Customer Discussions > Tomb Raider forum

Is the new Tomb Raider like Uncharted?

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-6 of 6 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Mar 7, 2013 8:24:22 AM PST
Opus says:
So I've been playing TR since 1997. I loved the first 3 games the best. The last few for PS2 & 3 were not that good in my opinion. Before I dish out $60 bucks. Is this a TR game in TR style or more like Uncharted? I appreciate your opinions. Thanks

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 7, 2013 3:44:53 PM PST
Allison says:
It's honestly a bit of both. I love the Uncharted series, and I love the original Tomb Raider games, and I loved this new game.

Some of the good things from Uncharted make it over. There are some great moving set pieces, though not as long as Uncharted or as constant. Jumping from place to place feels a lot more fluid, and you will sort of 'magnetize' if you're almost there but not quite. It's not enough to make it feel like it's babying you, but it is enough to remove the frustration of *just* missing the ledge. One of the places Uncharted beats Tomb Raider is it's cast, however. The side characters are the only thing in this Tomb Raider game I found to be a negative--they're just not well acted. And while Nathan Drake will beat Lara out on charm, Lara is still a fantastic character in this. It's much easier to relate to her this time around.