, turrets on top of trucks and more than once I died from at least 8-10 and some sections even more. The game's not Ninja Gaiden difficult where you feel like giving up or call the game unfair but more than once it's like "oh come on, give me at least a little chance". Another thing the game includes is a good/evil mechanic where the more good you are, the more celebrity and popular the city sees you, putting up posters and even helping out during shootouts and taking pictures. But if you're evil, they'll boo and even throw stuff at you but when you can cause as much mayhem as you want, just fry the buggers. Only problem is that there's no grey area where you really have to think about your choices it's either: save these people and not take their goodies or kill everybody and take it all.

Some of the side missions are slightly repetitive where they range from fun to extremely tedious and/or frustrating but the story is intriguing and really well-told. But as an exclusive, Infamous is definately worth checking out for PS3 fans.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on June 5, 2009
Format: Video GameVerified Purchase
I don't write many reviews, but when a game comes out that is this engrossing and this captivating. Then I let poeple know. That's the way it should be.

Firstly let me just say I don't do free roam games real well.I never could really get into them for some reason, But this game hands down caught my attention from day one and held onto it with vice grips.

The good.
Man oh man what a storyline. I can't even write enough about how much I loved the storyline. It grabs you from the beginning and just holds on and will not let you go.Without Spoiling..I'll just say the end (at least on the good side) blows your mind.

Go bonkers.
What a way to come home and blow off steam.Let er rip tear things apart to take down the bad guys(or good guys.whoever) once you really learn how to use your new found abilities, That's when the real fun begins.

Do the Missions.
Good missions, Unlike most free roam games that do the missions. You get to see the outcome of your hard work(good game).In other words unlike games like web of shadows. The bad guys don't stick around in hordes once you've cleaned up the area.It really gives you a sense of accomplishment.

Fluid moves and gameplay. Make this game come to life.
besides having a partly beleivable character and cast of supporting roles.It really does give you the Impression your just an average Joe with a new found power.

The Bad.
Yep..but only one bad point i can think of.
Mister Human fly routine. while awesome and fun and adds to the texture of the gameplay. The guy tends to stick to everything ! It can get pretty dang annoying when your doing them quests that require fast movements, and impossible when you do the others that require you to keep on a given target.

Overall.
One of the best games I have played in awhile.
Winnar
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on June 5, 2009
Format: Video Game
This is the game that Playstation 3 needed to jump start a good year. You play as Cole, a messenger who is part of a catastrophic event that changes his life forever.

The game is an open-world adventure that gives the player ability to choose whether you will be a hero or InFamous. This game unlike Star Wars: The Force Unleashed actually gives you options. Do you save that pedestrian or fry him with your powers?

There are 39 main story missions and numerous side missions. Each mission helps you clear the city of thugs and unlock facilities. There are good/evil missions that depending on how many you do unlike different powers. There are about 8-10 missions you run across and many are repeated in different sectors with new enemies thrown at you. For those worried about trying to do everything before the end. After the end you are afforded the opportunity to finish some loose ends (Blast Shards; Side missions)

Pros:
--> Lightning Powers (Especially Lightning Storm)
--> The Story - Surprisingly good; not exceedingly long, but stick it out. It is worth it.
--> Control Scheme - Every button has a purpose and you quickly learn what everything is.
-> The enemies - They actually vary in difficulty and appearance. They can seem relentless at times.
--> Difficulty - The game defaults on medium difficulty but you have the ability to lessen it or increase it as you see fit.
--> Comic cut scenes - beautifully done and you are able to view them over as you unlock them
--> Open world is fun to navigate. Graphics are amazing. Some may hope for more.

Cons:
-> The enemies - towards the end of the game you run into invisible enemies. Cool idea but if you have the ability why aren't all enemies this way. (This was something I thought odd) Also enemies will chase you for blocks for no reason.
-> The repetitiveness - can get old depending on how long you sit there playing. Especially if you do a lot of side missions.
-> Dying really doesn't have a negative effect. I understand you don't want to punish newer gamers, or seasoned ones, for not getting the game but no negative effect at all is ridiculous. They may have done this because you will die. It is inevitable.
-> Open-world is limited to superficial building structures. If you are hoping for Fallout 3 level of detail like being able to check every building out this is not your game.

I just beat it tonight. I would recommend all that play be good first. Being evil is easy, zap everything in sight. If you run through the story you can probably beat it in 10-15 hours depending on your learning curve of the abilities. It took me 20-25 hours and I did all the side missions, found most of the shards, found all of the dead drops and leveled every power up to maximum strength. To get all of the trophies, you have to play through twice because you have two paths to choose from with different outcomes.

Definitely worth $60 if you play through twice. If you can get it for less definitely pick up a copy. Thanks for reading my review.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on June 5, 2009
Format: Video Game
Not going to go into alot of detail here because so many others have already done a great job at that. This is just a REALLY fun game! I have not had this much fun playing a game in a long time. The graphics are good not great or jaw dropping. I would much perfer fun over eye candy any day though. Sticky fingers Cole has his pros and cons. It's great for the platforming but simply running around and trying to get down off something can be a pain when you spring back toward everything you can grab onto. Slight bother, not a big deal. The game does seem too me too be rather long. Some people are saying 15 hours but I am about mid way through the second island and I have played everyday since I bought it last week and have already put in 30 hours. But I'm also the type of person that really takes there time (healing everyone etc...). You do have alot of side quests but really they are only variations of the same 4 or 5 types of quests. So yes the same type of quest will repeat over and over but still ALOT of fun. Not an easy game but not crazy hard either. The enemy will take you out FAST. So don't think just because you have alot of your powers maxed you can charge in jumper cables blazing because they will shoot you LONG before you can shoot them... And up high, they will spot you three blocks away and they rarely miss. This also adds another level of fun because you really have to think how to go about a certain task. A few bugs now and then. I did finally run into the one where you will be running (no place special) and just slip through the sidewalk into some void of nothingness... Oops!! More funny than irritating. Over all, awesome fun game. VERY minor glitches and a great soundtrack! If you have a PS3 you need to have it in your collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on June 1, 2009
Format: Video Game
When you hear the phrase "PS3 exclusive" usually one would think that it would be over-hyped and the Xbox junkies jump all over it comparing it to the Halo series and how much the game shouldn't be getting good reviews. While that may be the typical viewpoint, inFAMOUS delivers to knock that view outta the water.

After playing this game for about 10 hours I am fully convinced that this game has it all. Open-world sandbox play, awesome visual effects, a terrific soundtrack, and overall this game is just FUN to play. You play a bike messenger guy who was carrying a package which explodes and leaves the game's setting in ruin. Since you were in the wrong place at the wrong time, everyone sees you as a terrorist and they will treat you as such until you can get the people on your side. This is done much like Fable II's Good vs. Evil system. Choices you make will effect the "Karma" meter, which is a 6-slotted progress meter which shows your alignment to Good or Evil. If you are Good, people will take your picture and ask you to heal civilians. If you are Evil, people will attack you as a mob, throwing rocks at you and defacing pictures of you on walls of buildings. Think of it as though the city is alive...and it's very difficult to describe here, you really have to see it yourself.

When "the blast" happens which destroys Empire City, the island is quarantined off, and you are given electrical powers which you can use for the Good or Evil causes. These range from lightning bolt shocks, to grenades and shockwaves. While there may not be 400 different abilities, the variety is enough to keep things interesting, as the bad guys you face will keep you guessing all the time for how to overcome the odds. Abilities are purchased with the game's XP system, which you gain XP from things like killing badguys to healing civilians. Certain abilities can only be purchased or used if you have a certain Karma alignment. For example, Hero rank (ultimate Good) gives you Overload Burst which is like Force Chain lightning from Star Wars (blue strikes) and Infamous rank (ultimate Evil) gives you Arc Lightning which just causes a massive amount of destruction when you shoot it off. Evil grenades will turn into cluster bombs, while good grenades will electrocute your foes and allow you to subdue them peacefully. When your alignment changes, your powers for Good/Evil will be unlocked/locked out which really adds a whole new level of customization to the game. Feeling like you just want to shoot anything that moves? Frying civilians will adjust your alignment towards evil, and you can blow cars up, fry pedestrians, punch someone in the face, kick a guy off a building rooftop, and launch dumpsters and other objects skyward. There really is no limit to the PS3's potential with showing explosions and such as I have never seen the framerate lag once.

Your powers are fueled by electricity, though you can't actually generate any of it. You'll utilize generators, cars, and street lights to "recharge your batteries" literally, so you can keep blasting things away. And at points, the power to the city will need to be restored, so enemies really give you a run for your money when you can't really recharge your batteries at will. You'll be scaling buildings, leaning around corners, blowing up cars and launching badguys across city rooftops left and right, and this is done through a very well-designed combat system.

inFAMOUS gives players the option to play the game how they want. Ever played Grand Theft Auto IV and wished that you could just climb up onto the street pole, or scaling a building with 100 windows? inFAMOUS allows players to latch onto literally ANYTHING that can be grabbed onto in real life. Climb up a street pole and jump to a window ledge? No problem. Jump off a 20 story building to a moving train? Yep. You can grab almost anything to scale the next building or to get to where you need to go. The super powers you have on top of this tremendous ability to platform provides endless amounts of fun and excitement that inFAMOUS has to deliver.

There are however a few gripes that I have for this amazing game. And they're not so bad that you shouldn't buy it; trust me. First gripe I have is the cutscenes are either in graphic art storyboard style or poorly generated graphic sequences. The people you see in the game sometimes look better than the characters telling you what the problem is. Secondly, this game does such a good job of flawlessly letting you run free and fast jumping here and there and blowing things up til you're blue in the face; with one caveat: The Mission Complete Screen. If only there was no pause between missions telling you how much XP you just earned, and how your alignment is changed and pauses the game for just a few seconds, reminds you that you're only playing a video game, instead of getting completely immersed in this game as you most certainly will.

This game also has a huge replay value not only for the good vs evil differences, but the game also has well over 70 side missions, some for good and some for evil, and a plethora of neutral ones too. With 3 islands comprising Empire City, my 10 hour trek of the game has only given me a 94% completion of the first island, and I still have a ton of new abilities to unlock! The game also has over 300 collectible Blast Shards which will expand the usage of your super powers by adding battery cores to your power gauge. If that weren't enough, the fact you can race along power lines, blow up cars with electricity and fall 50 stories to get up and run to the next street over should fill your gaming needs til the sequel eventually comes out.

If you have a PS3 and don't already own this game, you should most certainly buy it; if you don't have a PS3, this game should be reason enough to buy one!

This game gets an electrifying 5 stars!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on May 28, 2009
Format: Video GameVerified Purchase
What truly makes this game a stellar acheivement is its ability to really malke you feel like a super hero. Of course scaling buildings like spider-man, making huge leaps like you're jumping off a step stool, and weilding a wide variety of electricity-based powers, are all a huge amount of fun.

However, not until you first make that jump from the tallest building, sneak over to a bunch of reapers holding some citizens hostage, to quickly take them out and save the hostages, and then revive the fallen citizens, will you truly feel like you're living in a modern comic book.

The basic mechanics are spot-on. It'll take you 3 minutes to master climbing, and jumping, and the scale provides you with a thrilling experience. If you've played Drakes Fortune, you'll have no problem with this. Jumping across building gaps, and power-sliding across power-lines and train tracks is a lot of fun. Combined with great character physics, and little details, like how Cole switches directions mid-run, rolling after a fall, and landing from a tall jump (think of the effect in Hancock), this is a truly engrossing experience.

The powers, the different ways they are implemented, and variety in which they are manifested is quite creative. This leads to the Shooter aspect, which is very cleanly implemented. Your basic Zap ability (your first power) acts as a gun with unlimited amo. It's nice not having to worry about reloading, or finding amo crates, and the AI is surprisingly smart. This is no "shooting gallery", and there's plenty of challenge when it comes to combat. As well, there's a nice variation in types of baddies. You get your basic thugs, and then some special ones.

Aside from the many different types of story and side missions, traversing the city, looking for easter eggs, and felling small towers into bridges, is a huge amount of fun. The city is not quite as interactive as GTA. You can't go into any buildings, and aside from cheering or taking pictures, you can't really talk to random citizens. No clubs to play darts at, or dance competitions to stumble upon. It would be nice if there were a slightly higher level of this kind of interaction, but this is a minor point.

Also, there are a few animation details i noticed missing, like water splashing when bodies fall into it, and characters hair looking like a solid mass, but these are very minor details. If i had to choose between realistic hair, ala Metal Gear 4, and this level of gameplay development, i'd choose the latter any day of the year. I could go on more, about the morality system, and how the character changes appearance, and so on, but I won't. This is easily one of the best video game experiences ever created, and a great exclusive for the PS3. A fine example of how modern technology can co-exist with truly FUN gameplay, a surprisingly rare combination these days. Stop reading reviews, and just buy it.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions

     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
inFAMOUS Collection - Playstation 3
inFAMOUS Collection - Playstation 3 by Sony Computer Entertainment (PlayStation 3)
$19.50

Infamous 2 - Playstation 3
Infamous 2 - Playstation 3 by Sony Computer Entertainment (PlayStation 3)
$13.78

Uncharted 2: Among Thieves - Playstation 3
Uncharted 2: Among Thieves - Playstation 3 by Sony Computer Entertainment (PlayStation 3)
$7.77
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.