Truck Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Lacuna Coil Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Outdoor Recreation SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 24, 2013
This text has come a long long way since I bought it, third edition, as a resident. There are tons of gorgeous pictures, high quality MRI plates and online content that is worth the price all by itself. My only complaint is the garish and unattractive cover, but it's irrelevant when you need up to date clinical information.

By the way, if you buy the physical copy of the book, you get access to a complete online version of the book which also has supplemental surgical videos. The videos are limited in number but having access to an online copy of the text anywhere anytime is awesome. I realize there is a "Kindle Edition", which is cheaper, but I personally prefer to have a physical copy of textbooks rather than just a copy on my e-reader.
22 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2012
Schmidek and Sweet: Operative Neurosurgical Techniques is a series that comprehensively reviews a wide spectrum of neurosurgical procedures and have been standard for neurosurgeons at all levels. The 6th edition represents a substantial leap forward in this series compared to the 5th edition. The chapters are concise, well-written, and the illustrations are beautiful drawn in consistent way across all chapters. The addition of operative videos linked with select chapters provide an additional medium in order to further understand the material and are a wonderful addition. Also included are more modern neurosurgical procedures such as endovascular and minimally invasive procedures not included in the previous edition. This book is a "must have".
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2012
Schmidek and Sweet: Operative Neurosurgical Techniques is the most acclaimed operative neurosurgical book for many reasons. Not just that it has detailed description of all neurosurgical procedures in a simple yet to the core style, it also features an extensive explanation of the indications, preoperative preparations, complication avoidance and outcomes. I have the Kindle version of the book which gives me the freedom to check any information I need at any time, book mark important pages, write notes, easily navigate different chapters and control the page and writing size. The newest edition is much more up-to-date and adds many new chapters and techniques. I think that this book is indispensable to any neurosurgeon in training. It's also very useful to any established neurosurgeon who would like a simple and quick yet detailed and updated reminder of different neurosurgical techniques.
One last comment, I think the book may benefit from more diagrams and pictures in the future edition, to add an atlas-like experience to this great text that is definitely a great addition to the distinguished legacy of the Schmidek and Sweet series.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2013
This is a gem of a book! It will be useful and long-lasting along my career in neurosurgery. It gathers together world-renowned experts on each selected subject as well as presents an in-depth and complete table of contents. I find in this neurosurgery atlas and up-to-date and translational view of contemporary neurosurgery, from tumor, skull base procedures, vascular, spine and trauma to state-of-the-art techniques on hydrocephalus, functional neurosurgery, pediatrics, peripheral nerves and radiosurgery. I think that this 6th edition is a masterpiece to add to the prestigious legacy that Drs. Schmidek & Sweet started many years ago. In my opinion, it worth each dollar spent on it. One of the features I felt in love with, is the on-line access. I can consult, use and print the book contents, figures and surgical videos any time and from any computer, either at home or at the Hospital. It allows me to search keywords throughout the book quickly and efficiently and also have links to pubmed articles and abstracts. I have fount on this book an easy and effective tool to improve my knowledge, prepare my presentations, and help to guide and train my junior colleagues. Thank you for this exceptional job!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2013
Since its beginnings this book set the standard for the must have books. This 6th edition settles a new leap forward compared to the former one. It reviews a wide spectrum of neurosurgical procedures involving the bests world-renowned experts in every respective field. It includes new minimal invasive approaches as well as the very new techniques in different neurosurgical sub-specialties as endoscopic skull base techniques and endovascular techniques. The chapters are direct and concise describing the management of the neurosurgical diseases. The on-line material provide operative videos and the reference are hyperlinked to the original manuscripts on PubMed. Therefore, is essential for training residents, attending neurosurgeons, medical students and whoever who need to prepare a lecture or even a study.

This is a youtube promotional video of the Schmidek and Sweet: Operative Neurosurgical Techniques, 6th Edition:
[...]
Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2012
Schmidek and Sweet: Operative Neurosurgical Techniques is a series that has been regarded as the gold standard for neurosurgical techniques books. This 6th edition represents further improvement of the series as they continue to set the bar for techniques books. I was impressed how well this edition was put together. The series was well-written as it is more concise without losing any substance. Much credit to the authors and editors to this accomplishment. The illustrations are beautiful and very helpful. I also really like the addition of operative videos linked with select chapters. Finally the book keeps up with the evolving field of neurosurgery by adding much more content on rapidly growing areas such as endovascular and minimally invasive procedures. I strongly recommend this book! A must have for all neurosurgeons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2013
I was excited to get the Kindle version of this book.
I am however disappointed that several chapters lack images as "rights were not granted to include this figure in electronic media. Please refer to the printed publication".
Clearly, I do not have the printed version so I am not happy that I am missing valuable figures/images etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2012
The new edition does a tremendous job in reviewing the entire spectrum of neurosurgical disorders and their surgical management. The 6th edition has several significant improvements over prior editions. Firstly, the current edition has been updated with regards to more in-depth coverage of evolving subspecialty areas, such as endovascular and radiosurgery. Additionally, the chapters (text and figures) provide a concise overview with the appropriate level of detail. Most importantly, the latest edition also includes the supplementary operative videos to help the reader understand the nuances of the techniques covered. In summary, every neurosurgical trainee should have this book as part of their library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2013
Schmidek & Sweet has been always recognised among Neurosurgeons as a good resource for evidence based knowledge. In this case the new edition by Quinones-Hinojosa it is a perfect combination of resources,figures , evidence based data, experts opinion and supplementary videos from EXPERT CONSULT perfect to build neurosurgical criteria. It does not metter if you are a young neurosurgeon or a faculty. Definitely a great investment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2013
This operative atlas is a must have for any neurosurgeon. It provides a comprehensive atlas of surgical approaches, various pathology, and potential complications. The images are great The chapters are succinct, images are clear, and the information is worthwhile. It is a great revision of the previous version. It adds more information, and is more up-to-date in current management of various pathologies, namely brain tumors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse