Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
31
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$9.28+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 2, 2005
This comprises stand-out tracks of country standards Gram Parsons made with the Burritos shortly before he left the band, and three fantastic previously unreleased duets with Emmylou Harris which were inexplicably left off his wonderful second solo album, Grievous Angel, including the definitive version of Sleepless Nights. You need to have these
11 comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2000
this is an excellent collection of the old country music turned blue. some really great tunes if you enjoy the sounds that have inspired dwight yokum who has described his stlye as beller. gram parsons was way ahead him, probably little known then but very deep soulful country blues. give it a try! sing me back home is definitly 5 star with the rest good ole honky tonk. not a bad tune on this one.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2008
I wouldn't say Sleepless Nights was my complete introduction to Gram Parsons, but it was the first I bought. I came in through the back door as it were becoming an Emmylou Harris fan first, particularly the great Elite Hotel album, and a friend had gotten Sleepless Nights. Oh yeah, the guy from the Burrito Brothers, a group that I never quite got into!

Then I heard Brand New Heartache, and I was hooked. I have been a huge Gram Parsons fan ever since. While I have gone back and gotten all the rest, this one still holds a special place for me.

This collection of course takes Brand New Heartache and two others with Emmylou and puts them together with nine that Gram did with the Burritos. Some have complained about the quality of the Burrito songs, but I instead prefer to think the real reason they were not originally included in their two albums with Gram was that the Gilded Palace of Sin already had a few covers on it, and the balance of that album might have been put too much over to the covers side with more. Burrito Deluxe from all accounts was quite simply a poorly conceived project they were not sure what they wanted to do with.

The nine covers here from the Burrito Bros. may not have been written by Gram, but they certainly show his approach, his phrasing, his feel, to fine effect.

The three songs with Emmylou are great.

What you will find here are three tunes that should have been included with Gram's efforts with Emmylou with the nine covers from the Burrito days. I find the whole album quite effective and not really disjointed at all in melding these two periods. To the contrary the nine tunes fit quite well with the type of material Gram did in the Emmylou period. Keep an open mind and you will find this to be a five star outing.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2003
This album was actually my introduction to Gram Parsons. As an introduction, it is not much chop as it neglects his songwriting and original approach to non-country material. This side of Gram is exemplified on other releases (particularly the FBB Gilded Palace of Sin) that were the foundations of country-rock and alt.country as we now know them. Nonetheless, it's a great album for Gram-completists and a good country-rock (with the emphasis on country) effort. The solo (with Emmylou Harris) songs are probably the highlights although I like the Burritos take on Green Green Grass of Home. The version of Honky Tonk Women is disappointing.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2009
Don't understand why this collection has been overlooked to such an extent through the years. Because GP wasn't around to approve? The time-space between the 9 Burritos recordings and 3 GP/E.Harris recordings was only a couple of years. The result is that the tracks fuse with no difficulty. One aspect of this album is the perfect sequencing. Somebody put thought into that--for which we should be grateful. Otherwise, as others have said, the three GP-EH are breathtaking. (Opening, closing, and smack in the middle of the album) The Burritos tracks are solid, with better bass parts than the two previous Burritos albums. Serious country. Perhaps one reason that folks don't get more excited by this collection is the absence of a GP original song. No matter...it is what it is...top-shelf country with Gram's genius for singing.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2005
This post-humous collection of Gram Parsons recordings was originally released in 1976 - 3 years after his death. 9 tracks are Flying Burrito Brothers recordings from early 1970 and 3 tracks were recorded during the "Grievous Angel" sessions. The 3 later tracks are duets with Emmylou Harris.

There are no Parsons originals included. The Burritos were planning to record a whole album of "pure and honest" country music. Most tracks are pleasant, but nothing extraordinary.

Parsons had a good voice for country music, but this collection does not give the answer to how he could become a legend in country-rock. There are some fine vocal harmonies with Chris Hilmann and with Emmylou Harris things rarely go completely wrong.

Of the Burrito songs "Sing Me Back Home", "Your Angel Steps Out of Heaven" and "Dim Lights" are really good, and "The Angels Rejoiced Last Night" with Harris is the highlight of the album.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2015
As a fan of Gram Parsons and those around him as he led the revision of American pop music by bringing a raw form of C&W to R&R, I was excited to find this collection that puts "lost" 1970s Flying Burrito Brothers tracks together with three from Parsons' 1973 "Grievous Angel" sessions that he would soon put on stages with The Fallen Angels. To my ear Parsons' notoriously chancy quavering vocals are, in these cuts, a closer sign of what he might have matured into than can be heard elsewhere. Collections like The Hot Burritos Anthology, Gilded Palace of Sin/Burrito Deluxe and Fallen Angels Live might be the essentials, but don't quite get me there. As a bonus, liner notes from Emmylou Harris add a welcome dimension to understanding both her growth and Parsons' role and magnetic leadership. They were young, there were roads to travel, and both the giddy and the up of it are present here.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2000
this album offers some nice Flying Burrito Brothers tracks as well as some hard to find songs with Emmylou Harris also. This is a treat for hard-core GP fans.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2014
Wish these young talented musicians had the sense to stay away from the booze and drugs. Wonder where he would be now had he not let that crap get into his life (of course, musicians aren't the only ones). Bought this Cd specifically for "Close Up the Honky-Tonks"--what great Bass "runs". The rest of the Cd is good too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2014
The world lost a songwriting master when Graham Parsons died. He pours his heart and soul into everything he does. To have lost him at such an early age was a real tragedy. Sleepless nights is another haunting tune that stays in my head for days. Check out his version with Emmylou Harris, as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.