Back to Business Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon King Bose SoundTouch 130 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now Sale

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 14, 2009
Why pay $122 for this edition when it has no new information in it and the 3rd edition costs $9.27 used. This book is used for my 2 course class. The first course I took required the 3rd edition and I am going to take the second course that requires the 4th edition. When I looked at the 4th edition, I was shocked that someone would write a new edition that didn't contain any new information. Now, I'm not saying this is not a great book. I loved this book. This edition should never have been written. Don't take my word for it. Here is what the book itself says. In Preface titled "Changes in This Edition" it says "Improved Qrganization in Chapter 3". That means he moved some things around, no new information in Chapter 3. "New In the Spotlight Sections" This is new, it is additional problems with detailed analysis. This is nice for reinforcing what's taught, but it doesn't teach anything new. "Video Notes" These are viodes on the website to accompany the text. This is nice to reforce the text learning, but no new information there. You can get the early edition and go to the website and view the videos without buying this edition. "Additional Programming Problems" This is nice but it had suficiant problems to start with. NO NEW INFO. If this text is required by your class, ask the teacher if you can use the previous edition. That is what I'm doing.
77 comments29 of 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2007
This is an excellent text for students to learn Java, and Object-oriented programming. The introduction of control structures first allows the beginning programmer to master the ideas of loops / selection, before tackling the more abstract concept of objects, and classes. The examples and explanations are very gentle on the reader. The frustration level for beginners is quite low. I have taught Java programming for almost 10 years, and have used many different texts - this one works for students who have little (or no) programming experience.
Colin Archibald, PhD
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2008
If you read the reviews of this text and its earlier editions, you'll see that it's nearly always praised by intro CS profs and students alike. Only this 3rd edition has gotten a real 'ding' by a reviewer, and that came more from that one individual's problem with Amazon than any real fault found in Gaddis' text itself. The guy's anger is understandable, though, as the price of this thick *paperback* book is simply absurd - as is the case with so many college textbooks these days... especially those in subject areas considered the gateway to lucrative careers. How can the publishers possibly justify their pricing? They can't... it's mostly greed. They figure CS students will just borrow a ton of money for their education and then pay off their inflated loans with their huge salaries, later!

Anyway, end of rant. What I would suggest, though, is to consider using an earlier edition of Gaddis' text - used - if ninety plus bucks is too much for you. For the purpose of introductory programming in Java, very little is lost in using the first edition, "Starting Out with Java 5". As I write this in 2008, Java is 13 years old and has become a mature language; very few basic features or keywords are deprecated anymore, and all of the latest and greatest extensions are mostly beyond the introductory level of this textbook. What the first edition did well - build a firm foundation for understanding programming structures and object oriented features in basic Java - all editions still do extremely well. The second edition, and the third, however, are incremental improvements... not essential to getting one's students off on the right foot.
0Comment11 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2008
This book has pleased me a lot.I have 2 other books for Java which are waste and I never open then from the day I started reading this book.Tony Gaddis has explained every concept in detail.I am a beginner and this book is a very good choice for beginners.The examples in this book are explained so well with no errors which makes it even more good. I want to learn EJB also if his book is available.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2009
Starting Out With Java 4th edition is a great book and really took a total beginner in Java to proficiency. Everything that is covererd in the book is explained very clearly and there are a ton of code examples. The questions at the end of each chapter are challenging by just the right amount so they all make sense, but none are too easy.

If you want to learn Java and have no prior experience programming I'd recommend this book.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2010
I used this book for a into to Java class in college. This was a very good book. It was easy to follow and the examples were great! One of the few text books I've actually liked using.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2013
Java is a nasty language to learn.
It is more like watching a magician pull rabbits, birds, etc out of a magic hat.
And so a case of trying to find out about the hundreds of "magic" pre-written classes/methods.
This book makes learning Java bearable.
Well written, good explainations, well organized, good index, good examples.
I highly recommend this and any Gaddis Java book.
rh
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2009
A fairly bland introduction to Java programming and computer science. Useful since I had to have it for a class, but the Big Java book was better. Also, I like the separation of GUI and command-line programming in Big Java. This book intermingles the two, which can be confusing to the beginner and is largely unnecessary until after the student is familiar with basic programming concepts.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2008
-I was forced to get this for my class, but surprisingly it's not as bad as I thought it would be
-Great explanations using examples and examples of code.
-It gives you projects to do
-Don't get if you're not taking a JAVA class...get a self guide rather than this school text book
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2008
The book is good, I still find it a hard subject matter, but programming is fun. It requires you to drink a ton of Java, and learn to really appreciate the time and effort it takes people to write this code. It is a good beginning book...
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse