zhu zhu pets toxic??? possible recall!! google it!!!!

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 10 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Dec 6, 2009 8:48:37 PM PST
[Deleted by the author on Dec 7, 2009 4:33:43 PM PST]

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 6, 2009 9:25:39 PM PST
C. Hansen says:
Let me try to clarify the situation, having done some armchair research on the subject, but IANAL (I Am not a lawyer) and IANAE (I am NOT An Expert) and YMMV (Your mileage may vary). GoodGuides is a new-age-style company that wants to be doing "good" in the manner prescribed by the similarly new-agey "bcorporation". Antimony, which is an element which has toxicity and chemical purpose somewhat similar to lead, and is generally thought of as a "heavy metal," is commonly used in miniscule proportions to catalyze the chemical processes that make PET, a relatively common plastic, most well-known as the plastic used for soda and water bottles. PET is a plastic, Polyethylene terephthalate, and you might recall the recent flaps over phthalates and their biological properties. PET is commonplace, and antimony will usually be found in PET because it's commonly used to produce it. To explain what a catalyst is - it's a material added to increase the rate of a chemical reaction - and unless there's a further step to remove it, it'll be present in the final chemical product. PET is used in water bottles and also in making "fleece" used in clothing - in fact, water bottles can be "recycled" into fleece.